Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kandi upping their game?, 2 Sept. 2006
By 
Scubaboy "sydwal" (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Beach House 2006 (Audio CD)
Seems that way, with some of their recent output - especially the excellent 'Served Chilled'. About time too after some pretty awful offerings following Doyle's departure. In fact, some of the stuff on Beach House 2006 should have found its way onto CD2 of the recent 'Stereo Sushi 8' - an album ruined by the quality of the second disc in my view. However, with BH 2006 Kandi's traditional reputation for consistency during the Doyle years may be on the way back.

Cool, funky grooves are the order of the day but some lack that summery, beachy quality at times (hence the 4* rating). Hardly a duff track with quality shining through both discs. Listen to the horn arrangement on the Sunburst Band's 'Until The End of Time' (those guys can play!) and you'll see what I mean. I can't knock any album with 'Wesley Music' by RSL on it - surely one of the best tunes in recent years. Bet you'll be singing along to the "People walk by...." bit at the end!

CD2 wobbles a bit with inclusion of lots of instrumental tracks but recovers sufficiently without too much damage being done by the 80's electro sound of a couple of tracks. The up-tempo version of 'Let The Drums Speak' by the excellent Bah Samba is a breath of fresh air, and although I was initially disappointed to see 'Fade' make a return (yet again!), it's an acoustic-ish version which is new and interesting.

It could be that Kandi have hit upon the sound of Summer 2006 with this album - just listen to 'Viva L'Amour' by Physics and it conjours up images of sun, sand, sea and a beer by the pool. Easy to see why I'll be playing this to death on holiday in Majorca this September. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spot on sundrenched grooves from team Kandi, 8 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Beach House 2006 (Audio CD)
To me this is another winner from the new Hed Kandi Team , Serve Chilled 2006 is the perfect partner to this. As far as the beach house summer rhythms go this is one of the better collections. Disc 1 falls a bit flat in to the distinctive All Bar 1 summer background of female singers sounding alike , even Kaskade and Late Nite Alumni don't offer anything special. Disc 2 is the runnaway success and with predominantly instrumentals , ventures in to newer teritories with heavy influences of jazzy, latin and afro funk grooves. The sort of grooves to rip your summer parties apart , Hardsouls Bounson is a killer you could find yourself limbo dancing in a sarong to the ethnic afro grooves , Sunburst band and Physics jazzy grooves Soul Central Stereo Sushi deep house style.Hed Kandi continue to do it right , this is one for your heatwave summer gatherings, one to get you going and uplift you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Artwork... but does it have great music??? Of Course this is HK of late!!, 3 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Beach House 2006 (Audio CD)
Yet another Hed Kandi cd enters my collection. Not sure i have much more room for them to go but i thought it'd be stupid not to get one of Hed Kandi's better creations. "Beach House"!!!

Cd 1 starts well with songs from Samantha James, Luke and L.O.V.E, all brilliant tunes. It then continues to please with nice tracks from Kaskade, Colette and Joillet. The cd ends with "The Way You Love Me" which is a nice ending to a great start.

Without much messing around i quickly put cd2 into my cd player after such a promising first cd. Disappointed??? Not at all!!

It starts with a couple of really intriguing but pleasing to the ears tunes from Todd Terje and Hot Toddy, followed by good tracks from The cuban Brothers and Physics.

Once again Hed Kandi include yet ANOTHER mix of Solu Music's "FADE" which never seems to bore me. I think though that any more mixes of the song will kill it so best to leave it at that Hed Kandi!!

Another great song is "The Way" by Lenny Fontana which is followed by "Swimming Places" and an all time favourite of mine "Black Water", which has previously been on a Beach House Album. However, this is a new mix and a few years on from the original mix so i'll forgive them for repeating this track. I mean I've forgiven them enough for repeatedly putting "Fade" on numerous releases so i'll forgive them on this occasion too!!

All in all, a sublime album from the Kandi Crew!! 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Summer is here......, 21 July 2007
By 
Jordan Nicol "Beachxangel" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beach House 2006 (Audio CD)
But as usual, in Britain the sun is not exactly shining. Never mind, stick Beach house in the cd player, make yourself a cocktail and lie back n enjoy some of the most soulful, summery, blissed out listening you'll find.

As a Hed Kandi fan, i may be slightly biased but this album is superb, and my personal favourite from the Beach House collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!!! A good chillout cd, 16 Sept. 2006
By 
Soccer Star (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beach House 2006 (Audio CD)
I have been searching for a good chillout cd for a long time and finally stumbled across Deeply Soulful. Its an awesome cd with some great summer beats for just lounging around in the sun. Thoroughly recommend it to anyone who likes to relax with a few drinks in the summer heat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed this one more than others., 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beach House 2006 (Audio CD)
fwiw, I liked this. they do seem to re-use tracks across the beach house series sometimes, which doesn't seem necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva Hed Kandi !, 7 Aug. 2006
By 
R. Beddow - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beach House 2006 (Audio CD)
This cd is THE bomb !

Some of the finest samples of disco house to have ever engulfed my ear drums and intoxicate cerebral cortex.

I would almost call some of the tracks transcendental, sending me onto a spiritual plain I have only ever experienced through narcotics.

With phantasmagoric vocals and somniferous beats I think these cds are the epitome of house music.

Viva Hed Kandi !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Beach House 2006 (Audio CD)
works well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beach House 2006
Beach House 2006 by Hed Kandi (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews