Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for fans, but weaker than the first two series.
After two absolutely brilliant series, two main characters leave the show. The massive popularity pretty much guaranteed a third series, and a fourth is reported to be in the pipeline.

This series opens as if the producers had decided to draw a line in the sand to separate it from the first two. Some of the characters are styled differently, the sets are not...
Published on 29 Nov. 2006 by Ian

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
After a brilliant first 2 series, this hit a low and I very nearly came to scrapping my plans to buy every series of this show. Fiona has left and the show has appeared to take a different tone. Darker and with a harder edge than the previous 2.
However, the kids come into their own in this series and it does eventually pick up but my hopes for a gripping 3rd series...
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for fans, but weaker than the first two series., 29 Nov. 2006
By 
Ian (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shameless Series 3 - Inc. New Year Special (Ltd Edition Packaging [DVD] (DVD)
After two absolutely brilliant series, two main characters leave the show. The massive popularity pretty much guaranteed a third series, and a fourth is reported to be in the pipeline.

This series opens as if the producers had decided to draw a line in the sand to separate it from the first two. Some of the characters are styled differently, the sets are not quite the same and the roles have altered. At first I found this slightly off-putting, but as the series progresses things seem to return to more familiar arrangements, or maybe you just get used to it.

With the absence of Fiona and Steve the other members of the family now seem a little more mature. Lip's and Ian's love life feature prominently, and there are some welcome episodes focusing on Kev and Veronica. (Maxine Peake takes this series' prize as the best actress in my book.) Of course, Frank and Sheila are not forgotten, both getting up to ever madder things. There are returns of some old favourites, and some new characters to add to the mix.

Some of the content of this series is rather more edgy and close to the knuckle, even for Shameless. There's less of a warm and fuzzy feel to the antics of the family, and some parts aren't quite in that slightly surreal realm the characters normally inhabit, instead being rather real-world serious. That's not to say there aren't some hilarious moments, my favourite being a slapstick moment when Kev goes to drive away from his evening class...

The DVD contains a "mockumentary" with Alice Barry (Lillian). Personally I'd have preferred to have seen a proper behind-the-scenes short, but this is an amusing, surreal and somehow fitting way of giving some tantalising glimpses. At first it's not quite obvious whether the interview is a poor attempt at something serious, or a total mickey-take. It soon becomes apparent. You may even recognise the interviewer.

Overall: good, but not quite as polished as before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shameless Series 3, 24 Oct. 2006
By 
N. Wilson "nigel-wilson" (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shameless Series 3 - Inc. New Year Special (Ltd Edition Packaging [DVD] (DVD)
"Shameless" is an admirable 21st Century Television Programme, because it is so rare for a British Drama to be good, let alone last three series. But Shameless has pulled it off, and who can be surprised? The storys are gripping, funny, moving, emotional and realistic, and the programme is one we can all look at and think about ourselves in each characters situation.

Like the first two series, series three is thrilling and exciting and a very enjoyable collection of stories, although the absence of Fiona is sadly noticable in the balance of the programmes morals. However, the remaining cast hold it together, and the final episode of the series is a thouroughly enjoyable finish to the series.

Acting as always is brilliant, and this series sees the two younger characters Debbie and Carl come out of their shells a bit more and we get a better taste of the acting capabilities held by the pair and I think we can look forward to bigger and better things from them in series 4.

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slight dip in a generally excellent series, 19 Feb. 2007
By 
Dr. George L. Sik (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shameless Series 3 - Inc. New Year Special (Ltd Edition Packaging [DVD] (DVD)
As someone who kept missing this series while it was on, the DVDs have been very welcome and there is a lot to be said for watching the episodes in order, seeing some of the wider plots develop. Like some of the other reviewers here, I felt this series wasn't quite as good as the first two, but only because its own high standards had set the bar so high. Many series struggle to keep up in the second, let alone the third.

What I love about Shameless is how finely it walks the line between comedy and tragedy (perhaps down to its creator's bipolar disorder), the warmth you feel for the characters and how, when the big laughs happen, you're almost always laughing with rather than at someone (Frank being the exception).

Frank is perhaps a little overused here. He must be easy to write for, but it can get a little stale. My favourite stories have always focused heavily on his kids and the two strongest ones here are when Debbie wants to grow up like a normal kid and thus goes on strike, leaving the rest of the family to fend for themselves, and when Carl, a raging mass of hormones, both gets a job and gets a girl. With these stories, the series hits the heights for which it's known.

From the odd episode I've caught of the fourth series, there are still some great stories to go. I really hope Shameless doesn't run out of steam. That WOULD be a tragedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Business as usual, 18 Sept. 2006
This review is from: Shameless Series 3 - Inc. New Year Special (Ltd Edition Packaging [DVD] (DVD)
It's surprising that this show still packs a punch after three series' but it really is the best slice of telly imaginable. It's lost some of its emotional core with the departure of Fiona and Steve but there's always reliable Sheila (who cracks me up)!! Still worth getting but definately the weaker of the 3 series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shameless Series 3 - Inc. New Year Special (Ltd Edition Packaging [DVD] (DVD)
After a brilliant first 2 series, this hit a low and I very nearly came to scrapping my plans to buy every series of this show. Fiona has left and the show has appeared to take a different tone. Darker and with a harder edge than the previous 2.
However, the kids come into their own in this series and it does eventually pick up but my hopes for a gripping 3rd series did take a knock.
However, despite new additions to the cast as well as some much loved losses, series 4 returns to the glory days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hard to beat!, 2 Aug. 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Shameless Series 3 - Inc. New Year Special (Ltd Edition Packaging [DVD] (DVD)
the gallagher family and friends return for a third series of the darkened comedy that blends tragedy and tension with laughs,some of which are sick,thats the shameless way and thats what we like about the show.
Over the eight episodes here the show progresses well with characterisation and development,without ever getting too ahead of itself,subtle parts are released,but as for the overall content,well thats a different matter,the show is packed with madness from top to bottom,violence,crime,grave robbing,i could go on readers.
Underneath the belly of the beast is a sense of love and honour and that keeps the show real to the viewer in a way,the gallagher family and their surroundings are crazy but they are still a family who are close.
This series does have a few lulls along the way and the phrase beyond belief can be pointed at some scenes but nevertheless series three of shameless keeps the laughs and the tragedies and the darkness reigning free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shameless, 20 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Shameless Series 3 - Inc. New Year Special (Ltd Edition Packaging [DVD] (DVD)
I came to shameless late and have only seen the 1st 3 series but the standard remains as constant as ever. Great storyline, superb humour and brilliant acting all combine to make a top top comedy drama series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shameless Series 3 - Inc. New Year Special (Ltd Edition Packaging [DVD] (DVD)
Do they really exist? because it's so believable, by turns hysterically funny, sad, grim, but so well acted that its never boring, but by god I'm glad I don't live by them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shameless Series 3, 10 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shameless Series 3 - Inc. New Year Special (Ltd Edition Packaging [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent viewing made me laugh out loud alot cant wait to watch series 4, a bit slow with the postage, but worth the wait i suppose,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best pieces of writting directing acting magical & so true to life on many estates in this realm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews