Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stone Sour are genius!
I have loved Stone Sour's work ever since they blew onto the mainstream (so to speak)with their first album in 2002! Their first album showed that Corey Taylor (frontman of Slipknot & Stone Sour)had much more than a glass-shattering scream; he could write and sing beautifully (songs like Bother), play the guitar and hold together a 5-piece band that were soo different...
Published on 5 Jun 2007 by Mr. C. J. W. Coomber

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so-so
stone sours second full length album is an album that shows a more mature and certainly more settled and focused album than their debut but still lacks the overall quality to make stonesour as good as they should well be.

the album is more mellow than before and certainly has less of a nu metal feel than their debut which is a good thing,but equally the album...
Published on 30 Oct 2006 by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stone Sour are genius!, 5 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. C. J. W. Coomber (Wolverhampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have loved Stone Sour's work ever since they blew onto the mainstream (so to speak)with their first album in 2002! Their first album showed that Corey Taylor (frontman of Slipknot & Stone Sour)had much more than a glass-shattering scream; he could write and sing beautifully (songs like Bother), play the guitar and hold together a 5-piece band that were soo different from slipknot and in some ways...so much better!

Come what(ever) May (the original version) released Summer 2006 really saw the band come together as one of the best groups in the world at this time! I'm talking not just in the metal, rock, alternative -style world, but in the music world in general! Songs such as "30/30-150", and "Reborn" had the intensity we all know and loved Corey for, and if you wanted to be political; go slam on the track "Come What(ever) May" - one of my personal fave's because it perfectly sum's up the opinion of myself and so many other's i know about the whole Bush (and i like to think) the Blair regime and what they have done! Songs like "Through Glass" and "Zzyxx Rd." re-visit the more gental side to Stone Sour; but again..every song is well written and so beautifully put-together that these songs dont seem out of place at all! In conclusion... Their second album is one of my all time fave's and shud be given 100/10! not just 10/10!

Now we turn it up a notch with their new Special edition "Come What(ever) May" Album. I just got it today and i was totally blown away! 6 BRAND NEW TRACKS, and an entire live gig filmed in Russia October 2006. Ok first things first...the new tracks:

13 - Suffer (9/10) - Wow! for an extra track its something special, heavy with some sweet screams, the music is tight and at times brutal! This song could have sit very nicely on the original version of the album, and in my opinion is on a par with songs like "Get Inside", "Orchids", "30/30-150", and "Reborn" (my personal fave's). I Would love to see the boy's perform this song live!

14 - Fruitcake (8/10) - This is a nice track! Strong throughout; clever lyrics and kewl guitar and drums! One that you can easily sing along to but still rock out to aswell! Its kind of the same throughout tho...but this aint a bad thing by any means! :-) if it aint broke dont fix it rite?!

15 - The Day I Let go (8/10) - The opening of this track has some sweet drumming on it; kinda reminds me of Ill Nino a little (don't ask). Coming in at 5 minutes 5 seconds it's one of the longest (if not the longest) tracks Stone Sour have ever made. Another nice and kind of gental song...i'm not a huge music buff so i'm not gonna attempt to go into the guitars or drums and how they're played etc, people reading a review don't wanna hear that, they wanna hear wot happens and if it's good or bad? This track is good, not standard Stone Sour and in some ways not expected, but I Like it and think its a decent track.

16 - Freeze Dry Seal (7/10) - Well structured, well written and well played! Not one of their best by any strecth of the imagination, but i still think its pretty good. Corey doesn't scream his throat to shreds, instead sings with purpose and very well indeed!

17 - Wicked Game (9/10) - The first cover on any album that Stone Sour have done - Chris Isaak's "Wicked Game" is a very well known track and virtually everyone i'm sure know the lyrics "And I dont wanna fall inlove - with you!" For those of us who have seen Stone Sour live will know that inbetween "Bother" and "Through Glass" with guitar in hand Corey sings his heart out to a few verse's of this song! So it's of no major surprise that he has covered the song in its entirety here! I'm not sure if this was a studio recording or an intimate performance but its definitatley live! And the best i've heard Corey sing ever i think! Top class.

18 - The Frozen (10/10) - Remember track 13. Omega anyone?!? Well i do and this track is very similar..it's not a song, but rather a 3 minute 4 second episode of the all-knowing Corey unloading his infinite knowledge on us all...and personally I love it! There should be a uni degree title "Corey Taylor's philosophy" damn I'd take it! Personally I cant get enough of this type of stuff; for me it shows theres so much more to Corey that the mask wearing psycho he is in Slipknot; theres real substance to the man, a man who is fast becoming an idol and a legend in the music industry!

The Bonus DVD! - 10/10 (easily) The live gig in Moscow, Russia is totally awesome! I've seen the guy's 3 times in total, and I believe you can only really measure a band and see what their about once you've seen them live. The quality of the music and especailly Corey's voice is something only truely appreciated when u see them in the flesh! Not only that but u get the impression that the band are there for you, not the other way around. Corey truely looks like he is honoured, humbled and moved when the whole crowd start chanting "COREY COREY COREY" and sing every word to every song! Hell the dude was nearly in tears when it happened back in March(2007) at the Academy in Birmingham. The DVD set-list is well balanced, amazingly-well performed and shows the band at their best; to see them at their uber-best...go to a live gig yourself and don't even try and say that it wasn't one of the best you've ever been apart of! cuz you'll be lying!

The entire package of the Special Edition CD is truely awesome! Totally worthy of a 5 star rating and it won't be on your cd-rack; it will be in your stereo playing at full blast! - What do you think i'm doing right now?! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 22 Nov 2006
By 
P. Simmonds (Newbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come What[Ever] May (Audio CD)
I bought the album after hearing/seeing the video on SCUZZ for 30/30 - 150. After the first play I was absolutely hooked on the album and it has become my firm favourite. To add to this I saw the band live at the Astoria in Nov 06 and they are even better live. Corey Taylor has written some of his best lyrics on this album and as a fan of SLIPLKNOT, I think Stone Sour have a much better sound and rock a lot harder.

If you want a brilliant hard rock album from start to finish, buy this now. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stone Sour Rock, 13 Dec 2006
By 
Matthew Doran "Matchoo" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come What[Ever] May (Audio CD)
I've had this album a little over a week now and I cant seem to get certain songs out of my head. The obvious one being Through Glass is amazing and just shows the vocal tallent of Corey. Other great songs are Made of Scars, Hell And Consequences, Your God, Sillyworld, Reborn. Infact, this is one of those rare albums that you can actually listen to from start to finish without skiping through the odd song. It also has those tracks on it that you will want to listen to over and over again. All in all this is a great rock album and I would reckomend anyone to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and fully recomended., 13 Aug 2006
By 
Peanut "Peanut" (Newcastle Upon Tyne, Engand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Come What[Ever] May (Audio CD)
Come What(ever) May shows just how much Stone Sour have matured since there first

self-titled album was realeased. Corey Taylor (Slipknot vocalist for those few who dont know)

shows off his impressive singing while backed up by the formidable duo of James Root

(another Slipknot member) and Josh Rand who are on guitars and a pounding rythem section formed

of bassist Shawn Economaki, and new drummer Roy Mayorga (the old drummer left due to a family member having some type of

illness I believe). Even though Corey will always get the most spotlight as frontman the guitarists deserve

some real recognition here as the dual guitar solos and more complicated riffs show the biggest maturement from the first album.

The most impressive guitar work has to be on the track "Hell & Consequences," where Josh Rand

shows off the diversity of Stone Sour by moving away form the cliched rock solo and going for a more exotic feel.

The lyrics of this album are more mature than that of Slipknot's and arn't jsut random words thrown together to make a song

(please note i am a massive Slipknot fan so no flaming me for saying that). Most of the lyrics to this album are more related to a younger audience

but on the track "Come What(ever) May," there is a very different feel to the lyrics, with a more specific style to the writing and

sounds as if it's an ode to President Bush. Taylor sings, "Can you take away every single day; That we have given to another false prophet,"

and later goes on to sing, "Show your pretty face; hide the bitter taste; You're still the rapist of an entire nation."

My impression of this band is an excellent one having just recently seen them at Download Festival i can fully vouch for them having both the album

and aving seen them live. They really have a fresh feel which is good with all of the Metallica and Maiden wanabes out there this is a nice surprise.

They show a great diversity of music even having a ballad in there in the form of 'Through the Glass.' A great buy i would fully reccomend this! 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album I've heard for a while, 23 Nov 2006
By 
Andrew Welch (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come What[Ever] May (Audio CD)
This is fantastic... great, great album. There are a couple filler tracks, but the rest are excellent. "Reborn" is quality :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stone Sour, 22 Sep 2006
By 
John Dwice (Cheltenham, U.K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Come What[Ever] May (Audio CD)
Corey Taylors vocals are like butter on hot toast, I actually love this band so much at the moment. The guitar riffs are unique and catchy - 3030150 is the probably my favourite song on the album. But overall there previous album was slightly better, however I still reccommend it to anyone who is into any kind of Rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAGNIFICENT, 10 Dec 2006
This review is from: Come What[Ever] May (Audio CD)
This album will blow you away. It opens with 30-30/150, an amazing spine tingling drum intro that will knock you off your feet and make your blood boil with that wonderful rush of hate and anger that metal is all about. Corey Taylor's vocals are phenomenal in every song, but really shine through on the two slow songs on the album; 'Through glass' and 'Zzyzx Rd.' (which has a beautiful piano accompaniment by Jami Rafee). When I saw the band live (the best gig I've ever been to, as I'm sure anyone else who have seen them will agree) Through glass made me cry, it really did send shivers down my spine, and the heartfelt emotion of Zzyzx Rd. really shines through, it feels wonderful to play such songs to a person who knows Corey as the leadsinger of Slipknot, and see the shock on their faces at the fact that the frontman of one of the world's most intimidating and angry bands can sing and write such an emotional song. Such an amazing versatile man, a true legend. Other great songs on this album include 'come whatever may', 'Made of scars' and 'socio'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have!!, 5 July 2007
By 
C. E. Olsen (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you do not own the album itself already, then this is worth it for that alone. An amazing album which has a little bit for everyone on!

But as a special edition, it rates highly above any others I have seen. You are really getting your moneys worth and MUCH more!!

All the extra tracks are fantastic, I especially love the acoustic rendition of Chris Isaak's 'Wicked Game' which is just beautiful. The DVD is amazing, the boys are on top form and you get to experience an epic Stone Sour show first hand from it.

Top, top album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars immense, 10 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Come What[Ever] May (Audio CD)
i've heard both the stone sour albums and although they are both really great this one is the better...with songs 30/30 150, comewhat(ever) may hell and consequences make it an amazing album...then theres the immense through glass which was at first the only stone sour song i heard when i bought both albums!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A generally good album, but with a few outstanding songs, 2 April 2007
By 
A. Quinn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come What[Ever] May (Audio CD)
The heavier tracks on this album (which is all of them but 2) are good, but not exceptional - fairly standard heavy rock. However, the two quieter tracks, Through Glass and Zzyzx Rd. are nothing short of incredible. Through Glass slowly builds and builds to a dramatic end, and is always a pleasure to listen to.

But Zzyzx Rd. is something else entirely. It begins with a quite piano accompaniment, giving Corey Taylor a chance to really show off his sensational vocal talents, builds up bit by bit, and ends with a thumping guitar solo. It is quite simply one of the best songs I have ever heard, and it is worth getting this album if only to hear this song.

So, overall a good album, made even better by a couple of very good songs. I would recommend this album to anyone. The songs are far more accesible to non-heavy music listeners than Corey Taylors other work with Slipknot, and even the two quieter tracks alone make this album well worth adding to any collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa27648b8)

This product

Come What[Ever] May
Come What[Ever] May by Stone Sour (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews