Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite right
I bought this album as a huge J5 fan, who owns all of their previous releases, and was curious as to how they sound without the departed Cut Chemist.

The first time I listened to this CD I was very disappointed, but now after several listens I believe Feedback is a solid album, but is easily Jurassic 5's weakest offering, but only because of the quality of...
Published on 4 Jan 2007 by Mrs. Susan Cabell

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coming to terms with a new direction
L Foulkes review is spot on. This LP is different from their previous efforts - definitely more commercial and `modern' in its approach - but I'm just not sure whether I like it as much.

Perhaps because key member Cut Chemist has left the group, the retro funk/soul/blues beats and samples have taken a backseat in favour of a more stripped-down feel and a wider...
Published on 26 July 2006 by Adam Stokes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite right, 4 Jan 2007
By 
Mrs. Susan Cabell (Maidstone, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feedback (Audio CD)
I bought this album as a huge J5 fan, who owns all of their previous releases, and was curious as to how they sound without the departed Cut Chemist.

The first time I listened to this CD I was very disappointed, but now after several listens I believe Feedback is a solid album, but is easily Jurassic 5's weakest offering, but only because of the quality of their other 3 albums (J5 LP, Quality Control and Power in Numbers all 5 out of 5).

I am not sure exactly what is inferior about this album, but it just seems to lack a definitive deluge of quality songs, the sort of thing that defines their other 3 releases

(J5 LP- In the Flesh, Concrete Schoolyard, Action Satisfaction);

(Quality Control- Influence, Quality Control, The Game);

(Power in Numbers- Day at the Races, Thin Line, What's Golden).

Having said all of this, I have only owned Feedback for the best part of a month and Quality Control and Power in Numbers both took a while to "get", so it may be a slow-burner that will grow on me but my initial opinion is that Feedback is and will remain inferior to their other releases.

I would recommend purchasing if you:

a) have all the other J5 albums

b) are "bored" of the other J5 albums

c) are a big fan of J5

If you want a J5 album, get any of their prior albums(J5 LP, Quality Control, Power in Numbers).

I personally rate Quality Control their best, but not by much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coming to terms with a new direction, 26 July 2006
This review is from: Feedback (Audio CD)
L Foulkes review is spot on. This LP is different from their previous efforts - definitely more commercial and `modern' in its approach - but I'm just not sure whether I like it as much.

Perhaps because key member Cut Chemist has left the group, the retro funk/soul/blues beats and samples have taken a backseat in favour of a more stripped-down feel and a wider use of programmed drums and synths. The lyrics are still very J5 - albeit with a bit less interplay between the MCs - and Chali 2na still stands out as one of the best rappers about.

But parts of it do sound very un-J5-like and some people might find this a problem. Many of tracks here echo songs like `Thin Line' and `Freedom' from `Power In Numbers' with only `Radio' truly harking back to `Quality Control', whilst `Brown Girl' really stands out as a very new direction for them without breaking any new ground hip-hop-wise. I have read some poor reviews of `Work It Out' too but I thought it was one of the stronger songs showcasing this `new' direction.

It's not a bad album and it still reeks of J5's quality but the new stuff takes it`s time to work. I'm just not sure it will still be on my stereo this time next year - unlike `Quality Control' which I hardly have off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hmm interesting, 5 Sep 2006
This review is from: Feedback (Audio CD)
Hi,

This is a different album from J5, it has a deffinate change to their 'normal' style.. I suppose this is down to Cutchemist leaving, and they have turned a new page in the J5 saga - and quite rightly i think. The lyrics are still as smooth and with the perfect timing and flow as we have came to expect from these masters of rhymes.

Its a contridiction but the beats have an updated oldskool sound, they have always taken much of their rhyming style from the Furious 5 and other rappers from that era - but now they have tried to take it 1 step further and copy the production aswell.. do i agree with it? hmm, i think it is ok! they have lost their producer that they have had forever and are trying new ideas, which is a good thing - but i do not think they will carry on with this thinking on later albums..

If u are a J5 fan, then get this for sure - it is a good cd with great tunes - it has added funk and soul to it which i like alot.

If u are new to these guys then i would suggest getting some of their older releases b4 trying this, although it is hard to not like it either way!!

lyrics. 7/10

beats. 8/10

overall. 7/10 a funky, soulful, relaxed sit back and roll a fat 1 to kinda album.

i reccomend this to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stepped away from the old school, but still J5 magic, 16 July 2006
By 
L. Foulkes "loukevfoulk" (sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feedback (Audio CD)
With every new album that came out with j5 i feel they have got better and changed the approach slightly. The same vibe and superb lyrical flow is the same throughout all there albums including this one but what has changed is the beats, the beats dare i say are commercial in some cases but i feel on the track 'radio' in partricular this is meant to be the case as they rap about trying to get real hip-hop on the radio. The beats are certainly far from 'power in numbers' and the 'LP' and some songs are very chorus heavy. For real hip-hop fans and j5 fans its still absolutely essential as the j5 magic is still very strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money., 31 July 2006
By 
M. Cox (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feedback (Audio CD)
Whilst many hardcore and loyal J5 fans are criticising the album for straying away somewhat from their previous sounds, and opening up to a more mainstream sound, I still think this album is very much worthy of the money.

The collaboration with Dave Matthews Band seem to be a obvious way at working a 'money spinning' Single - but why is this a bad thing?

Sold out? Not quite. J5 are still behind the release and are doing what they do well, and 'Feedback' is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Feedback, 9 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. T. Cross (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feedback (Audio CD)
It's a short, sharp, shock in the arm!

Put it in your hifi and listen, then listen to it again, then again. It's a bit like playing a super fast arcade game rather than an ages long Role Playing Game.

The songs don't mess about - with most at about 3.5 mins. They're in then they're out. Straight up party tunes, enough to make you smile and dance in your car. (Or anywhere if you like! I just happen to do most of my dancing in the car. Eh? Oh....)

Don't expect any deep, lyrical procrastination on this album - not much politics, just straight up funky, electro beats, with a lot of nods to early hiphop like grandmaster et al. There's also a bit of samba/salsa type sounds too.

I was disappointed that there wasn't more lyrical content. Every member pretty much drops one verse on each song. The interplay and harmonies are still there, but you can guess when the song will end when everyone has done their bit. That's my only criticism of Feedback, other than that it's great!

I've already listened to it more than Power In Numbers - which dragged on a bit for me and came a bit tiresome. It's not as good as Quality Control but then, what is?

Definitely worth a listen, especially for track 2 - Radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great hip hop album album, but with some skippable tunes, 29 July 2006
This review is from: Feedback (Audio CD)
This new album has a lot of amazing tunes, hip hop proper. It has certainly a slightly more electronic vibe in places (the brilliant 'Radio') than on the previous albums, but it's no bad thing. The best tracks are spot on in typical J5 fashion, Great beats, unusual sound and great lyrics with that old school flavour.

'Canto De Ossanha' is good fun, and check out 'Red hot' and 'Turn it out', probably the best tracks on this album.

Now, be warned: there are a couple of serious stinkers that have unfortunately sneaked in this cd, though:

FOR YOUR OWN GOOD, YOU MUST SKIP: 'Brown girls', this cheddary little R'n'B tune is so wrong, it has no place here.

Also the track 'Work it out' that you can hear on J5's website (that nearly put me off buying this album) is rather poppey and dull, in other words, not worthy of a listen. Do not let that put you off, though. If you have skipped passed those sorry numbers you will be able to enjoy one of the best new hip hop album around, really good fun.

If you like this album give 'Quality Control' a listen though, it still remains their best ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hip-Hop for the masses, 5 Sep 2006
This review is from: Feedback (Audio CD)
For me Jurassic 5 have been synonymous with breaking the mould and keeping alternative Hip-Hop real (To coin a couple of clichés). So it's with some hesitance that I'm writing the following, but this is a weak album.

Don't get me wrong, this is not a BAD album and if it was by a commercial "Hip-Hop" artist (read: R&B) then this would be a good attempt at venturing into the real Hip-Hop genre. But it isn't, this is one of Hip-Hop's standard bearers stepping into the light of commercialism, and it is ugly to witness.

On the plus side, Nu-Mark has created some of his funk with tracks such as Future Sound, Baby Please and the Amp Fiddler/Prince-esque Gotta Understand. And anyone pining for the days when shoe laces were fat will enjoy Radio and even the electronica of In The House and Turn It Out. However, none of this detracts from the fact that it just doesn't stand up to tracks such as Jayou, Concrete Schoolyard, Quality Control, What's Golden or A Day At The Races to name but a few. The lyrical style seems to have diminished and not even Charlie2Na's distintive raps can detract from the fact that they seem to have purposefully emulated any number of faceless gangsta rap and R&B acts. As for the first two singles, the less said about the abject rubbish that is Brown Girl the better and in the words of cult TV cartoon Futurama "Dave Matthews Band Does Not Rock"

Surprising then that Nu-Mark successfully delved into the solo market whilst in the interim of Power In Numbers and Feedback with Blend Carfters. However, little or none of the inspiration seems to have been carried forward to Feedback, doing nothing more than ticking the record companies boxes. Is this a knock-on effect of Cut Chemists departure, or was that in itself a sign of the times to come? Only they can wax on that issue, but this certainly isn't up to their usual standards and I'm guessing a far cry from what a lot of J5 fans were expecting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feedback - J5's Future Sound!, 15 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: Feedback (Audio CD)
"Feedback" is J5's long awaited sequel to 2002's "Power In Numbers". The 1st thing to make clear is that without a doubt this is a more commercial album than any of J5's previous efforts. The most obvious example of this is the Scott Storch produced "Brown Girl (Suga Plum)", which is going to be the next single. While I appreciate the fact that J5 are trying to widen their fan base this song is simply all wrong and is by far the worst song on the album. "Baby Please" & "Radio" are 2 more songs that are not exactly what we have come to expect from J5. While I would consider "Baby Please" nearly as bad as "Brown Girl" the Salaam Remi (best known 4 his work on NaS' "God's Son") "Radio" is one of the best songs on the album. While fans of the classic J5 sound may not like these new soundings songs they are the exception rather than the rule. All this crap about "Feedback" sounding nothing like J5 & having an RnB feel to it is wrong. "Back 4 U" & "Gotta Understand" are 2 of the best J5 songs I've ever heard. Other great songs include the laid back 1st single "Work It Out", "In The House", which has a great old school hip-hop feel to it, "Red Hot", which sounds like the classic J5 stuff, the mellow "End Up Like This" & "Canto De Ossanha", a great instrumental with a Spanish feel to it.

Overall "Feedback" is certainly a different album compared with "Quality Control" or "Power In Numbers" but different does not mean worse. Forget these negative views. If you like Jurassic 5 you will like this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Would somebody please bring back the funk!, 3 Aug 2006
By 
D. Appleby (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feedback (Audio CD)
No,no,no,no,no! This sound is not what J5 fans want to hear! J5 were about being funky, having live recording loops, lyrical flow and above all, a sound that nobody else could emanate. I think not having Cut Chemist on hand has had a negative impact on the overall production and sound. The drums and too formulaic, too clinical. There are no raucous fill-ins, just plodding beats. Yes, the lyrics are still of the same high quality, but only having good writing skills does not a hip-hop album make. "Red Hot" is the stand out track, and is the J5 sound that most, if not all J5 fans will know and love. The rest is sadly destined for the bargain bucket of cheerless offerings. A shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Feedback
Feedback by Jurassic 5 (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews