Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply faultless!
This is a truly amazing box set. The 3 discs are divided into separate categories: Rock, Blues and Live. Although there are some duplicate tracks on Disc 3, (Parisienne Walkway and Empty Rooms for example), it doesn't matter since the live versions are an absolute must, even if it's just for the amazing guitar break in Parisenne Walkway.

Each disc can be...
Published on 19 Jun 2008 by Julikat

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An In-Memoriam
A little of a disappointment, because there are too many disappointing and samey tracks, but it is hard to fill three long C.D's of high class tracks even from such an extensive career
Published on 1 April 2011 by Richard P. Turner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply faultless!, 19 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Gary Moore - The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
This is a truly amazing box set. The 3 discs are divided into separate categories: Rock, Blues and Live. Although there are some duplicate tracks on Disc 3, (Parisienne Walkway and Empty Rooms for example), it doesn't matter since the live versions are an absolute must, even if it's just for the amazing guitar break in Parisenne Walkway.

Each disc can be listened to in its entirety without feeling anything is missing. But if you listen to all 3 you get a great sense of completeness. There are also a couple of great bluesy tracks with Albert King and Albert Collins.

Gary Moore's version of "Wishing Well" is even better than the original "Free" version. There's not a duff track in this box set. It's a really well-thought out collection of his work. The only thing I can think of that's missing is his version of Roy Buchanan's "The Messiah will come again", but to be truthful, I've always thought Roy's version could never be bettered.

Finally, the sound quality is way above average. In these days of poorly mastered CDs, it's quite a novelty to find a good recording!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Triple Set. Each CD is denoted by genre: rock,blues,live, 22 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. C. M. Allen "Christopher Allen" (Sussex, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gary Moore - The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Nicely presented CD set with good literature, it's a must for all Gary Moore fans.

The quality of the recordings is excellent (re-mastered) ~ lots of bass if you have a decent system.

If you have never listened to any Gary Moore, id definitely recommends this CD set.

Only criticism; The flip design 3 CD case is a little fragile, so just check it over ~ mine was cracked (good old Royal Mail)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Platinum Collection, 27 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary Moore - The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
I love Gary Moore's music and was not disappointed with this album. It has lots of his really great numbers on it, have played it and played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT BEST GUITAR PLAYER IN THE WORLD EVER, 23 Jun 2008
By 
K. Sneesby (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gary Moore - The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
i have always loved gary moore. His guitar playing is out of this world. This is a great collection of his work, if you just want a best of, you will not go wrong with this one. Shame it did not include victims of the future, but all in all a great collection. I have never forgot seeing gary moore in 1985 on the run for cover tour, hammersmith odeon 28/9/85. To top the icing on the cake, phil lynott came out for the encore, and played out in the fields, and parisienne walkways with him. It was the one and only time that i saw phil lynott before he died, god bless him, gone but certainly not forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The absolute dogs nads, 3 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary Moore - The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
This has got to be the best album showing the versatility of Gary Moore ever. I only used to buy his rock albums but now I am blown away by his blues and cannot stop playing the 2nd disc of this 3 disc set.

Would recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection, 1 April 2011
By 
Mick OKelly (York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary Moore - The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
I really like this collection.
Although I knew a couple of Gary Moore tracks before, I didn't realise how much of his stuff was so good.
Definitely good stuff for fans of Eric Clapton and Peter Green, and would also appeal to many hard rock and metal fans.
Being a triple CD it is great value for money.
The first disk is generally what I would call hard rock (parisienne walkways excepted) - with some great melodic elements too.
The second is a bluesy disk - it has really good stuff on it, but for those less inclined towards the blues can feel a bit OD
The third, live recordings, is a good mixture reprising rock and blues (I play it in the car a lot).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 6 Mar 2011
By 
BobM (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary Moore - The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
The sad death of Gary Moore inspired me to check out his musical legacy.
I knew of his work from Thin Lizzy. And Parisienne Walkways was a noteable track of his, also featuring Phil Lynott.

This compilation is excellent.

I didn't realise that Gary Moore had such a wealth of truly excellent music to his name. Most of the tracks on this 3 CD set shine out.

His loss is felt by many, I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing music, by an amazing artist, 6 Mar 2011
By 
Kaine Stuart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gary Moore - The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
this is a truly must buy for any kind of rock and roll or blues enthusiast, i have always been a fan of gary moore's music although i hadnt really heard all that much about it and what this cd collection shows is the pure skill, raw talent and versatility that makes this the best cd set i own,
product arived promply as advertised and in good condition, good seller would use them again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Nov 2006
By 
J. Moulding (Ipswich,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gary Moore - The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant, a necessity for any Gary Moore fan. Since buying I don't think there is a single person I have not recommended this too. I wasn't even born when half these songs were released and I absolutely love it. Only downside is that it's made me realise I'm never going to be good at playing the ol' 6 string. I can't imagine anyone not liking this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a treble of the best, 14 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. L. Woolcott "lozza" (essex, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary Moore - The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
what can you say about a master of his art.
an anthology of his best tracks, and his best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gary Moore - The Platinum Collection
Gary Moore - The Platinum Collection by Gary Moore (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews