Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good old Colin Baker again!
This is a pleasant and watchable tale from Pip and Jane Baker (Space:1999), a pair who are noted for their reliable professional reputation, rather than for writing anything terribly Earth shattering. The result is a highly watchable and inoffensive script with solid research behind it, but a story which is less than the sum of its parts. The Master and new evil Time Lord...
Published on 9 Jun. 2004

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable romp, very well-made
This is one of the most enjoyable Colin Baker stories. The idea that the Rani is simply trying to get on with her work and finds both the Doctor and the Master irritating nuisances is a small stroke of genius, and makes the story great fun to watch. As the Rani, Kate O'Mara is very good value, by being both larger-than-life and believably three-dimensional. The camerawork...
Published on 4 May 2009 by The Goose Loose


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Sound., 12 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
A fine story with an unremarkable but highly watchable plot. Colin Baker again puts in a great performance as the technicoloured timelord and the location filming is well chosen and realised well. Anthony Ainley again does justice to the part of the Machiavellian Master as he manipulates his way round both the Rani and the Luddites. Kate O'Mara plays the Rani splendidly and portrays her well as a suspicious, narrow minded person. The characters of Lord Ravensworth and George Stephenson are both well played and special effects such as the tree mines and the T-rex's raise the story above the ordinary. There are also some good comic moments such as when the Rani knees the Master in the groin and the Doctor with his usual puns. The only down side is that Peri has little more to do than scream, make mistakes and look pretty. Overall, this ranks up with other Baker classics such as "Attack of the Cybermen," and "Trial of a Timelord," Good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 3 May 2009
By 
Mrs. D. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Mark of the Rani [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
45minutes maybe a bit to long for anyone but a great piece of storyline and to have three time lords in one story is excellent the master, the rani and the doctor also way things are set out, a classic doctor who sotry to remmember good colin baker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed It, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Mark of the Rani [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
being an original Who fan this is one of the better Colin Baker efforts. Worth it for the Kate O' Mara work as the Rani.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite serial, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Mark of the Rani [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This serial basically won me over to 6. One to watch if you enjoy lots of timelords bickering with each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars doctor who, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Mark of the Rani [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
i did not want them to end they are always so exciting they keep you on the edge of your seat all the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Mark of the Rani [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
im a big dr who fan and its great to see some of the classics on dvd and find out more about the drs past
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good story let down by poor dynamics, 29 April 2008
By 
S. Bentley "stuarthoratiobentley" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Mark of the Rani [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I wavered a lot between whether this is a 3 star or 4 star story. The story itself is rather good, but the central dynamic between the Doctor and his companion is really rather sour. It depends a lot on how much you like Colin Baker as the Doctor. Colin was one of the Doctors I watched as a boy, and I have long been an apologist for him because I quite like his flamboyant bluster but I don't think it comes off as well here as it does in, say, the Two Doctors. There aren't enough moments where we accept his charm and love for the universe and too many where he just seems to be showing off and belittling Peri for no good reason.

With that out of the way, we have a fine story with not one but two amoral Time Lords for the Doctor to face. The Master is here in Antony Ainley format and it's a fine performance, though he doesn't get much to do, and Kate O'Mara is diabolically good as the Rani, a very matter-of-fact Time Lady who would make a good rival for the Doctor on her own.

Set in the age of Steam, as George Stephenson prepares to unveil his rocket, the historical setting as usual seems to lend the story a certain zing, that the studio sets don't. Angry men are throwing spanners into the new machines being introduced to factories. They seem to change after visits to the local bathhouse. Meanwhile the Master is disguised as a scarecrow... There's some ace design on the Rani's TARDIS, complete with T Rex foetuses. The dialogue is wordy and gloriously verbose, with some nice touches of humour (such as when the Doctor avoids a trap through cunning use of "peripheral vision"). It's just a shame that the Doctor and Peri aren't allowed to like each other that much because it makes it all slightly difficult to swallow.

As usual, there are some nice documentaries on the disc that are worth a spin and a fun commentary. I think it's a worthy addition to the Who collection, but if you're not a fan of the second Baker, this probably won't turn your head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mark of the 5 Stars!, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Mark of the Rani [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Only one word can summarise this episode of Doctor Who and that is Awesome. I love the Sixth Doctor and The Rani and this pairing is absolutely brilliant. I definitely recommend this episode to all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars time splillage, 28 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Mark of the Rani [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
well, i must admit, i am not a keen fan on Pip and Jane Baker's scripts of doctor who (terror of the vervoids/time and the rani etc) but i clearly remember this story perhaps being one of the best of the Colin Baker bunch. Compare it with Timelash, and this story is far surpieror. Kate O'Mara's casting as the Rani is fantastic. She really does stand out as a formidable foe, but not in the classic sense. She is the typical mad scientist, and finds that people, just get in her way of what she wants to do. Although generally speaking, and this is no disrespect to Colin Baker, i do feel that his time on doctor who was such a waste of a good actor, and that is down to the production team! MArk of the Rani is an excellent adventure, and far better to Time and the Rani. well worth buying, even just for the witty commentary, although, again, it seems Nicola Bryant seems to be a little isolated as per other DVD's, could it be that she is just a quiet person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story introducing the rani, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Mark of the Rani [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
A great piece of retro sci fi , for a great price . Loved the inside of her tardis as well .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The Mark of the Rani [DVD] [1985]
£6.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews