Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Randy's awesome return
While I've always enjoyed the beauty of Randy Crawford's voice, sometimes the quality of the tracks recorded to showcase it have been disappointing. This is not the case with this fantastic CD. The sparse musical background helps you to really appreciate the fantastic vocals. Randy's voice is as clear as ever and if you enjoyed the recordings she was making at the time...
Published on 22 Sept. 2006 by Richard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag
Randy Crawford = 4 stars - she is not quite at her best.
Joe Sample = 3 stars - he somehow sounds like he is struggling. I am sure he is very accomplished, this is just his style.
Published 11 months ago by Mr. Martin Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Randy's awesome return, 22 Sept. 2006
By 
Richard (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Feeling Good (Audio CD)
While I've always enjoyed the beauty of Randy Crawford's voice, sometimes the quality of the tracks recorded to showcase it have been disappointing. This is not the case with this fantastic CD. The sparse musical background helps you to really appreciate the fantastic vocals. Randy's voice is as clear as ever and if you enjoyed the recordings she was making at the time of Street Life, One Day I'll Fly Away..etc.. then this is a must for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Randy Crawford returns, 31 Aug. 2006
By 
Paula Williams (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feeling Good (Audio CD)
Randys voice sounds wonderful and Joe Samples piano playing and arrangements are wonderfully sparse. A real change from the usual big band arrangements of this type of music. Most of the songs are popular old favourites and Everybodys Talking and Rio de Janeiro Blue are my favourites. If you liked Randy in the 70s and 80s you will enoy this as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect album!!!, 5 Dec. 2006
By 
Vladas Straupas "analogue music fan from Lith... (KLAIPEDA, LITHUANIA Lithuania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feeling Good (Audio CD)
Perfect acoustic jazz album, amazing two jazz giants duet with fantastic musicians! I'm Joe Sample fan, he is unique jazz pianist and Randy is real jazz nightingale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Album I Will Keep On Coming Back Too, 10 Mar. 2009
By 
Trenthamfolk (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Feeling Good (Audio CD)
Having already been sucked in by the latest Crawford & Sample offering, 'No Regrets', I ordered this CD with enthusiasm. Once again, I was swamped in the warm, reassuring groove of soulful jazz... I am no jazz fan, or at least I wasn't, more of a respectful onlooker really, but now I want more... Their cover of Peter Gabriel's 'Lovetown' was a fabulous surprise, and a standout track for me, and their cover of Randy's own 'Rio De Janeiro Blue' a real treat. Any self respecting lover of fine music, aside from the most stubborn critic, can't fail to be impressed. I will keep on coming back to this album for years to come...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 23 Dec. 2007
By 
scoon2 "scoon2" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Feeling Good (Audio CD)
Randy Crawford has one of the most distinctive voices in the music business and who better to do a jazz album with than the legendary
former-Crusader,Mr Joe Sample.
The album is wonderfully laid-back but is never bland and a wide range of material is given superb arrangements
This a very cool imprint on the whole project and repeated listenings often find new subtleties in Joe Sample's piano playing.
The great thing about Randy Crawford is the sheer joy she conveys with her singing and it is infectious.
A quite wonderful album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Desert Island Disc Choice, 25 July 2010
By 
Ajarn Col (Colchester , North Essex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Feeling Good (Audio CD)
Had this album for a few years now and it's still remains amongst those I'd want to salvage if shipwrecked. Simply a wonderfully endearing album. The two highly talented and complementary artists deliver a great concoction of choice songs. Just to add that a subsequent collaboration, "No Regrets",although good doesn't manage to reach the heights and beauty of "Feeling Good".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic jazz, played and sung with love, 8 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Feeling Good (Audio CD)
I am a long time fan of both artists since the 'Street Life' days. This gentle but beautiful set is a real showcase of the talent on offer, revisiting some old favourites but breathing acoustic new life into them. Some may say its cocktail lounge stuff but they would be too ignorant to hear the differance.Buy now, play in ten years, it will sound just as classy!Late night jazz for the quiet storm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 10 Sept. 2007
By 
J. Page "J Page" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feeling Good (Audio CD)
This is a great example of beautiful vocals from Randy Crawford, and Joe Sample's piano playing works really well with these arrangements. You will know most of these songs but with the quality of the artists and the recording itself you will hear them in a whole new and fresh way. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, 22 Aug. 2014
By 
Paul G. Fuller "Scorpion" (Thetford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feeling Good (Audio CD)
Joe sample's velvet touch on the piano and Randy's velvet voice through the mic... what more could you want..
Just burnin' in a new system and the speakers are loving the acoustics on this CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 10 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. Martin Brown (Romsey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feeling Good (Audio CD)
Randy Crawford = 4 stars - she is not quite at her best.
Joe Sample = 3 stars - he somehow sounds like he is struggling. I am sure he is very accomplished, this is just his style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Feeling Good
Feeling Good by Randy Crawford (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews