Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2008
For me this is d's best album since(its dark and hell is hot)its a stright banger not one bad song on here,d's lyric's are hard and aggresive getting alot of sh#t of his chest but also dog shows his softer side with tracks like(dog love/goodbye/lord give me a sign and the brillient Blown away reminds me ov Slippen,this is a must should have got more reconition one of the best albums of 06!One love dog
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
DMX returns for his 6th offering to the rap world with this record, which is by far, more easy on the ears then his last, atrocious effort, The Grand Champ. The saying that if the formula isn't broke then why fix it, is certainly applied here as DMX has his usual line up of party song, hard-core song, baby mama song, redemption song, prayer, etc. Having said this though, the songs do have energy and DMX retains that awesome charisma that would otherwise make for a boring listen. The beats are varied on the album and are certainly a world away from the rawness of his first album. He is just about able to hold the fine balance of being slightly more pop friendly, whilst retaining the realness about him.
That though doesn't mean the album is faultless. There are many problems with this album, firstly starting with X himself. A lot of the lyrics are starting to sound stale and overused, which was evident during his last album. His writing is starting to lose it's way, as the song content isn't as original as one would expect from such a top tier rapper of X's quality. The beats, whilst being okay, are trying too much to be radio friendly, which I feel has helped in X's decline over recent years. He was best loved for being raw and uncompromising, so whilst it seems he is trying to please the masses here, he has lost most of his initial following, who loved X for being everything that the mainstream wasn't. If people buy this album hoping for part two of It's Dark And Hell Is Hot then they will be disappointed. Personally I love the album, but yet I still yearn for a DMX record that would match his first two offerings. All in all a good album by today's standards, just not quite up there with X's standards
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2006
I'm a massive DMX fan - and have been for a long time but this latest release is no return to form. His best release is still it's dark and hell is hot and this album never hits those same heights. Still it's way superior to the poor Grand Champ and a worthwhile purchase for all fans. Pleased to see he's dropped the homophobic rubbish that also plagued grand champ.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
I keep replacing these albums as my partner keep going off with them and I never see them gain. He is pretty well hard core rap, but he suprises you with some really good classical type instruments, writes some really good lyrics at times as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2006
One of the best albums ever. Lyrics are amazing, good feel to the album, good beat.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
couple of good songs on this. x always comes with some classics on his albums. this is probably his weakest album though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
most tracks are great great buy as a dmx fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2006
NO rapper living on this planet could ever touch DMX and this album goes to solidify him as the last true great i believe there will ever be, only Tupac could ever come near to this mans spirituality and heart.

I had given up rap, all the young artists now with their guns, money, women and jewelery - None of that here

DMX teaches, not only how rap should be but how to be, tracks 11 - 15 are some of the best he has ever laid you can feel and HEAR every word he speaks even though his lyrisism is as sharp as always - what more can you want - i only hope he will continue to make his mark - give it up to Sony for allowing him to be himself, uncensored

DMX fans, its a no brainer, get this

Rap fans who dont know, give up the b*****it and learn sumthin there is no better.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
good music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2006
This album sums up dmx's whole carrear. With releasing this album with such a strange name he is showing the world that no matter what happens in his private life he will produce an album and it will rock the world every time. The album has a mix of themes to each song. From up beat to slow. My favourite song on this album is Blown away and i believe its on of his best ever. It talks about all the stuff hes put up with through his life and it truely is inspirational. In conclusion this album is his best yet and definantly worth buying.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)