Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a toy...
I took some time to decide which candle making starter kit to buy, some were cheaper and some were more expensive than this. I opted for this one and got more than what I thought I would.

Included are 4 candle moulds of a few inches tall and 2 small floating, all 6 moulds are made of the same one peice of plastic. You get a big bag of wax, some wick, wick pins...
Published on 5 Sep 2010 by Fideo

versus
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a great beginner kit
a great starter kit, excellent for introducing you to candle making. got it yesterday, and today have made a fair few candles using the kit, although have been using essential oils instead of the fragrance supplied in the box. comes with 3 small pots of red, blue and yellow wax dye. a quick trip to wilko to grab a pack of kiddies wax crayons, and i've been making...
Published on 24 May 2012 by N. Foster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a toy..., 5 Sep 2010
By 
Fideo (East London) - See all my reviews
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Crafts Candlemaking Craft Kit (Kitchen & Home)
I took some time to decide which candle making starter kit to buy, some were cheaper and some were more expensive than this. I opted for this one and got more than what I thought I would.

Included are 4 candle moulds of a few inches tall and 2 small floating, all 6 moulds are made of the same one peice of plastic. You get a big bag of wax, some wick, wick pins (to hold the wick straight in the mould), small bottle of scent, some candle dye and sealant for the mould (which seems to be blu-tac). Basically everything you need to make several candles (I am burning one right now so if I can do it, so can you). Included is an A4 instruction sheet.

I found it a little difficult to make the holes in the moulds as the instructions tell you to pierce but piercing will not do as you need to thread the wick through. I found it better to snip the "teat" part off with scissors and widen the hole a little by twisting the tip of a small knife in the hole, the wick passes through easier then.

Overall I am very happy with what I got for the price and am in the process of buying more things so that I can make more candles.

This would be a very good gift idea and is the perfect starter kit as you get plenty for £10 (price at time of writing).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a great beginner kit, 24 May 2012
By 
N. Foster "toilandtrouble123" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Crafts Candlemaking Craft Kit (Kitchen & Home)
a great starter kit, excellent for introducing you to candle making. got it yesterday, and today have made a fair few candles using the kit, although have been using essential oils instead of the fragrance supplied in the box. comes with 3 small pots of red, blue and yellow wax dye. a quick trip to wilko to grab a pack of kiddies wax crayons, and i've been making rainbow-striped candles all afternoon to my heart's content. bear in mind that this product is aimed at the complete beginner, and as you get more imaginative and interested in your new hobby, you will be looking at buying more moulds and dyes, as well as re-stocking up on your wick cord and wax beads pretty quickly. still, a great gift idea (got the girlies over tomorrow to have a go, and if they enjoy it- guess what's going in their xmas stocking!!), can't really find a fault in it as a beginner's kit, worth the money, i'd say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely little candle making set, 14 Mar 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of Crafts Candlemaking Craft Kit (Kitchen & Home)
My 11 year old daughter and I have just spent part of the weekend making candles from this set. True, the candles are small, and true they are made with plastic moulds, and it may also be true that 'toy' is stretching it a bit - BUT for someone who has never made them before, and who now has a set of 8 of the most beautiful rich coloured (purples, burnt oranges, petrol blue) candles and who had no idea they could create something so beautiful and so perfect (they could easily be shop-bought)... and who also gets really fed up with really poor quality naff craft sets out there for children - this is fabulous. We've just ordered a second box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little set, 13 Nov 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of Crafts Candlemaking Craft Kit (Kitchen & Home)
this is a great beginners set. it comes with 3 moulds but I would recommend using smallish glass pots. it has only enough wax/wick/dye/scent to start you off so you will need to buy more of these as you progress. the scent isn't that strong though so I would use a LOT of it could use purfume . but over all this is a really good set for beginners so buy, buy, buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent item, 28 Sep 2011
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Crafts Candlemaking Craft Kit (Kitchen & Home)
this item, although i would call this a hobby, and not a toy, is superb. being new to candle-making, i opted for this kit, and so glad i did. the instructions are very clear and concise. the whole experience in using this kit was very enjoyable, and makes me want to make loads more. all the ingredients including packaging, instructions, and ingredients are of the highest quality. well done to this company for producing such a first-class product. would definitely highly recommend this kit to any potential purchasers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy crafting., 8 Jan 2012
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of Crafts Candlemaking Craft Kit (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this for my mum for Christmas as she loves candels and I thought she would enjoy making her own candles to burn. She loved it & when she had a bit of time off work she made the candles with my niece. A really enjoyable day. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Candle making, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Crafts Candlemaking Craft Kit (Kitchen & Home)
This was bought as a present & the recipient adores it, lots of people have commented on it & it is accurately described. It arrived well packaged & in good time. I have no problem recommending this item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 May 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of Crafts Candlemaking Craft Kit (Kitchen & Home)
Im not sure that this product is a toy as it is advertised. You need to melt wax in a pan of boiling water so I would not be happy letting a child use it.
I really enjoyed making candles with this set and after the wax ran out I continue to use the mould. It made a good number of candles which burnt well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Crafts Candlemaking Craft Kit (Kitchen & Home)
Really like this, got everything in that you need to start a nice little hobby off, I love the little pots of dye you only need the tiniest bit and they are such nice colours, another kit I got only had crayons in for the dye which does work but it just isn't the same it doesn't mix as well and have to use a hell of a lot... house of crafts if you see this could you possible just start selling those little pots if dye too please lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is what it says it is., 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Crafts Candlemaking Craft Kit (Kitchen & Home)
Quite good, I'd bought it because I thought I'd seen it a lot more expensive in the shops but when it came is wasn't the one I thought it was and was roughly the same price.

Still, saying that, it is a good kit and the instructions were easy to follow so I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House of Crafts Candlemaking Craft Kit
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews