Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars8
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 3 July 2007
There are quite a few retro compliations on the PSP and this is one of the best, giving probably the best selection of games out of all of them.

1942, 1943 & 1943 Kei, Mercs, Ghosts 'n Goblins, Ghouls 'n Ghosts, Super Ghouls 'n Ghosts and the 3 versions of Street Fighter II are all absolute classics that anyone over the age of 20 must remember and will more than likely still enjoy today.

King Of The Dragons and Knights Of The Round are two arcade-only (I think), side scrolling beat-em-ups games that I hadn't heard of before but are great fun to play.

Commando, Eco Fighters, Exed Exes, Gun.Smoke, Higemaru, Son Son and Vulgus are perhaps more for the older gamers (I hadn't heard of any of these) and won't really appeal to anyone who didn't play them the first time they were out as they are very basic and, in my opinon, quite dull.

Overall this is a fantastic compilation that could have done with Final Fight, Three Wonders, Strider and Captain Commando from the other PSP Capcom collection, instead of breaking them into 2 collections, but is still great value for money for anyone after a decent and varied retro collection
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2006
this collection is like the title for this review. Some good games like 'knights of the round', 'super ghouls n ghosts' and the street fighter collection are good, although if you ask me streetfighter 2's are limited because half the fun on is playing versus with someone...although i havent tried the wireless internet yet. eco warriors was a nice suprise a side scrolling spaceship type shooter with nice cartoony graphics, mercs is good too but on the megadrive it had another version of the game to play that was more challenging than arcade....but to be honest the rest of the games are either bad or plain ugly like hidgemaru and the that cowboy shootemup...vulgus is bad and ugly...so-so over all, however i would recomend it just as long as you like a bit of old skool arcade action.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2012
I'm a huge fan of retro compilations on the PSP and like Sega and Activision, Capcom have put together a great set of classics for on the move. Whilst it has some fine games and plenty of old school fun, it feels much more limited than its counterparts.

Presentation wise its clean and stylish. The menu cycling is highly reminiscent of Capcom Vs SNK (i.e excellent) and the games load quickly whilst playing smoothly. Unfortunately not all is well. The game choices range from brilliant to much less than ideal. Including Street Fighter 2 meant that this package was automatically a must have. Including three different versions? Not as much. I love fighting games and can appreciate the subtle difference between versions, but a different game all together would have been much more satisfying.

Whilst all of the games are fun for a little while, its also frustrating to play certain genres of game on portable hardware. Run and Gun games that looked fine on a high vertical screen in the arcade are either uncomfortable to play when the system is flipped sideways or barely visible when normal. Its nice that they tried to compensate for the issues, but ditching them for a more suitable game would have made all the difference. Had they done so the Reloaded and Remixed discs would probably have been one excellent collection rather than two average ones.

Finally Capcom have a history of making games with excellent unlockables that are extremely frustrating to get hold of. Not in a challenging edge-of-your-seat way, but merely with dumb luck and random chance. In this case its a slot machine. You earn coins whilst playing and use them to try and win extra's in a separate menu, but with coins so easy to acquire and no strategy possible, it boils down to pressing three buttons and just hoping for the best.

If you want to play one of your old favorites don't hesitate, but if your looking for a good portable game or want to try out some old classics other companies offer a much better compilation for much the same price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2007
This is a great compilation. I had it mainly because of the excellent Streetfighter games, and also Ghouls & Ghosts. The other games here are also good fun but i just cant tear myself away from Streetfighter. It really is a great conversion in my opinion, its so cool to see it on the PSP's screen. Fellow fans of the Streetfighter games will love this, i also recommend it to anyone who likes their beat 'em ups.

VERY COOL!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
Amazing collection of nostalgic games to have from capcom. And don't pass me off to be a casual gamer ;)

I used to own most of these, individually on my psp 1000, and my playstation. This is my childhood, 1943, streetfighter, I always preferred vulgus over space invaders and higemaru over bomberman.

Came early, that's a plus as well. New case, no scratches or dents on the casing or the umd. Everything runs smoothly and I recently bought a psp slim 3000, as my 1000 died due to falling in water, I couldn't get off it!!

Everything you expect from the product, but I guess you'd have to look for an "expert's" 1000 word article to enjoy the full amount of content the disk has.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
cannot beat the classics there is another verson of streetfighter with other characters in it and i got to the end of it brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2007
You'll have to be an absolute fanatic for retro-arcade games to want this on your PSP. These games were meant to be played on portrait-oriented screens and squeezing them onto a PSP wide-screen (landscape) not only means half the screen goes unused but that everything is very small. Not only that but the 4 way directional controller or the button are no substitute for an arcade joystick. Finally, hearing the disc grind away as each game loads won't make for rapid fire action either - these games are surely small enough to load all of them in their entirety into memory. You'll play each of these once, reminisce about how great those days were and then put it away for good, or perhaps use MAME on your PC if you want to play them as they were designed.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
I was a 70's/80's kid and a trip to the arcades on a Saturday was a staple - 1942 is classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)