Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honestly the best I've heard in ages!
The soundclips on here just do not do this album justice. This musical won the 2003 Tony awards for the best book, score and musical and if you listen to the music you can see why. It is inspiring, funny, and at least one song will seem like it is personally written for you (wether it be "the internet is for porn" or something more suttle like "Theres a fine fine...
Published on 22 Feb 2006 by N. Williams

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Modern musical
This is a musical that will probably appeal a lot more when it is seen, rather than simply heard. The conceit with this is that the characters are mostly puppets, in the style of Sesame Street, rather than the usual actors and singers. There are actors as well but the songs are sung by people visibly manipulating puppets onstage.
Anyway, how is the music? Pretty good...
Published on 28 Dec 2005 by Primus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honestly the best I've heard in ages!, 22 Feb 2006
By 
N. Williams (Lincoln, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The soundclips on here just do not do this album justice. This musical won the 2003 Tony awards for the best book, score and musical and if you listen to the music you can see why. It is inspiring, funny, and at least one song will seem like it is personally written for you (wether it be "the internet is for porn" or something more suttle like "Theres a fine fine line".)
Thankfully after years of waiting, Avenue Q will finally be coming to the UK! It will start it's previews in the Westend on the 1st of June this year, and I personally can't wait. I have not found anyone who dislikes this album as yet so theres a good bet you will enjoy it too! Thanks for reading :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't own this? Then it sucks to be you!, 6 Nov 2006
By 
Jamie Beckwith (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can't recommend seeing Avenue Q enough. It's the best piece of theatre I've seen in ages. Owning the soundtrack is only second best, but second best nonetheless.

For those unfamiliar with Avenue Q it's main gimmick is the combination of actors and puppetwork with a story of growing up which is unafraid to tackle adult topics, think a post-watershed Seasame Street!

The themes are reflected in the songs covering such topics as unfulfilment in life, sexuality and sexual relations, pornography, racism, and the misfortunes of life. Be prepared for explicit lyrics, most of which are designed for a laugh which they get natural for hitting that "funny because it's true" button. There are also more serious ballads concerning love and human relations. One of the best things about Avenue Q was it's exploration of muddling your way through life and by not offering pat easy answers.

I've played a few songs to people who've not heard of Avenue Q and on the basis of the lyrics and humour they've expressed an interest in seeing it.

The CD also comes with a synopsis of the play and full lyrics to each song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faboulous., 1 Nov 2004
I'm a performing Arts Student and this musical is just fantastic. Fresh, new and exciting, there's not one song on the album which you can dislike, all songs are true to life and relate to anyone in at least one way! hillariously funny and heart warming without being sickingly cheesy. One of the most beautifull ballads writtern for musical theatre 'There's a fine, fine line' and fabulous choral numbers 'Everyone's a little bit racist' and 'I Wish i Could go Back to College' Love it. Five stars. Lets hope for more musicals like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Which version?, 4 Oct 2011
This review is from: Avenue Q - The Musical - Original Broadway Cast Recording (Audio CD)
Maybe you asked yourself where the difference between the two available Original Broadway Cast recordings of "Avenue Q" might be. There's the one with a black and orange cover from 2003 and the one with the yellow and black cover from 2006. The answer is: none. I had both versions in my hands and the only tiny difference I noticed was that the paper quality of the cover of the 2003 version seemed a little bit better to me. Both editions include a synopsis of the plot, some black and white photos and the libretto of the featured songs. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Modern musical, 28 Dec 2005
This is a musical that will probably appeal a lot more when it is seen, rather than simply heard. The conceit with this is that the characters are mostly puppets, in the style of Sesame Street, rather than the usual actors and singers. There are actors as well but the songs are sung by people visibly manipulating puppets onstage.
Anyway, how is the music? Pretty good and certainly very amusing. Some of the songs, eg 'The Internet is for Porn' are funny enough to make you laugh out loud. Some, 'A Fine, Fine Line', are trying for a more poignant emotional response. Most are lively and rousing.
The story, as far as the booklet explains, concerns a new arrival in the city. He comes to stay on Avenue Q and makes friends with other people in his building. They each have their own troubles and, naturally, their own song to explain them. The people get together, split up, get together again and all seem set to live happily ever after at the end.
This is quite a simplistic musical. It doesn't try to reach the emotional depths or heights that others (Rent?) might do. It doesn't have any really outstanding numbers which are obviously finales or showstoppers. Most of the songs are aimed at getting laughs, as is the show as a whole. As I said, it probably needs to be seen as the unique selling point with it is that it involves puppets, rather than being especially meaningful or beautifully sung.
Overall, the songs are pleasant and will make you laugh or chuckle. The plot is extremely obviously set up to end a certain way but it moves along smoothly. If you want an unchallenging musical with an unusual approach and songs you'll be humming and quoting when it finishes, this is it. If you want a musical extravaganza which will provoke an emotional response or tell you a story you haven't heard before, this isn't it. Enjoy it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential learning musical, 6 Sep 2003
Have you ever wished that someone could sit you down and explain all the complexities of life with the same ease - and entertainment - that we all used to receive while learning our abc's from Seaseme Street? Well now it's been done. As Princeton the Puppet arrives to New York straight from college with his BA, we watch, listen and learn as a collaboration of puppets, puppeteers and actors explain the essential leasons of the modern urbanite: 'it's ok if you're gay', 'the internet's for porn', everyone's a little bit racist' and 'the more you love someone the more you want to kill them'. It's hilarious, melodic and educational!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Brilliance, 21 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. Ford John Brazel "fordyboy" (Barry, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avenue Q - The Musical - Original Broadway Cast Recording (Audio CD)
If you haven't seen the show then you don't know what your missing but this cd will give you a massive clue. The concept is a mix of puppets and human actors who tell the story of Princeton, a young chap who has just left college and is trying to find his purpose. This is like sesame street for grown ups. With close to the bone songs such as "If you were Gay" Everyones a little bit racist" and "The internet is for porn" and more serious songs like "fine fine line" and "if you ruv someone" this musical takes you on a magical but somehow realistic story of everyday life. I guarentee that having listened once you'll want to listen again and again, and be begging to see the show. I only wish that some of the original songs hadnt been cut. such as "Rod's dilema" and Tear it up and throw it away" None the less this is value for money. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WITTY AND REFRESHING, 7 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a huge fan of all musicals and regularly look for new album releases to purchase even although I don't have the finances to get to the theatre as often as I'd like. I've purchased a few scores recently, most blind having not heard them before but going purely on reviews and the most recent one was Avenue Q.

I had seen a very brief clip of the format of the show so knew what it was about and had also seen the Explicit Lyric warning on the album so had a fair idea of what to expect. What I didn't expect though was such a witty, lyrically excellent and melodic musical. I downloaded this very late one evening and listened to it only once that evening and yet the very next day I found myself singing lines from a few of the songs which had instantly stuck with me. Having now listened to it several times I find it an ouststanding piece of work.

The story of the inhabitants of Avenue Q, a mixture of humans and puppets in the style of Sesame Street all living together and going through the crises of life that face us all - love, political correctness, flat sharing, unemployment - this is a very grown up musical despite what the use of puppets might suggest.

I am so pleased I purchased this alum as it has some cracking songs - 'It Sucks To Be Me', 'Purpose' and 'Schudenfreude' stand out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolutely Brilliant Musical, 4 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avenue Q - The Musical - Original Broadway Cast Recording (Audio CD)
This really is such a clever musical. OK the music isn't terribly original as far as musicals go but there are some very catchy pieces that you will be singing for weeks afterwards! What makes this musical so good is the clever writing and social commentary on issues that affect almost everyone. You really need to see the musical to appreciate the CD but as far as a CD reproduction goes, this is an excellent experience and is faithful to the original musical; it's almost like experiencing a live stage performance all over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST SHOW FOR ITS TIME!, 22 Jan 2005
I have seen this musical in in person and Have listen to this soundtrack and I have to tell any one intrested in this that this is the best musical of its time this touched upon everything people deal with in life and they did an excellent job performing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews