Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their Best
When I hear this album, it really takes me back to my first concert. I went to see them at Hammersmith Odean 25th October 1982. Fantastic night which is still with me to this day. This album is a lot darker than Speak and Spell. This was to map the future direction for depeche, from poppy pop songs to a more darker serious pop song. This album just gels, it has some...
Published on 4 Oct 2006 by J. F. Northfield

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars old school depeche
This really is old school Depeche, when I was at school back in 82, boy I couldn't wait for this album. Of course I loved it then, but what about now in 2005, has it stood the test of time. After all most of the band don't look back fondly on anything before Black Celebration and that was 4 years away.
Some tracks haven't aged well, Monument,Satellite and Shouldn't...
Published on 11 Jan 2005 by Mr. M. Perkins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars First time without the leader of the group., 26 May 2010
By 
Livio Dinelli - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Broken Frame (Audio CD)
This album marks the beginnig of Depeche Mode era. Without V. Clarke, Martin Gore had taken anything on his shoulders. There are some nice songs like "Leave in silence", "My secret garden" and "The sun and the rainfall", but the whole album is only an outline of what Depeche will be in 4 years.
It's very intersting because the members of the group proved they could go on to make albums also without the leader, and it meant they really loved to work togheter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My fave Mode, 23 Oct 2009
This beautiful, melancholic, but not depressed album should everybody own who likes Gary Numan, Japan, Ultravox!, Cure, Marillion, Kraftwerk, Michael Rother... etc., everybody who's looking for purity and/or originality in pop music around that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars new beginnings, 20 Feb 2009
This review is from: A Broken Frame (Audio CD)
first album after the departure of Vince Clarke, probably the weakest of Depeche Mode's albums, although it does feature some brilliant tracks that hinted at what was to come (Leave In Silence, Sun And The Rainfall, Nothing To Fear). The 5.1 audio mixes sound great, in particular the DTS and the short film is well worth a look too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Martin leaves the nest, 20 Dec 2004
By 
O. C. Rice "orice9" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Broken Frame (Audio CD)
Some people might see this album as inferior while others view it as a stopgap for Martin Gore to get his feet wet in the song writing pool. I think it is more of the latter, and for its time was an original, offering some stunning songs eg: "My Secret Garden, "Leave in Silence" and "The Sun and the Rainfall". On the other hand there are also some tracks on the bubblegum side that have subsequently lost there flavour, namely:" The meaning of Love". ABF is an historical album as it demonstrates the awesome song writing potential of Martin as well as the new sound DM would explore in an endeavour to prove they could do it without Vince Clarke, having left the band after the debut album "Speak & Spell" to form the successful though short lived "Yazoo". Vince offered the band "Only You" which they declined saying they wanted to make a clean break, the song was released by "Yazoo" and became one of there biggest hits.
An essential buy for fans that want to complete their collection although somewhat dated. Fans of DM from Violator onwards will probably not enjoy this one and find it a bit on the cheesy side.
Not there greatest but definitely worth the listen.
Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad.....just not to their subsequent standard, 10 Nov 2006
By 
C. T. J. Simpson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Broken Frame (Audio CD)
There isn't a bad album in Depeche Mode's history. It is those extraordinary high standards that make 'A Broken Frame' probably the bands least qualititive offering - and that is echoed by Martin Gore himself on the accompanying video on the DVD.

It has some wonderful moments in 'Leave in Silence', 'The Sun and The Rainfall'(a very underestimated song that should have been a single) 'My Secret Garden' and 'Satellite', yet 'The Meaning of Love', 'A Photograph of You' and 'See You' are in the same vein as the bubble gum pop that is found in parts on the bands first offering 'Speak and Spell'(a sound that seemed far removed from Depeche Mode only 2 years later).

Whilst only a year between the two, A Broken Frame is that troubled second album that struggles to rise above its predecessor.It isn't a bad album, it's a fairly decent one. Fairly decent just means that when compared to every Depeche Mode album that followed it, A Broken Frame doesn't hit the mark for most. Martin Gore was still finding his feet as the core songwriter, and this album served as an important milestone in his development. It didn't take him long to start producing the world class offerings DM fans have enjoyed ever since.

In summary, if you are looking to purchase any Depeche Mode albums then I strongly recommend you get them all, just make this one your last. You'll still enjoy it, there are just so much richer offerings in their esteemed history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 9 Oct 2006
By 
Stuart Scott-davis (PLANO, TEXAS United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Broken Frame (Audio CD)
This is a dream come true for me.

My all time Fave album now available in SACD.

Why oh why do people constantly diss this album.

Its light years ahead of Speak And Spell.

And more important its so full of atmosphere and dark mood synth music.

In terms of songs this is soooooo much better than Some Great Reward and anything that came after it apart from Music For The Masses.

This and Masses stand alone as the 2 finest ever Depeche Mode cds.

This cd for me has it all.

But most important for me its the memories of those cold winter nights growing up in Wales walking around with my sony walkman playing this album over and over again.

Now i have it in SACD.

What could be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quiet album, 31 Oct 2006
This review is from: A Broken Frame (Audio CD)
Depeche Mode's main songwriter's first album. It's nothing like the industrial synth albums of the later eighties, or the hybrid guitar/synth stuff of the nineties. You could treat it as the forgotten DM album. It has a mixture of sweet melodies and slow gloomier number's. Leave in Silence their third single of the album didn't chart aswell as the first two, but I thought it was a beautiful atmospheric sounding tune that deserved better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80'S ERA, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Broken Frame (Audio CD)
This is one of my favorite albums of all time i love it . i recommend this album very highly great lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh dear, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Broken Frame (Audio CD)
I really tried to get into this album, but although I played it several times,
it left me feeling so disappointed.
I eventually had to return it, but I suppose everybody will have to make their own decision ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The transition album..., 30 Mar 2006
By 
M. Saxby (Fleet, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Broken Frame (Audio CD)
If you're a fan of DM's later work, you'll probably have ignored or overlooked A Broken Frame.

Following on from Speak And Spell, this was a much anticipated album and the (proper 12") cover was a pleasure to behold.

Sadly, ABF didn't leap from the speakers the way Speak And Spell did.

My Secret Garden is still a favourite song of mine (by anyone) and Leave In Silence is moody, but lingers. Photograph of You is redolent of Speak And Spell's jauntiness, but with a sadder side.

Other tracks seem dirgy and directionless by comparison, though, and the, widely acclaimed, Shouldn't have done that, is sillier than What's Your Name, in my view... At least the Speak And Spell track seems ironic and self mocking.

The trouble, for me, is that this was where DM started to go wrong. I know lots of people love the 'Goth' DM, but S&M and too much black doesn't appeal to me and nor does the unremitting bleakness of DM's later works.

This album marks the transition from Vince Clark's poppy-happiness to the later gloom that DM have carved their successful niche in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Broken Frame
A Broken Frame by Depeche Mode (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews