Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great white Stanhope
On "Deadbeat Hero," Stanhope tackles all of the most controversial issues of our times: Abortion, "liberty," war, whether blindly supporting the troops is a good thing, the drug war, the Alabama-Mississippi ban on dildos and other sex toys, gay marriage and priest molestations. More bizarre topics include two-head babies, his suicidal cat-lady mother, an erotic story...
Published on 18 Sep 2007 by Brendan Ray Cyrus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to understand American humour really, this guys voice is monotonous to say the least.
One it's in black and white, terrible sound quality and poor picture quality.Some observations were funny that he made but most of it left me rapidly bored stiff.
I also ordered his No Refunds DVD so I will watch that one and make my mind up about him then. I have heard much funnier comedians though.Such as Fred Wedlock, available on YouTube :) well some of it,most...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. Graham Moore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great white Stanhope, 18 Sep 2007
This review is from: Doug Stanhope - Deadbeat Hero [DVD] (DVD)
On "Deadbeat Hero," Stanhope tackles all of the most controversial issues of our times: Abortion, "liberty," war, whether blindly supporting the troops is a good thing, the drug war, the Alabama-Mississippi ban on dildos and other sex toys, gay marriage and priest molestations. More bizarre topics include two-head babies, his suicidal cat-lady mother, an erotic story about a woman with 44 bodily holes....
Stanhope also relates the time he performed for the Benefit for Fallen Officers, argues whether democracy is a flawed theory and then provides a convincing argument as to why this is far from being a free country.

That's an awful lot of issues to deal with in one comic routine. In fact, it's mind-staggering. But Stanhope does it with the ease of rapping with friends while drinking a beer. To make that type of material consistently funny is next to impossible.

What makes Stanhope truly a comic genius is that he is not afraid to try new things. In fact, the person he is forces him to write new material. Most comedians, even very good ones, will keep at least 15-30 minutes of material that works in their act for years. It's very difficult to write a 45-minute routine of solid material. Heck, it's hard to write for five minutes.

On "Deadbeat Hero," Stanhope tackles the most difficult issues: What society is dealing with now. I never cease to be amazed at how he comes up with such brilliant and funny comments about recent events. Regardless of what you may think of his material, and some of you will be offended, the man needs to be respected for his willingness to constantly evolve and try something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hero Of Mine, 18 Dec 2007
This review is from: Doug Stanhope - Deadbeat Hero [DVD] (DVD)
I love Doug Stanhope. He is amazing. There is nothing better than seeing a comic say it how it is with no concern for the audience's 'feelings'. Stanhope is the best at making people really laugh and at the same time shocking you. He is truly amazing. Buy this and No Refunds at once. They are essential viewing for whenever you're pissed off and need a pick-me-up. Is he the best comedian working at the moment? Probably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars un-politically correct, 16 April 2010
By 
John Martin "jackem" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doug Stanhope - Deadbeat Hero [DVD] (DVD)
Is Doug the new Bill Hicks? Maybe, but unlike others I do not feel he is just cashing in on the Bill Legacy. He does new original stuff with the same passion as Bill, but his is a completely different take.

Near to the knuckle, not afraid to speak his mind and upset people, Doug is refreshingly un-politically correct.

Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Comedian, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: Doug Stanhope - Deadbeat Hero [DVD] (DVD)
Doug is a superb comedian and is super funny. I had bought this as an Xmas present for my dad and its very enjoyable. I am in fact seeing him live later in 2011. If you like Doug Stanhope, then try Stewart Lee - ive seen him numerous times live in London and he sells out the equivalent of the o2 arena over a few weeks of continuous live gigs. You may even like him more. Also, Bill Hicks is almost an english equivalent to Stewart Lee but very similar to Doug Stanhope, its a shame hes not around anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DARK, 26 July 2010
By 
K. Cross (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doug Stanhope - Deadbeat Hero [DVD] (DVD)
This guy is clever and subversive

New bill hicks with some powerfull messages

love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars darker than an expresso on a moonless night, 28 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doug Stanhope - Deadbeat Hero [DVD] (DVD)
It is always good to see something original, clever, funny or deeply subversive come out of america, it must take a "little extra" i think too buck the toxic, evangelical conservatism that is the "american dream". This was my first experience of Stanhope, all i can say is that he is the current holder of the "free speech" medal. If it can be thought of it's fair game.. It's been a very long time since Bill Hicks died, if you've missed him buy this Doug Stanhope DVD. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the end, 15 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doug Stanhope - Deadbeat Hero [DVD] (DVD)
Your search is over. If you really wanna know how it is, then there is nowhere else to go. After Doug Stanhope there is nothing. He makes Frankie Boyle look like Ken Dodd. Do yourself a big favour, go buy this DVD and rid yourself of all the garbage you have been fed since the day you were born.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You will be offended you will also laugh your socks off, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doug Stanhope - Deadbeat Hero [DVD] (DVD)
Doug shows why stand up has been the new rock and roll.

catch him why you can the comic factory's are already churning out great but very same same comedians and material.

live and raw but very very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to understand American humour really, this guys voice is monotonous to say the least., 5 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doug Stanhope - Deadbeat Hero [DVD] (DVD)
One it's in black and white, terrible sound quality and poor picture quality.Some observations were funny that he made but most of it left me rapidly bored stiff.
I also ordered his No Refunds DVD so I will watch that one and make my mind up about him then. I have heard much funnier comedians though.Such as Fred Wedlock, available on YouTube :) well some of it,most people will have forgotten about him but he is truly hilarious.Search for the universal cleaner song he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the easily offended.but hilarious., 14 Jan 2013
By 
L. F. Cassidy (lancashire,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doug Stanhope - Deadbeat Hero [DVD] (DVD)
If it was in colour i would have given it 5 stars,I would seriously recommend this to anyone who likes their comedy edgy and is not easily upset by some subject matter which even the most open minded of people would find sometimes offensive.But in my mind he is the most thought provoking stand up comic since dare i say Bill HICKS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doug Stanhope - Deadbeat Hero [DVD]
Doug Stanhope - Deadbeat Hero [DVD] by Shawn Amos (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: £6.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews