Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy!
This is a well made, and reasonably strong piece of equipment. It is quite large and heavy, but the cats have never forced their way in, so that is good.
Once it has been programmed for your normal meal or snack times, it can be just filled whenever you are going away, and will work.
It doesn't have any refrigeration options, and if all 5 places in he turntable...
Published 14 months ago by Compass

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good but a few design flaws.
I really like this item and it is well made. It's doing the job of keeping my cats fed throughout the day but I think the unit could have been better.
A power socket for mains use via an optional 6v PSU would have been really useful. It's not difficult to rig this up but having as an option really should have considered.
The control panel has an option to pause...
Published 9 months ago by Davey


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy!, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PetSafe 5 Meal Pet Feeder (Misc.)
This is a well made, and reasonably strong piece of equipment. It is quite large and heavy, but the cats have never forced their way in, so that is good.
Once it has been programmed for your normal meal or snack times, it can be just filled whenever you are going away, and will work.
It doesn't have any refrigeration options, and if all 5 places in he turntable are used, then the first meal will be available immediately. Only 4 meals can be set to programmed times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 18 Jan 2014
This review is from: PetSafe 5 Meal Pet Feeder (Misc.)
I've tried several different feeders and this one is by far my favourite. The timer is digital so feed times are reliable (unlike the mechanical timer on my previous Catmate C50) and it is easy to set - I did it once when I first got the feeder and haven't had to think about it again since. It's well-made and tamper-proof - there's quite a bit of weight to it so even my chunky British Shorthair can't move it!

Although other reviewers have said there are no refrigeration options, mine does have a slot for a standard sized ice pack underneath the food trays which helps to keep the wet food fresher for longer.

Overall, very happy with my purchase and would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No more early mornings!, 25 Jun 2013
This review is from: PetSafe 5 Meal Pet Feeder (Misc.)
Delivery was fast and within 3 days so quite reasonable.

Product quality is very good throughout. Most multi feeders have clips and parts to take off before you get to the food tray but this is a one hand press/lift. The feeder feels well made and the tray of a good quality plastic. The motor isnt whisper quiet but its hardly noisey....if anything it lets my cats know its dinner time. The clock/digital timer is under the lid and is very easy to program. The battery section is right next to the timer and I like this because if you want to reset the device its easy to gain access to the batteries ....most are annoyingly under the feeder. When adding the batteries its easier to make the final connection in the middle of the batteries not the corner.....you will understand when doing it why I mention it as I noticed others had issues.

I've purchased most of the feeders made by petsafe as they were typically in retail shops but the general build is always good. I have 2 large cats who I like to feed every 4 hours (no feed between 10pm and 6am) so I opted for this due to the 5 feed tray. The other reason is that this takes D cell batteries and not C cell. You would only use a D cell (7 day shop) over a C if the motor needed the extra current so I assume the motor to be less flimsy.

I read most of the recent reviews where people complained about needing to manually move the tray for every feed.....this is not true.

Set the clock
Set your 1st timer
Press the alignment button (tray spins into position)
Set timer 2 ...3 ...4 ....etc

You can now remove the tray for cleaning etc and it will open as per your timed request.

I purchased 2 feeders which open within 5 seconds of each other so timing is good as long as you set the timers together.....not 50 seconds apart lol.

Can they be moved - yes. But after 1 day they lost interest and released its better to eat.
Can the cats spin the motor - not very easily and my cats are 6kg each. The motor is pretty solid so unless you have a faulty unit or have been manually turning it you should be fine.

Tip....these feeders have no chill/cool option for meat but I found that freezing the portions (i quarter the can) and adding before I go to bed the best way to keep food fresh...it also means no 6am whine for food! Lol

30/06/2014....the rechargeable D cell 4000 mah batteries from 7 day shop are still going in these feeders although I have now just changed them because the motor is turning slower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PetSafe 5 Meal Pet Feeder (Misc.)
This is well built, easy to clean and reliable. Set up instructions are clear. Have had several timed feeders and this is by far the best - worth the expense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pet feeder, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PetSafe 5 Meal Pet Feeder (Misc.)
excellent, went to Germany for long weekend. Worked perfectly, all three cats well fed and happy. well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 14 Mar 2013
By 
R. Buckley (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PetSafe 5 Meal Pet Feeder (Misc.)
Good item, though when you close the feeder after refilling, if you don.t move it one one slot manually the first feed doesn't rotate properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good but a few design flaws., 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PetSafe 5 Meal Pet Feeder (Misc.)
I really like this item and it is well made. It's doing the job of keeping my cats fed throughout the day but I think the unit could have been better.
A power socket for mains use via an optional 6v PSU would have been really useful. It's not difficult to rig this up but having as an option really should have considered.
The control panel has an option to pause or advance to the feeding section but to get to this you have to completely open the lid. A cutout in the lid for the clock/control panel access would have made this so much easier to use.
An area for ice packs to keep the food fresher would have been good too. None of these things would add much to the price but would have made the unit so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what we needed, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PetSafe 5 Meal Pet Feeder (Misc.)
We have 2 cats and needed something for when we go away at weekends rather than having to rely on the neighbours. These have been great (we bought one for each cat). We have them set to go off twice a day so can cover 2 full days away (you can't use the 5th opening as they just eat it straight away!!). We've had them 3-4 months now and had no problems. The cats found the noise when they rotate a bit scary at first but it wasn't long before they associated it with dinner time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars unsuitable for one small cat, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PetSafe 5 Meal Pet Feeder (Misc.)
Bought last December after one of my cats died and remaining cat is old and wanting to eat little and often (only eats wet food and won't eat it if it's been down for more than a few hours uncovered). Unit massive, beware if you have limited space in your kitchen. Also heavy to lift up and down to refill. Individual units are so deep that my cat was unable to get his head down into it as he's always had shallow bowls. Tried to stuff bottom with cardboard/silver foil and then place a cut down plastic cat bowl but difficult to get in due to shape of unit and often it gets jammed in the mechanism, as did it jam when I tried to make a layer using cellophane and placing bowl on top. Frustrated as my cat pesters me in the small hours until I get up to feed him and am out for 10 hours during the day at work. Will have to try again the smaller 2 unit feeders, although these too have large/deep units. Surely I can't be the only person with small cats who only eat a third of a packet of food at a time?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cat Loves It, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PetSafe 5 Meal Pet Feeder (Misc.)
The instructions are in small print on the battery compartment which is the only downside. Functions well and works best with fully charged battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PetSafe 5 Meal Pet Feeder
£39.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews