Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chaka the Innovator
Chaka Khan is a living legend, and very overlooked as a musical icon by the masses. Her music, trends and styles have always been way ahead of her time, so much so that it takes a retrospective view at her albums to appreciate them more. Her music seems never to age, like a vintage wine it gets better as time passes.

This compliation houses the usual big hits...
Published on 25 July 2006 by S. Hacking

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor
Only about the first three tracks are recognisable. Poor selection for a collection.What about all the wonderful tracks she did with Rufus? Not one included. Very dissapointed and its on it's way to the charity shop.
Published 16 months ago by Mrs. A. Matthews


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chaka the Innovator, 25 July 2006
By 
S. Hacking (Watford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chaka Khan - The Platinum Collection (International Release) (Audio CD)
Chaka Khan is a living legend, and very overlooked as a musical icon by the masses. Her music, trends and styles have always been way ahead of her time, so much so that it takes a retrospective view at her albums to appreciate them more. Her music seems never to age, like a vintage wine it gets better as time passes.

This compliation houses the usual big hits put out on previous compilations from WB, Ain't Nobody, I Feel For You and I'm Every Woman, and also this time some more overlooked in the past, from her 1986 "Destiny" project (Love of a Lifetime), a couple of favourites from the "I Feel For You" album (This Is My Night, Eye to Eye), and most notably selections from her much under-publicised (at the time) 1992 "The Woman I Am" project (Love You All My Lifetime, Don't Look At Me That Way).

All in all, a great compilation and a better one than the twice released "Epiphany/Best of Chaka Khan" (they had identical track listings!) and a nice way of introducing Chaka's back-catalogue to people who don't know her for any other tracks than her 3 biggest hits.

Chaka is currently working on a brand new project, with a new record label, with producers such as Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, to be released later on this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She Is Somebody, 7 Dec. 2007
By 
N. P. Thornton (Runcorn) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chaka Khan - The Platinum Collection (International Release) (Audio CD)
Chaka Khan was at her height between 1978 - 1985 in the UK, during that period she had 4 top twenty hits. Her first hit was the disco smash I,m Every Woman which charted at #11. Discotheques across the land could be heard playing this track with its orchestrial influence. Strangely enough when remixed and re-released it reached #8. Her #1 hit I Feel For You plus Remix versions of This Is My Night #14 and Eye To Eye #16 a full eight and a half minutes worth are also here. Yvette Marie Stevens to give her her maiden name started out with the 1970,s funk band Rufus and included on this cd is my personal favourite Aint Nobody which i had on 12inch vinyl way back in 1983. The rest of the album contains 4 lesser hits in the UK from later albums but if you want to check out the artist to date try her 2007 Cd Funk This which has just given her highest Billboard chart position since 1978. How many artists will do that 29 years later with a new album. Chaka #12 1978, Funk This #15 2007 Aint nobody does it better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say, 5 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chaka Khan - The Platinum Collection (International Release) (Audio CD)
Best compilation. Reminds me of when I was in secondary school. Love Chaka Khan. Her music is timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's still got it!!, 3 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: Chaka Khan - The Platinum Collection (International Release) (Audio CD)
I'd forgotten just how good Chaka Khan is until I listened to this album. She's still got what it takes and her voice is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chaka Khna Platinum, 20 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Chaka Khan - The Platinum Collection (International Release) (Audio CD)
A timeless album that brings back many of memories for those who were luck enough to experience the 80s. Chaka khan has a unique voice and in my opinion is musically gifted to entice you with her songs. All of her songs on this album are different with a unique message to the listener. Chaka Khan sings with genuine emotion, expression and clarity that allows the audience to truly connect with her and relate to the lyrics of her songs. That is why I believe her music forms apart of many people's memories and she is renowned throughout the world. This is definitely a classic album to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 18 Oct. 2013
By 
Mrs. A. Matthews "Mynd" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chaka Khan - The Platinum Collection (International Release) (Audio CD)
Only about the first three tracks are recognisable. Poor selection for a collection.What about all the wonderful tracks she did with Rufus? Not one included. Very dissapointed and its on it's way to the charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chaka Khan - Platinum collection, 26 Feb. 2012
By 
Jo-Jo "Joey B" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chaka Khan - The Platinum Collection (International Release) (Audio CD)
An Epic CD by Chaka Khan - The Platinum Collection. This CD has all the greatest tracks that we have all grown to love, a must for all Chaka Khan lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality!!, 10 Oct. 2014
By 
JONATHAN COOPER (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chaka Khan - The Platinum Collection (International Release) (Audio CD)
Quality music. It won't be to everyone's tastes. Her voice is excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor, 4 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Chaka Khan - The Platinum Collection (International Release) (Audio CD)
Platinum price looks good but remixes ruin the cd and are not exactly what you want with a best of collection, go for the original even if it's more expensive. You may have to download the songs you actually want to hear anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chaka Khan - The Platinum Collection (International Release) (Audio CD)
zoverstocks 5 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews