Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let the Eagle Soar
Anybody who thinks that Bush's side of the story needs to be told or that in making this film Moore has somehow manipulated the facts is living in cloud cuckoo land...or Texas, or maybe Florida. Moore is skilfully turning the spotlight back on those who have abused it for so long and surprise, surprise, they don't like it.
"Its propaganda" they witter like the right...
Published on 10 April 2010 by Mrs. D. Guest

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth seeing to make up your own mind
Farenheit 9/11 was neither a triumph or a complete failure. Although i wouldn't give it a high rating, it is worth seeing. Be sure to make up your mind though and not get sucked into this extremely bias and opinionated film. It does raise some interesting points like Bush's connections with the Bin Laden family which is why it is worth a watch. However, as a film it is a...
Published on 14 Feb. 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A prosecution case using primary evidence, 23 Oct. 2004
I was wary of what to expect considering the criticism I had heard in advance. Moore however provides a thorough and watertight case using primary evidence such as the National Air Guard documentation, footage of Rumsfeld shaking hands with Saddam and Rice and Powell stating Iraq's lack of weapons before their later U turn. Other footage of Bush adressing his powerbase, the 'have's' and 'have more's' is quite simply disgusting as is the frightening statement from Britney Spears.
From some of the rubbish written anyone would think it was just Moore dishing out opinions in stand up style but this is clearly not the case. Opinions such as those of the former CIA agent and the varying ones of US soldiers provide balance and range and as for objectivity this is a counterblast to the hugely powerful Bush machine, not a debate.
I notice that another reviewer calls it ridiculous then proclaims that most of the facts arent't true. I'd be interested to know what s/he is referring to.
With all the lies to justify the war now buried, its supporters cling onto the simple argument that the world is better without Saddam. The long term outcome remains to be seen but a far worse fundamentalist regime taking over seems the likeliest prospect and all the signs are there. This was certainly the case in Iran where the US puppet was overthrown and replaced with something far more terrifying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Biased but interesting never the less, 7 Oct. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fahrenheit 911 [DVD] (DVD)
Michael Moore's politics are very similar to mine and I agree with most of what he has to say in his films. This though is a brutal character assassination of the Bush family, among others, which I very quickly became tired of. All of us can make mistakes in getting involved with people and their politics in business, politics and our private lives. But we have more choices. Few of us are global political figures dealing with the harsh reaities of the world we live in. I don't like what he doesn't like but I'm not a player. Thank God!

It is interesting, thought provoking and recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth viewing whatever your beliefs..., 18 Dec. 2011
I'll try and type this without being political but that would always be hard considering the nature of this 'documentary/propoganda' (depending on which side of the fence you sit). Michael Moore is a love or hate filmmaker for most people and, whilst I dislike him for being biased and not showing opposing views to his own in his documentaries, I'm a fan of his works, and Fahrenheit 9/11 is no different. One thing he does manage to do is always raise some very interesting points that provoke discussion in everyone that watches it. Recommended, whether you agree with his viewpoint or not. 3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Superb, 16 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Fahrenheit 9/11 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Everyone should watch this film. If you want to know what's 'really' going on inside the Bush administration, go out and buy it. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch it for the facts alone, 28 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Michael Moore might not be to eveyones taste, but everypone should watch this, to see and learn about some of the facts of 9/11 and Iraq. Some scenes get to you, when seeing injured Iraqi children and he is bias on the view of facts he presents, but he does it in an intresting and well edited way. Trying to sign up sneators children for the army is soemthing that makes a point, but maybe its shown too long. The things that make me like it so much and feel everyone should know a lot of the facts and see the footage in thsi film, is when it covers the things about Haliburton, business side, getting the poor into the forces, the reactions and behaviour of 'elites' like Bush, and the way some of the US forces play music while unloading their weapons. Lots of interesting facts, that should be put together with things, such as
The power of Nightmares
The truth -what happened to our dreams
The corporation
and recently Capitalism a love story
Edisode of Panorama Iraq cash/business making
American Collossus

These should all be put together, with waht is really behind the presentation of organisations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars George Orwell, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Shocking documentary that starts in 2000 when Bush 'stole' the U.S. American Presidency from Al Gore. It is 2 hours of jaw dropping information about the invasion of Iraq and the invasion of Afghanistan.

As Orwell wrote and Michael Moore said in this documentary :
"The object of waging a war is always to be in a better position in which to wage another war.
But it was also clear that an all-round increase in wealth threatened the destruction -- indeed, in some sense was the destruction -- of a hierarchical society."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars just goes to show, 13 April 2014
That America is one of the most baffling, interesting nations out there. I have no idea how George Bush got away with this farce of a reign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great soundtrack too, 24 May 2006
Brilliant deconstruction of the phoney 'war on terror'. Seems even more prescient today with the debacle in Iraq still ongoing and with no end in sight. Moore rightly lets Bush & Co do a lot of the talking, thus digging their own graves with their hopeless statements. Particularly laughable is their interpretation of the supposed existence of Saddam's WMDs. In 2001 they said he had none. Two years later they presented clear 'evidence' that he possessed them. I clearly remember Blair telling us 'we know he has them'. How many turned up? A big fat zero.

Be warned. The footage of bombed civilians is grim to say the least. Depressing yet compelling stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What's not so great about the USA, 5 Jan. 2010
By 
Veronica I. Bolan (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fahrenheit 911 [DVD] (DVD)
I love Michael Moore, his political commentaries on the American way of life tell it like it really is for lots of Americans. This firm highlights the greed and corruption of the Bush government and its rush to create war in Iraq, ensuring that those and such as those make a lot of money from the suffering of the Iraqi people, and the military personnel who are sent into this theatre of war. The film is often funny but ultimately horrifying as the truth is revealed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good work, 1 Feb. 2007
Michael Moore has done a great Job and should def. be commended. I think he should make a an updated version of this documentary to include the recent "De-nationalisation" of Iraqi oil by America and Its confused Iraqi Government and include what most of the invited Western Oil companies are happy about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fahrenheit 911 [DVD]
Fahrenheit 911 [DVD] by Michael Moore (DVD - 2006)
£2.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews