Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING DISC
1982 saw the release of many great albums,this one however had the anticipation levels rising to fever pitch.The debut disc from Hughes(Deep Purple) and Pat Thrall(Pat Travers Band)was surely destined to be a cracker.and it was.

Classic heavy rock,american style superb hooks,harmonies to die for and superb musicianship,some of the wouldnt have been out of place...
Published on 3 Jan. 2011 by Mr Blackwell

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars of its time
This is so 80s that I reckon Glen must be secretly pretty embarrassed by it. One or two tracks are ok otherwise it sounds like a derivative set of songs on a demo tape by two guys who dont really believe in the material and are trying too hard for commercial success. Thank God for Black Country Communion which is light years ahead. Dont believe the hype about this CD.
Published 19 months ago by Loz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING DISC, 3 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hughes / Thrall (Audio CD)
1982 saw the release of many great albums,this one however had the anticipation levels rising to fever pitch.The debut disc from Hughes(Deep Purple) and Pat Thrall(Pat Travers Band)was surely destined to be a cracker.and it was.

Classic heavy rock,american style superb hooks,harmonies to die for and superb musicianship,some of the wouldnt have been out of place on discs by the likes of Journey/Boston

Highlights are the superb opener 'I Got Your Number'/'Beg Borrow Or Steal'/'Muscle and Blood' and the fantastic cover of TRAPEZE'S 'Coast to Coast'.

Outside of Purple this is easily the best release that Glenn Hughes has been involved with,a magnificent disc,superb vocals,excellent Bass playing, stunning Lead Guitar from Pat Thrall.

2 bonus tracks hint that a second album would have another classic,the Rock Candy Remaster is superb,excellent sound quality,fabulous booklet with some great photos.Dont hesitate,this is a must buy.

The big question is what ever happened to Pat Thrall?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TIMELESS CLASSIC., 11 Sept. 2008
By 
Mr. C. E. Campbell ""WAHWAH"" (LIVERPOOL,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hughes / Thrall (Audio CD)
I HAVE PLAYED THIS ALBUM A THOUSAND TIMES AND IT STILL DELIVERS THE GOODS. THESE TWO ARE A MATCH MADE IN HEAVEN AS THEY BOTH COMPLIMENT EACH OTHER THROUGHOUT... THRALLS GUITAR WORK IS BREATHTAKING, AS IT WEAVES DIFFERENT PATTERNS,ESPECIALLY ON THE UPTEMPO TRACKS.THIS GUY WOULD BE UP THERE WITH THE REST OF THE GUITAR GODS IF HE HADNT GONE INTO PRODUCING..WE ALL KNOW TOO THAT GLENN HUGHES HAS IT ALL,ROCK OR BALLADS,HE NAILS IT EVERY TIME HERE. THE GOD OF VOICE WAS ON TOP FORM AND TO THIS DAY STILL DELIVERS. FOR YOU FIRST TIMERS,GET READY TO ROCK AND BE AMAZED THAT THIS TIMELESS CLASSIC IS PART OF YOUR COLLECTION..ROCK ON!!!
HUGHES N THRALL 2?? I'LL WAIT...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now!, 4 Jun. 2012
By 
T. Baranyai "COVERDALESNAKE" (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hughes / Thrall (Audio CD)
This album is so good that i can't put it into words. From the opening track to the last, they are all five star tracks. The production is very 80's but thats part of its charm. I got your number, Muscle and blood, who will you run to and first step of love are all GH classics. My personal fav is The look in your eye. It is a very very catchy song. The only bad track is Hold out your life.
I would recommend this album to any rock fan, but especially fans of 80's rock. I think even Def Leppard and Whitesnake fans would like this album. If you don't own it, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...a timeless classic..., 6 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Hughes / Thrall (Audio CD)
this CD has stood the test of time and still sounds modern despite the passing of 25 years since original release. A brilliant showcase for the incredible voice of Glenn Hughes and virtuoso guitarist Pat Thrall. Roll on Hughes Thrall 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strange Mastering on the Fade outs?, 25 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Hughes / Thrall (Audio CD)
Overall very welcome,with a couple of stunning bonus tracks apparently ONLY demos!
From the No-Show 2nd album.Though I can't work out if Glenn's vocals are more contemporary.
What a shame H/T wasn't followed through. On the main album listen to the fade outs,as the songs inquestion sound like they are in a slightly different key?
Nit-picking aside it is a cracker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I wish they would reform..., 29 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hughes / Thrall (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album from the 80's and its as good today as it was when it first appeared

Just a shame this didnt get the recognition it deserved at the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Out on its own, 10 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Hughes / Thrall (Audio CD)
Well,
Despite the reviews on Amazon.COM, the UK has none for this particular version, so I'll attempt to redress this a little.

Having been a Hughes fan since his transition from Trapeze to Purple, I snapped up this album without hesitation as soon as it came out. I'd never heard of Thrall, although I knew of two bands he'd been in.

It certainly was a very different album in its day. Somewhere between pop with a rock edge and funky hard rock with a pop edge...it was like nothing else...and this is either to advantage or not, depending on your view. It didn't really sell.

Over the years, Glenn has rated this as one of his faves and he is certainly on form with his soulful yet powerful voice. It's all a matter of whether you like the style. Some say it still sounds fresh and relevant today. Maybe. It's difficult to be objective after all these years. I love it but but I have grown up with it.

The initial stand-out tracks for me were 'Hold Out Your Life', 'Who Will You Run To' and the brilliant (sacriligious at the time) remake of 'Coast to Coast'. All excellent tracks. 'The look in your eye' and 'Where did the time go'...with it's long, melty 'byyyyyyyyyyyy' were decent poppy tunes that grew on me quickly. Although I got used to them, I never really cared for 'I got your number' or 'muscle and Blood' at the time (which others in the USA seem to have as faves), and I still have to be in the mood for the screaming part in 'First step of love'...which has since become a minor Glenn classic. After all this time, I can accept that 'Muscle and Blood' is a storming hard rock track, it just wasn't what I was after at the time.

Some of the guitaring is really good, but not quite great and there is not much of it. For me, it was always about the voice.

Glenn has remained my favourite rock singer for over 30 years. If you're a big fan, you'll already know this album. If you're new to Glenn, coming in from his more recent 'Soul Mover' success, some tracks (especially 'Muscle and Blood') on this album do help to show where 'SM' came from, but hearing it does not indicate the content of any other album. Glenn's multifaceted voice has only become more complex and more powerful since then and there are some even better tracks out there...they're just scattered across dozens of albums and this is why it doesn't get 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars of its time, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hughes / Thrall (Audio CD)
This is so 80s that I reckon Glen must be secretly pretty embarrassed by it. One or two tracks are ok otherwise it sounds like a derivative set of songs on a demo tape by two guys who dont really believe in the material and are trying too hard for commercial success. Thank God for Black Country Communion which is light years ahead. Dont believe the hype about this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of time!, 18 Feb. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hughes / Thrall (Audio CD)
Simply put...RUBBISH!!! The photo on the back of the album should tell you everything, nasty 80's rock at it's worst
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hughes / Thrall
Hughes / Thrall by Glenn Hughes (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews