Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw new alternative country
If you're like me and somewhat put off by the image of country music being utterly depressing and often tacky then think again. These guys play wild, heartfelt and intelligent music that will likely make you rethink any previous ideas you had of what 'country' is. The tracks 'Big time in the jungle' and 'Wagon wheel' are outstanding both lyrically and musically. I love it.
Published on 5 May 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the tune stuck on me
heard this tune from the video of the girl with hula hoops on youtube and it haunted me, so I had to get it a great little piece of music
Published 15 months ago by E Read


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw new alternative country, 5 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Old Crow Medicine Show (Audio CD)
If you're like me and somewhat put off by the image of country music being utterly depressing and often tacky then think again. These guys play wild, heartfelt and intelligent music that will likely make you rethink any previous ideas you had of what 'country' is. The tracks 'Big time in the jungle' and 'Wagon wheel' are outstanding both lyrically and musically. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who says country is boring, 6 Dec 2004
By 
Lee M. Bamber "Lee Bamber" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Old Crow Medicine Show (Audio CD)
An excellent album. For those suffering from manufactured bands and the introspective / downbeat feel of many British bands this album is a real antidote. Heartfelt, full of energy and rockin. Even though there are no electric guitars or drums!
Some of the tracks may be a little traditional to some ears, but others such a 'Take 'em Away', 'We're All In This Together'
'Wagon Wheel' are more cross over and will appeal to those who aren't diehard country/bluegrass fans.
One of the best albums I've bought this year and I am not a diehard country/bluegrass fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Band, Outstanding Album, 8 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Old Crow Medicine Show (Audio CD)
I agree with all the positive remarks, this album is fantastic. I accidentally got to see Old Crow when they were supporting Gillian Welch in Manchester, England. I was hooked with in a few bars... my only regret is that I didn't buy any of their other albums they were selling at the gig as they don't seem to be generally available anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a truely stunning album, 26 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Old Crow Medicine Show (Audio CD)
Anyone who has been charmed by the music of "O Brother Where Art Thou" orindeed the more superior live album "Down from the mountain", will findOCMS a further breath of fresh air. There are a number of cover versionshere but, aside from CC Rider, they will be largely unfamiliar. In factthe songs the band have written themselves sound as pure and classic asthe older tunes. Some of the album is fast-paced bluegrass, some areplaintive ballads. The fast bluegrass can sound brash on initiallistening to our UK ears, but it soon starts to feel good; whilst themid-tempo and slower songs become deeply embedded in your mind throughsheer quality. Produced by Gillian Melch's partner David Rawlings thealbum will appeal to any fan of her music for sure. The standout track isthe final song, "Wagon Wheel". This is, on paper, a cover version of aBob Dylan bootleg recording from the Pat Garrett and Billy the Kidsessions. The lyrics to the chorus are in tact, but OCRS have re-writtenthe tune and added the verses. The result is one of the finest songs ihave heard for many years - exceptional songwriting, played brilliantly,sung with soul and feeling, and produced by Rawlingngs to perfection. Ihope they come to the UK and play live - can't wait. Buy this album, youreally won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 8 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Crow Medicine Show (Audio CD)
This is a great album and I highly recommend it to anyone who likes modern folky country music. In fact, many of my friends are not country fans but they like OCMS as an exception. The songs on this album are fun and relaxed with the last track - Wagonwheel - a superb ending to a superb album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OCMS. Just the medicine!, 14 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Crow Medicine Show (Audio CD)
If you like it raw and edgy but full of fun this is it. They make it seem easy yet the more you listen the more you realise that these guys are gooood! If I could sing and play music this is how I would like to sound. The production has Dave Rawlings written all over it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE THIS CD!, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Crow Medicine Show (Audio CD)
Excellent CD of a fabulous country/crazy/bluegrass band. I've seen them live and this CD does them justice! High energy crazy stuff with plenty of fiddle, banjo, upright bass and guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun band, great album, 4 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: O.C.M.S. (MP3 Download)
Came across this band on You Tube and was caught by the fact that they are so young, so talented, and great fun. With their blend of modern takes on bluegrass and country music with their own, sometimes controversial lyrics, they have become firm favourites in my playlist. Wagon Wheel, CC Rider and We're all in this together are the stand out tracks for me on this album, but I'd also suggest anyone wanting more of these guys should get their second album and check out tracks like Next Go Round, and I Hear Them All. Will be keeping an eye out for any live performances they may be planning here in the UK as I'm sure they're even better live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wagon Wheel, 19 July 2009
By 
Mrs. G. L. Grinter (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Old Crow Medicine Show (Audio CD)
I bought the CD for the Wagon Wheel track. I think this group are brilliant and particularly love the blend of all the instruments and love the harmony of their voices. It brought back memories of dancing around the kitchen with two special girls. After listening to all the tracks on the CD I've grown to really love this music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite CD., 9 Sep 2007
This review is from: Old Crow Medicine Show (Audio CD)
OCMS have a similar relationship to bluegrass and country music as the Pogues had with Irish folk music - refreshing, invigorating and capable of reaching a much wider audience than their traditional audience.

Some of the songs on here are only very good, two or three are rugged masterpieces. Whatever your feelings about country music, don't miss out on this gem of an album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Old Crow Medicine Show
Old Crow Medicine Show by Old Crow Medicine Show (Audio CD - 2008)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 6 to 9 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews