Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stellar Performances
I was as petrified as everyone else of a new Doctor spoiling what had been a fantastic run of new Doctor Who stories featuring Christopher Ecclestone. But I shouldn't have worried, David Tennant took the reigns and made the character his own almost straight away. I say almost, because there were times during The Christmas Invasion that I gritted my teeth, particularly...
Published on 12 Oct 2007 by Paul B

versus
25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing packaging!
Bought this set for my son's Christmas,and felt very disappointed with the cyberman head box. Very flimsy and the seals take off all the silver colour from the box when you remove them,no matter how careful you are! I thought the head would be made of tin/metal,so it not worth paying more than [...] plus for,compared to the basic box set.
At least my son will have...
Published on 29 Nov 2006 by E. Knox


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stellar Performances, 12 Oct 2007
By 
Paul B "-pb-" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Complete BBC Series 2 - Limited Edition 'Cyberman Head' Box Set with Lenticular Postcard (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
I was as petrified as everyone else of a new Doctor spoiling what had been a fantastic run of new Doctor Who stories featuring Christopher Ecclestone. But I shouldn't have worried, David Tennant took the reigns and made the character his own almost straight away. I say almost, because there were times during The Christmas Invasion that I gritted my teeth, particularly the shoehorning in of an Arthur Dent reference, but the series after that just got better and better.

STORIES
The Christmas Invasion. It had all the elements of a Christmas story, cheese, action and robot santas. If you could bear the cheese part, this story went down as well as your roast potatoes with Christmas dinner, it worked as a one off and as an introduction to the new Doctor, though comparing it to the later stories it comes up a bit short.

New Earth. Great start to the new series. The Cat Nurses are great and, of course, Cassandra is back. It's the first real chance to see the new Doctor and Rose working together and Billie does a wonderful job as Rose being possessed by Cassandra.

Tooth and Claw. Too much forced humour between The Doctor and Rose, but otherwise a really good traditional story.

School Reunion. The return of Sarah Jane and K9 could have overshadowed a story in lesser hands, but the story here, featuring the great Anthony Head, holds its own against the backdrop of having one of Doctor Who's greatest assistants return. The fighting between Rose and Sarah Jane is classic.

The Girl In The Fireplace. An emotional rollercoaster and clockwork droids make this one of the best stories this season. Great acting all around, Mickey being useful and The Doctor showing his feelings.

Rise Of The Cybermen/The Age Of Steel . They're back. I've always loved the Cybermen and the team have done them justice in their new guise. Nice that they didn't tread over the existing origins by creating a new race of Cybermen too. Perhaps we'll see the originals battling these new ones someday?

The Idiot Lantern. Possibly the worst of this season's stories, its still entertaining, though not as well written as the rest.

The Impossible Planet/The Satan Pit. Sound effects from Doom (didn't anyone else notice this?) and the funny named Ood make up a tightly scripted 2-parter that really keeps you on the edge of your seat all the way through. Probably the most frightening story of the series.

Love and Monsters. Doctor Who without the Doctor? It shouldn't work, but it does. Despite the monster being created by a Blue Peter winner, the story is full of humour and good ideas. One of the weaker ones compared to the rest of the series though.

Fear Her. Great idea, but for some reason the story felt a bit rushed.

Army Of Ghosts/Doomsday. A fans idea of heaven. Possibly not enough actual battling, but aside from that it's a case of saving the best till last, and what an emotional climax.

THE SET
Series 2 manages to outdo the first series on all attempts, and the extras here do the same. Video diaries (Tennant promises more this year) . More episodes of Confidential take us behind the scenes of the episodes and how they come up with all the ideas. Commentaries give us another view of each episode, some of which are more entertaining than the episodes themselves! It makes the whole package much better value than those single disc versions with their lack of any extras.

The box itself is an accurate model of a Cyberman head. Many people have already pointed out how this is only held on by a small amount of glue, but mine has been on and off of the shelf a lot as well as being handled by my Doctor-who obessed 3 year old daughter and it's still in good shape.

At the end of the day, you still get the same package inside, but for a few pounds more you get the Cyberman box on top, so it's still worth getting. That said, the words `Limited Edition' seem to mean nothing when you think that this set is still available!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing packaging!, 29 Nov 2006
By 
E. Knox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Complete BBC Series 2 - Limited Edition 'Cyberman Head' Box Set with Lenticular Postcard (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this set for my son's Christmas,and felt very disappointed with the cyberman head box. Very flimsy and the seals take off all the silver colour from the box when you remove them,no matter how careful you are! I thought the head would be made of tin/metal,so it not worth paying more than [...] plus for,compared to the basic box set.
At least my son will have hours of happy viewing,as he is Dr Who crazy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like it !, 18 Aug 2007
By 
I. Pendlebury (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Complete BBC Series 2 - Limited Edition 'Cyberman Head' Box Set with Lenticular Postcard (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Contary to what most others seem to be saying i really like the Cyberman head boxset. Just be careful when you peel off the stickers at the side i used a quick heat blast from a hairdryer so as not to rip the silvering on the box. For just a few quid more than the standard boxset this has to be a great buy and could even prove to be a nice little investment if you ever come to sell yours in the future !.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At least as good as series one, roll on series three, 10 Aug 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who: Complete BBC Series 2 - Limited Edition 'Cyberman Head' Box Set with Lenticular Postcard (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Still saturday night entertainment at its finest. Is it better than series one? No, but it's *as* good at least, which is a considerable feat in itself. Like I took a while to warm to Ecclestone, Tennant didn't immediately have me convinced but by 'Tooth And Claw' I had readily accepted him. He's great: silly, sometimes sinister, more 'alien' and much more unconventional than Ecclestone, although he hasn't yet had an episode like 'Dalek' to really prove his 'serious' side. Hopefully Series 3 will allow him this.

Episode ratings are pretty much equal with the first series:

'THE CHRISTMAS INVASION': 8/10. Great Christmas entertainment.

'NEW EARTH': 7/10: Patchy with some grating humour, but impressive production values.

'TOOTH AND CLAW': 9/10. Best action episode, one of the most intense and scary.

'SCHOOL REUNION': 6/10. Very funny and touching in places, but K9 and the monsters were silly. Possibly too 'light'.

'THE GIRL IN THE FIREPLACE': 10/10. Brilliant episode, by turns funny, scary, romantic and haunting. Tennant's best performance.

'RISE OF THE CYBERMEN/THE AGE OF STEEL': 7/10. After a labourous start with a silly villain, the second episode picks up excellently.

'THE IDIOT'S LANTERN': 8/10. Solid, entertaining episode with great 1950s period feel.

'THE IMPOSSIBLE PLANET/THE SATAN PIT': 10/10. By far the best story of the series - amazing production, intense acting and truly terrifying direction.

'LOVE & MONSTERS': 8/10. Many people hate this but I think it makes a nice change. Good episode.

'FEAR HER': 9/10. Subtle, creepy and strangely atmospheric. It has its naysayers but I love it.

ARMY OF GHOSTS/DOOMSDAY: 9/10. Fantastic conclusion. Forget the big monster war, great as it is - the real genius here is in the human emotion.

Overall, a highly recommended series to anyone who hasn't yet 'got' the new Who. I have high hopes for Series 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!!! Even my kids loved it, 11 Aug 2006
By 
Mrs. C. L. Everall (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Complete BBC Series 2 - Limited Edition 'Cyberman Head' Box Set with Lenticular Postcard (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
I am a new doctor who fan so i cant compare to the classics.....

But I can say that after series one i was hooked Christopher Ecclestone did a great job and i too was worried about David Tennant taking over...but not anymore!

He has taken "the Doctor" and made him his own which is exciting he makes me laugh,he makes me cry and he makes me smile!I now rate him above Ecclestone!

Series 2 was absolutely brilliant, my 6 year old daughter wouldnt let us miss an episode!And while awaiting this amazing box set to come on the market,i have to quite often sit down and watch season 1 she loves it!

So if it attracts children and adults alike to enjoy and watch every week i say the beeb have done a great job!

This IS a MUST for doctor who fans and for all those that deny it, David Tennant is a great doctor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Series Two, 12 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. K. Mckay "Kenny" (East Kilbride) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Complete BBC Series 2 - Limited Edition 'Cyberman Head' Box Set with Lenticular Postcard (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Was looking forward to giving this to my daughter for a present for Xmas but to be honest now I am not too sure. The cyberman head is a complete waste of money and is not worth the extra cash paid for it. To be honest it actually degrades the box set. As a result I am thinking of just giving her the DVD's. The plastic is cheap and thin and the sticky on eyes are badly placed. Its now less than two weeks before the guy in the red suit comes so have no option but to keep this and see what she thinks. I know she will love the DVD's hence the four stars but the box set head is a another matter. Dont waste your cash like I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great boxset ruined by awful packaging, 21 Nov 2006
By 
Mathew Sanders "thebobevil" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Complete BBC Series 2 - Limited Edition 'Cyberman Head' Box Set with Lenticular Postcard (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Seriously, not worth the extra money.

The Cyberman head is held on with a few dots of glue ... mine arrived at a wonky angle ... had to break the glue dots, and re-affix it properly.

The adhesive discs that hold the boxset closed damage the silvering when you open them ... no matter how carefulyl you do so.

My recommendation : Buy the regular edition, and not theis one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Series 2..., 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Complete BBC Series 2 - Limited Edition 'Cyberman Head' Box Set with Lenticular Postcard (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Doctor Who: Complete BBC SERIES 2...
I HAVE NOT OPENED IT, STILL I AM IMPRESSED AND BLOWN AWAY WITH THE HEAD ON THE OUTSIDE COVER,
I DID WATCH ALL THE SERIES 2 THOUGH...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes up the baton from Series One, 23 Oct 2006
By 
D. I. Shipley "David Shipley" (KENT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Complete BBC Series 2 - Limited Edition 'Cyberman Head' Box Set with Lenticular Postcard (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Casting a new Dr Who to replace Christopher Eccleston was never going to be easy for the BBC and Russell T Davies. Eccleston had made the role his own and his untimely departure had frankly put the successfully revived show into jeopardy.

Fortunately, along comes David Tennant who gets into the role with relish. It is pointless trying to compare Eccleston and Tennant against each other because both have such very different approaches to the role. Tennant retains some of the intensity that Eccleston brought to the screen but his Doctor is more relaxed and laid back. Indeed, he is full of the eccentricity that previous doctors brought to the character.

Just like the first series, the second series is a delightful collection of episodes, some are naturally better than others but this is normally the case in any TV series generally.

Episodes to watch out for are Tooth And Claw where Tennant and Rose (again superbly played by Billie Piper have to protect Queen Victoria from a werewolf, The Age of Steel and Rise Of the Cybermen have a superb reincarnation of one of the Doctor's greatest foes (even if the plotting could have been better), The Satan pit and Inmpossible Planet two parter, and School Reunion which sees the return of K9 and Sarah Jane Smith.

However, the real cream of the series comes down to three episodes:

The Girl In The Fireplace which is a superbly realised love story as the Doctor battles to save Madame Pompadour from the clutches of a sentient spaceship and clockwork androids...

Army Of Ghosts and Doomsday see the return of The Cybermen when they invade the Earth in their millions, and the Torchwood centre is shown in detail for the first time. Into this mix,however, then comes the Doctor's most dreaded foes - The Daleks....

Anyone who enjoyed the first series will get their money's worth out of this. Tennant has turned out to be a superb Doctor and Billie Piper again excels as Rose, his assistant. Sadly though, this is Rose's last series and David Tennant will have a new assistant for the currently filming Series Three.

That said, Billie Piper has indicated though that she would like to return to the role but in the newly created Dr Who spin off - Torchwood which features Captain Jack from the first series, again played by John Barrymore.

Hats off to Russell T. Davies has again done a superb job with the scripts for this second series of Dr Who. Fans will be pleased to know that Russell is also scripting the raunchy Sci Fi spin off from Dr Who - Torchwood, which on the strength of its first two episodes looks likely to be a winner too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The magic's back..., 2 Jan 2007
By 
David West "David West" (Hebron, KY, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Complete BBC Series 2 - Limited Edition 'Cyberman Head' Box Set with Lenticular Postcard (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Living in the U.S., I was obligated to wait for this. I wasn't going to spoil it all by watching the Sci-Fi Channel's adverts too..

Chris Eccleston was an inspired choice for the new Doctor and he delivered a tour-de-force performance. I've seen a lot of changes since William Hartnell but David Tennant is as inspired a choice as any.

He brings to the character a depth never seen before; sometimes chaotic, sometimes confused; he is funny, charming but as staunch a defender of what's right as ever ("I may die but the moral high ground is mine.") What we do see now is a Time Lord as human as any of his assistants (Elisabeth Sladen is ageless!) He has feelings and how can anyone not root for the Doctor and Rose ("Tell Rose...never mind. She knows." Go on, Doctor, say it!) The relationship between she and the Doctor is explored and, personally, I wouldn't have minded seeing the pair of them sail off into the cosmic sunset. However...

Rose has matured; so has Mickey, surprisingly and Rose's mum is a delight as always.

The BBC's decision to revive Doctor Who is to be lauded. The show took off running with Chris Eccleston and, with David Tennant, has scaled new heights. This is an absolute gem of television; a British icon has been given a face-lift beyond comparison. The stories are short and snappy and to the point. The scripts are bright, witty and intelligent. It is a show for NOW. Doctor Who has come of age.

One last note...the Tardis box set fell apart the moment I opened it. I did as one reviewer did, took out the discs and stored them separately. It looks to me like this Cyberman box will also not stay the course, as natty as it is. I was always leery of the Doctor's regenerations but here I think the packaging gives me more cause for alarm.

Rock on, Doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews