Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality
This salt mill is of superb quality, very chuncky and very well made. I was over the moon with it.
Published on 10 July 2010 by AppleTree

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It wears out.
The problem with this salt grinder is that it starts out as a decent salt grinder and then over a period ceases to be one. The main flaw is the grinding mechanism which is made of plastic and which is just not wear resistant enough to have anything like the required longevity. Presumably they use plastic because of the corrosive potential of salt on steel but it isn't...
Published on 26 Oct. 2011 by D. Rice


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality, 10 July 2010
This review is from: T&G Capstan Salt Mill - Acrylic 145 mm (Kitchen & Home)
This salt mill is of superb quality, very chuncky and very well made. I was over the moon with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It wears out., 26 Oct. 2011
By 
D. Rice "Belstane" (Kirknewton, Midlothian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: T&G Capstan Salt Mill - Acrylic 145 mm (Kitchen & Home)
The problem with this salt grinder is that it starts out as a decent salt grinder and then over a period ceases to be one. The main flaw is the grinding mechanism which is made of plastic and which is just not wear resistant enough to have anything like the required longevity. Presumably they use plastic because of the corrosive potential of salt on steel but it isn't nearly tough enough for the job.
I'm off to look for a salt grinder with a stainless steel grinding mechanism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good product, 7 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T&G Capstan Salt Mill - Acrylic 145 mm (Kitchen & Home)
Good product, the grinder works perfect, and it looks pretty and elegant on the table, i am happy with my purchase :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars practical and effective, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T&G Capstan Salt Mill - Acrylic 145 mm (Kitchen & Home)
bought this with pepper mill as wedding gift so i can say it arrived in good time and securely packed.was apprehensive when i saw feedback from people who had purchases acrylic mills from other vendors regarding the grinding action,however the recipients of the gift report it functions beautifully so thank you T&G
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 April 2015
By 
Derek Willett (Hindhead, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T&G Capstan Salt Mill - Acrylic 145 mm (Kitchen & Home)
Quality item - you get what you pay for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing indeed!, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T&G Capstan Salt Mill - Acrylic 145 mm (Kitchen & Home)
We had one of these salt mills for about ten years and had no trouble with it until a crack appeared in the acrylic. We replaced it with this identical model and it worked well for about a year and then suddenly became less efficient. We tried adjusting the tightness of the grinding mechanism but it made no difference. I approached T&G and asked for a replacement under their ten year warranty. They asked for photographs which I duly sent showing the grinding mechanism. Then they wanted me to send the mill back to them for inspection (at my own expense) and with no guarantee of replacement. I decided it was not a cost effective option for me as the postage would have been about £4 on a £10 item. The T&G ten year guarantee is hardly worth the paper it is written on and I think they should ask themselves, why would I go to the trouble of claiming on it if the salt mill had been working satisfactorily. A bit of goodwill would have gone a long way. I have now bought an alternative item, not by T&G! Caveat emptor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

T&G Capstan Salt Mill - Acrylic 145 mm
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews