Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars30
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 August 2006
Mmmm *wipes slobber from lips*. Now this is what i'm talking about. Rise Against seem to improve with every album.

It's hard to stay the non-commerical side of accessible punk, but somehow they manage it. With a 90's revival round the corner, this band are going to be the Offspring's (earlier stuff) spawn. Each song on this album has nice big chopped power chords, played at great speed with heart-beating drums and bass rhythms to rumble your body to bits. The chorus's are big and sing-a-long and the meanings deep and insightful. Plus lots of 'Woah' in every song.

Even the quieter stuff is pulled of perfectly (as RA always seem to do). Kudos for the At the drive-in inspired 'The Approaching Curve'. It's a shame more punk bands don't dare experiment with songs. If you like Lost Prophets, then for gods sake chuck that rubbish away and buy this. This is the proper stuff without the silly emo hair!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2009
Awesome album - only heard of Rise Against through Guitar Hero! (LOVE THAT GAME!!) Some wicked songs, definately recommended if you like this genre of music. Some songs abit like an Offspring song, but better... =)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2007
5 stars plus!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
one of my top 5 albums ever!!!
not a bad track on the whole album!
rise against are so good and absolutely amazing when i saw them in cardiff!
this Cd is too good to miss
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
Absolutely LOVE this cd! Great, catchy, loud music typical of rise against; was not sure I was going to enjoy it but I have not been disappointed! Now one of my firm favourites in my cd collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
This album I brought for my partner and it is honestly one of the best albums I've ever heard =) I've really enjoyed rise against for years but this album in particular is my favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2006
The Sufferer and the Witness is Rise Against's 4th album and in my opinion in the best. Each song radiates in politics, religion and how the world is changing and goes about it in a poetic way and doesn't shove it down your throat. Rise Against are officially the best punk band of our generation, and they have also proved they can do all sorts of punk melodies, old skool punk tracks and even accoustic punk songs.

Without trying to sounds too biased, it disappoints me to see people going crazy over albums recently released that seem to be glorified to a higher extent than Rise Against's beautiful work; for instance Lost Prophet's new "Liberation Transmission". I also bought that CD and I thought it was a crock of garbage. It's OK if you are a 12 year old girl that fancies the lead singer, but all in all it doesn't matter too much. Rise Against has plenty of loyal and respecting fans that know great music when they hear it.

Buy The Sufferer and the Witness, and then their other 3 albums: Siren Song of the Counter Culture, Revolutions Per Minute and their debut album The Unraveling. Open your eyes to the genius that is Rise Against!
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
I have almost all the albums on vinyl and this is another must have. Cant even descibe how good this album is highly suggest you buy it and find out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2006
This is a great album, follows the steps of previous albums such as revolutions per min and siren songs. Stand out tracks are 'injection' 'bricks' 'built to last' and 'drones'. Recommended for anyone interested in previous albums or punk/rock
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2012
This is album is awsome. You will not be disapointed. Every song is superb!! Go on buy it!! What your ears were desined for!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2006
Rise againsts fourth album is a great example of melodic hardcore with a punky feel but draped in anthems and profound lyrics.Rise against write uplifting lyrics despite being known for their political influences,the band excel in delivering messages that most can draw something from.

The album opens with the uncompromising chamber the cartridge and from here you can feel the passion and emotion,the guitars are rocky,the drums are heavy and the singing is great,never overbearing and always understandable.Injection follows and again you will be singing along as you will be with the albums first single rooftops which is very punchy,and again contains moments of pure anthem.The album continues in that vein with classics such as under the knife,the approaching curve and worth dying for.

The albums best track comes next in the shape of behind closed doors which has great band chants and is simply great,the mood turns more sombre with the ballad roadside which contains both female and male vocals and will send shivers tearing through your spine.

On this album the lads have shown that they are capable of writing interesting songs with big chorus' that afi would be proud of while still maintaining a hard hitting edge,this is something special.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)