Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Shaggy Dog
The Shaggy Dog is a wicked film!

Tim Allen is hilarious. The change over from human to dog is side splittingly funny, a must for all the family to see..

I loved Tim Allen in Jungle to Jungle, he has a flair for playing "Dad". The story moves along nicely with never a dull moment & you never know whats coming next. From heightened senses such as...
Published on 3 Dec. 2006 by Mrs. L. Mudd

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Thank goodness Downey Jr. made this before Iron Man..
So Disneys' go to guy Allen is back in his Santa Clause mode, but this time he turns into a dog.

He plays an assistant DA, who is trying to lock up some gut because he is accusing a huge corporation of testing on animals.

And obviously he ignores his family and breaks promises.

Hilarity ensues when he is bitten by a dog, and it's DNA...
Published 17 months ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Shaggy Dog, 3 Dec. 2006
By 
Mrs. L. Mudd "Little Miss Trouble" (Cardiff, South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shaggy Dog [DVD] (DVD)
The Shaggy Dog is a wicked film!

Tim Allen is hilarious. The change over from human to dog is side splittingly funny, a must for all the family to see..

I loved Tim Allen in Jungle to Jungle, he has a flair for playing "Dad". The story moves along nicely with never a dull moment & you never know whats coming next. From heightened senses such as smell & hearing as strongly as dogs do right down to running on all fours, defending his territory & trying to communicate with his family whilst looking & acting as a dog, this film is a great comedy! From the toddlers right through to Grandma & Grandpa, the whole family will love it & watch it over & over again!

Just Brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good clean family film, 12 Feb. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Shaggy Dog [DVD] (DVD)
My son's (8 and 11)and i watched this film on a cold wet sunday evening .What a great and very funny film .Enjoyed it sooo much i might even buy it .Tim Allen has still got IT !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad, 11 Nov. 2007
By 
Dodster (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Shaggy Dog [DVD] (DVD)
...but great fun.
It's the old stressed executive who loves his family, but never finds time scenario again, but done with a very clever twist that makes this movie work.
Tim Allen is the busy assistant DA, with his eye on the boss's job.
He is defending a genetic engineering firm against allegations of animal abuses. In the process, he gets bitten by a 300 year old dog the company he is defending have kidnapped, and transforms between himself and a dog. Chaos and pandemonium ensue.
Great fun and Tim Allen plays the role as only he can.
Robert Downey Jr is great as the psychotic baddie.
One for all the family. My two teenagers loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Thank goodness Downey Jr. made this before Iron Man.., 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shaggy Dog [DVD] (DVD)
So Disneys' go to guy Allen is back in his Santa Clause mode, but this time he turns into a dog.

He plays an assistant DA, who is trying to lock up some gut because he is accusing a huge corporation of testing on animals.

And obviously he ignores his family and breaks promises.

Hilarity ensues when he is bitten by a dog, and it's DNA passes through his bloodstream and the inevitable happens.

If you've seen any Allen film made by Disney in the last twenty years, you've seen this. But strangely enough, this film is quite disturbing in scenes that are supposed to be laugh out loud funny.

Seeing a warped Allen chase a cat, shake after having a shower, sleeping on a bed in a weird way, or sniffing and growling, were supposed to be the key hilarity factor in this.

But it isn't. In fact, it's downright freaky in a way that just cannot be described. Allen looks like he's made a big mistake signing on to this, and the rest of the cast look bewildered, apart from Downey Jr. who looks like he is just off his face.

The effects are poor, and for a film that's aimed at youngsters, anything featuring the bad guy inject a man so he will be paralysed for months, and Allen being nude four times, has to raise alarm bells.

And the surfing dog is stuff of nightmares.

A Disney horror, in more ways than one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Spin on a Fun Classic, 13 Sept. 2007
By 
G. Bright "chronically sedulous" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shaggy Dog [DVD] (DVD)
Tim Allen pulls off his most worked dad role in this heartwarming, wacky remake of the original. This time the story has a scientific theme and at first, one might be put off with the samey 'guy neglecting family' issue that comes up a lot during these kinds of films (especially with the hard to grasp personality of Dave's wife). But give it a few minutes, and then you start getting to the comedy.

The trained animals scenes were very clever, as was the blending of CGI, live action and costumes. Keep your eyes open for the cat chasing and car journey scenes which I felt were the funniest ones in the movie. Many of the quips passed by Dave as a dog were also amusing.

Easier to watch for the humour rather than the characters, most of which were pretty shallow and hard to relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Scream, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shaggy Dog [DVD] (DVD)
Love it Love it. What a great story. Tim Allen was the perfect part for this film. Great for family entertainment. If you want a good movie with laughs then this is a must have film.

Would highly recommend this film to any dog or animal lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great DVD to watch shame it's scratched, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shaggy Dog [DVD] (DVD)
My 9 yr old dog mad daughter enjoyed watching what she could of this film as it keeps jumping. Will be sending off to Amazon tomorrow for a refund. Would recommend the film tho, great price...Will be looking to buy a replacement for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Shaggy dog... give it a miss, 13 Dec. 2012
By 
Mrs. Jane T. Mansfield (Walsall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shaggy Dog [DVD] (DVD)
Not the funniest film I ever watched said my 7 year old son. And hard to understand. Out of the mouths of babes... I thought this was dry as a bone. Have it put down and watch Beethoven instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 12 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shaggy Dog [DVD] (DVD)
me and my family love this film,u always laugh and when it comes to my 3 year old son he loves his dogs,hes growing a lovley collection of dog films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OAP., 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shaggy Dog [DVD] (DVD)
A GOOD FAMILY FILM BOTH MYSELF AND TEN YEAR OLD GRAND DAUGHTER LAUGHED AT IT ALL THE WAY FROM START TO FINISH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shaggy Dog [DVD]
The Shaggy Dog [DVD] by Brian Robbins (DVD - 2006)
£3.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews