Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars151
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2014
Looking through the Prime Instant stream selection there was nothing else I really fancied, I hadn't seen this before and thought "why not". It's incredible just how angry, dismayed and upset you can get at something you watch on a whim.

This might be written and edited with bias but it highlights just how corrupt the American government (and all Countries involved) in this War are. Will America ever wage a real war, with a worthy opponent? No, they will continue to stamp all over nations they deem easy targets, yet ironically, lose the battles! The oil may now be theirs, the only goal, but damn, did they get their ass handed to them.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
Its what iv suspected for years ,greed at the expense of human life ,the poor have been and always will be stepped on.
To lose a member of your family for a scumbag like bush is the worst thing that can happen.
They eventually found bin laden in Pakistan not Iraq and guess what ,no weapons of mass destruction neither ,so it was all for oil.
Its hard to trust any government because of hidden agendas.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2004
Farenheit 9/11 is a film that covers much of the ground that Michael Moore's books like Stupid White Men and Dude, Where's My Country? have covered but also casts an eye over the events of the Iraq war and how this has changed peoples perceptions and allegiances within the USA.
Parts of the film are disturbing as it is strikingly graphic in some places showing the sort of footage that the News refuses to show and some have criticised the film for going too far in doing this while others have said he is biased. Those who are concerned about bias should be aware that Michael Moore is biased, this is a film by a man who champions the causes of those who can't be heard but does it in often outrageous and inappropriate ways and a man who does not ally himself to either of the main political parties.
This is a hard hitting undoubtably anti-Bush film about lies, deception, perceptions and changing ideas in a post 9/11 world and a tirade against a US President and a unjustified war that people feel very strongly about one way or another. Definitely a must see film though those who'd support the Republicans are unlikely to agree with much of the content and ideas.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
I showed this to my year 11 class. Occasionally funny and often shocking but always informative. It opens people's eyes to the hypocrisy and deviousness of politicians and their wars.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2011
I'll try and type this without being political but that would always be hard considering the nature of this 'documentary/propoganda' (depending on which side of the fence you sit). Michael Moore is a love or hate filmmaker for most people and, whilst I dislike him for being biased and not showing opposing views to his own in his documentaries, I'm a fan of his works, and Fahrenheit 9/11 is no different. One thing he does manage to do is always raise some very interesting points that provoke discussion in everyone that watches it. Recommended, whether you agree with his viewpoint or not. 3.5/5
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2011
It's like a veil being lifted - so much truth, honesty and injustice revealed. I have read a lot about 9/11, about Bush and the Iraq war, and all I can say is this film, for me, pulls together a lot of what I perceive to be the truth into one fantastic DVD. It's moving, it's emotional, and it's accurate. I think Moore did an amazing job.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 October 2006
Michael Moore has made, in Fahrenheit 9/11 (the temperature at which truth burns), an hilarious and yet at times, moving, documentary.

The hilarious part (and one of the best things about the film) is the fantastic archive footage of President George W. Bush (the second, all hail!). We see him in his younger days bragging about how lobbyists like giving him money because he has unfettered and direct access to the president, his daddy; we see him in his current incarnation as Commander in Chief, making a solemn pronouncement calling on all nations to defeat the scourge of terrorism and then in the same breath, asking reporters to admire his golfing prowess.

Moore goes in to the background of Bush's failed businesses before he became one of the most unpopular and divisive presidents in U.S. history, businesses that include Arbusto (emphasise the "bust") and Harken Energy; Moore also explores the exceptionally close relationship between the theocratic and repressive and thoroughly anti-democratic royal family of Saudia Arabia and the Bush family via their connections through the Carlyle investment group, a relationship that may well have had a significant importance to the events of 11th September, 2001; a lot of this seems to be drawn from Craig Unger's expose, House of Bush, House of Saud (Unger is interviewed on the film).

The moving parts of the documentary are those seen from inside Iraq before, during and after the American invasion, the human costs of the war, the impact it has had on real people's lives, both Iraqi civillian and the working poor of the U.S. army - working poor because the chicken-hawk politicians who voted for the war wouldn't send their kids off to fight it.

Many will try and smear this film as being one-sided but this film simply brings to light facts that many people would prefer not to be confronted with, maintaining comforting illusions about 'democracy buidling in the Middle East' et cetera. This film could be described as being, "Chomsky for Children" and that is high praise indeed.

Nice use of Clapton, too!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2010
Anybody who thinks that Bush's side of the story needs to be told or that in making this film Moore has somehow manipulated the facts is living in cloud cuckoo land...or Texas, or maybe Florida. Moore is skilfully turning the spotlight back on those who have abused it for so long and surprise, surprise, they don't like it.
"Its propaganda" they witter like the right wing press or Fox T.V. have never been guilty of such a thing. Of course it's propaganda and sometimes it's clumsily handled, shamelessly manipulating our emotions (Children's corpses, pre-invasion frolicking Iraq's, grief stricken mothers) but Moore made no bones about the fact he was looking to persuade the American Electorate to kick out Bush so he went for the jugular.

I consider myself fairly well informed on Dubya, and was surprised at the depth of the conspiracy surrounding 9/11 and it's when dealing with this that the film is most compelling. It loses focus when dealing with the more esoteric elements and Moores stunts generally fall flat.

And if you remain unconvinced about the self serving machiavellian forces at large in the Bush administration read a book by Economist Paul Krugman which is even more damning. I've watched this film knowing Bush was re-elected. I can only assume many Americans choose not to watch this film, or they flat out don't believe it. It's a sad indictment of their electorate or maybe there's another scandal waiting to be told.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
An eye-opening film that is bound to interest anyone with a social conscience who cares to know more about 9/11. I have used it with 6th form classes to teach about sources of information, bias, accuracy, deception, the list goes on, you could make lessons out of this all day. Like it says on the cover, you've got to see this film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
Michael Moore might not be to eveyones taste, but everypone should watch this, to see and learn about some of the facts of 9/11 and Iraq. Some scenes get to you, when seeing injured Iraqi children and he is bias on the view of facts he presents, but he does it in an intresting and well edited way. Trying to sign up sneators children for the army is soemthing that makes a point, but maybe its shown too long. The things that make me like it so much and feel everyone should know a lot of the facts and see the footage in thsi film, is when it covers the things about Haliburton, business side, getting the poor into the forces, the reactions and behaviour of 'elites' like Bush, and the way some of the US forces play music while unloading their weapons. Lots of interesting facts, that should be put together with things, such as
The power of Nightmares
The truth -what happened to our dreams
The corporation
and recently Capitalism a love story
Edisode of Panorama Iraq cash/business making
American Collossus

These should all be put together, with waht is really behind the presentation of organisations
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)