Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big number of puzzles, small price.
This game boasts 1000 puzzles each of Sudoku and "Picross" and for a significantly lower price than similar games. The sudoku is standard and becomes harder as you progress. The "picross" puzzles are sometimes a little far-fetched in what they are supposed to be depicting, but there are so many - 100 to a "theme" e.g. animals, science - and they are multicoloured which...
Published on 23 July 2007 by B. Roche

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great for Picture Puzzles, horrible for Sudoku!
The picture puzzles (1000 of them!) are great if you've exhausted those found in Picross DS. The controls are a little dodgier (I remember having difficulty using the stylus), but if you use only the buttons for control it is much easier.

The Sudoku is another matter, as the handwriting recognition is totally broken. I cannot for the life of me figure out how...
Published on 4 Jan 2008 by Jason


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great for Picture Puzzles, horrible for Sudoku!, 4 Jan 2008
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Essential Sudoku (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
The picture puzzles (1000 of them!) are great if you've exhausted those found in Picross DS. The controls are a little dodgier (I remember having difficulty using the stylus), but if you use only the buttons for control it is much easier.

The Sudoku is another matter, as the handwriting recognition is totally broken. I cannot for the life of me figure out how to write a 5 that is not interpreted as an 8 or a 9. Big problem, and I have yet to solve one Sudoku puzzle because of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Garish and badly put together, 6 Jun 2007
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Sudoku (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Being a major fan of suduko, I couldn't wait to get my hands on this game. I had images of the playability of the suduko section of Brain Training.

This is nothing like it.

The bright colours and moving background make this game almost impossible to play, and difficult to concentrate on for very long. Added to this, are the badly formatted menus and bold lettering and numbers which all mean that this game uncomfortable to look at for very long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big number of puzzles, small price., 23 July 2007
By 
B. Roche (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Essential Sudoku (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This game boasts 1000 puzzles each of Sudoku and "Picross" and for a significantly lower price than similar games. The sudoku is standard and becomes harder as you progress. The "picross" puzzles are sometimes a little far-fetched in what they are supposed to be depicting, but there are so many - 100 to a "theme" e.g. animals, science - and they are multicoloured which adds to the challenge. Admittedly the squares are small and may cause problems for those with poor eyesight and an unsteady hand, but if this is not an issue then this game is great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars essential sudoku, 11 Aug 2010
By 
G. E. Kitchen (Peterborough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Essential Sudoku (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
A pity I had not read the reviews on this game, after playing the one on brain training, I thought a Sudoku game on its own would be far superior.How wrong , thankfully I had not payed the new price for it It will come in handy for my 12 year old niece to practice with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two games for less than the price of one., 19 Feb 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Essential Sudoku (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Don't be put off by the mention of picture puzzle (as I originally was), thinking it would be something more suitable for kids. It's a puzzle more commonly known as Hanjie, which I love and was pleasantly surprised to find on this game.

It's not the most sophisticated of games but at less than £10 it's a great game for the price. A bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars essential Sudoku, 11 Jan 2014
By 
J. M. Trace "J M Trace "schumacker"" (South Wales. Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Sudoku (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
It was a christmas present for a person who loves suduko and as far as i am aware it was a successful and enjoyable present,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars soduko, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Sudoku (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
good game. love all the soduku games and enjoyed this one to. will play this lots as i seem to be pretty speedy . Probably means that it is less complex......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not so good, 1 Jun 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Essential Sudoku (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
the game was not as good as expected and the instructions on how to use the functions for the game not very clear, for a game that is easy to do on paper this was not very good to do on the DS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential Sudoku (Nintendo DS)
Essential Sudoku (Nintendo DS) by D3 Publisher (Nintendo DS)
£9.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews