Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect summer companion
This compilation is just about as good as it gets. 3 CDs packed full with great tunes, starting more laid back, loungy, then growing into a blasting display of funky house, and finally moving on to some great classics of yesteryear. After the very good "Tokyo Disco", Mark Doyle once again proves why he is the master, and this is up to par with the wonderful Beach House...
Published on 3 Sep 2006 by Luiz P. R. Parreiras

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly good, but some very poor inclusions - and it's not very beachy
Beach Angel is the second compilation from Fierce Angel, and the third compilation from Mark Doyle since he left Hed Kandi. Unlike previous offerings, this is unmixed - strangely, the cover doesn't mention this. "Tokyo Disco" was mixed, as was "Tokyo Project: The Collection" - so why isn't this?

Anyway, a minor point. Onto the music.

CD 1 - Full...
Published on 6 July 2006 by Ben Barden


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect summer companion, 3 Sep 2006
This review is from: Beach Angel 2006 (Audio CD)
This compilation is just about as good as it gets. 3 CDs packed full with great tunes, starting more laid back, loungy, then growing into a blasting display of funky house, and finally moving on to some great classics of yesteryear. After the very good "Tokyo Disco", Mark Doyle once again proves why he is the master, and this is up to par with the wonderful Beach House 04.04 and 04.03 (I didn't really like BH 04.05 which I thought was a bit of a filler, too loungy and without the typical Doyle edge).

It is rather funny, but I think CD1 is the weaker of the bunch. There are quite a few good tunes here, don't be mistaken. This is music to listen in a sunny morning, when you're starting to sip margaritas and when the sun is shining brightest. My favorites are "One True Love" and "Always by my side", mainly because I love the vocals on both tracks and also because Eric Kupper is the master at making it sound oh-so-groovy. "This Way", "Turning", "Bonafide" and "Don't Let Love Weigh you Down" are also top-notch tracks. The others are ok, not amazing. I'd say this is a 4-star CD. Someone here said "consistent". I agree as this is a very tight group of tracks...

CD 2 is the one. As Mark writes on the sleeve: "takes the tempo up a notch as the third cocktail works its way into the bloodstream". Dab Hands' track is really cool and reminds me a lot of the atmosphere on Fatboy Slim's famous Brighton Beach set, which I love. Deepsky's "Ghost" might be my favorite tune in the whole box, a mellow groover with beautiful vocals and feel. It is followed by Andy Caldwell's "Brand New Day" which is no less amazing, once again great vocals and nice grooving bassline. The presence of "Sean" here puts me off though - it is also on Beach House 04.05 (an year-old record!) and on Mark's Tokyo Project CD1...come on, it is a good track but how many times do I have to buy it? The outputs of The Cuban Brothers and Mr. Grooves & Vergas are rather average for my taste, and then Ian Pooley has a track with nice vocals, followed by a massive tune by Peyton together with Eric Kupper - Peyton hardly ever gets it wrong, especially with Kupper's pianos! The last three tracks on the CD are all really good, "Back to Me" a solid mellow groover, "Changes" and "Devotion" showing the full range of Seamus Haji's skills, with this mix of "Devotion" being way better than the one found on Stereo Sushi 8. All in all, a very good disc, with just a few glitches. This is the one to put on when things start to move in the afternoon and the ladies want to dance...

CD 3 is a very good mix of Mark's former achievements. Being a fan of the Beach House series, I own every one of these tracks, but it is a pleasure to listen to them one more time, in a very thoughtful sequence. The only one I'm not really keen on here is "Flower Power", but that's just me - I find it dull and repetitive. My favorites are the great "Ever After" (Bonnie Bailey is something else), "Never" by Ray Roc with the great bassline and gorgeous vocals, the very funky and soulful "Back Together" and the amazingly beautiful "Central Reservation" by Beth Orton. If there were 6 stars, i'd give this CD all of them. If you want to know what the summer feels like, this is the disc...

overall a very good output by the Fierce Angels, as my title says, this is a perfect companion for a hot summer. Mark seems to have found his rhythm and groove once again, let's hope he keeps going like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funky chilled out summer sounds, 26 Mar 2007
By 
E. ATKINSON "emma" (newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beach Angel 2006 (Audio CD)
I've been well and truly converted to the more softer, chilled out side of house music with this album. After getting fierce angel and loving practically every track i thought i'd give this one a try and i'm glad i did as the mellow feel is enough to relax even the most uptight people. Normally i'm put of beach style albums as i feel they are slightly monotonous and not easy to distinguish but beach angel has a slightly funkier edge to make it perfect summer listening.

Faves- we've got love, u make me happy, dont let love weigh you down and falling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beach Angel 2006 (Audio CD)
Great to work out to, quite a soulful journey type of music, fun upbeat songs, my favourite CD to run too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ibiza on your doorstep, 28 Aug 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beach Angel 2006 (Audio CD)
Fab collection again by Mr Doyle, I have yet to pick up Tokyo Disco but on it's way..was really disappointed by Fierce Disco ( fans of twisted disco may like it more ), although digital Angel is ace...This is more my scene as I loved Beach Kandi and Disco Kandi..out of the three discs I have to say disc 3 is my fave, even though old tunes but the order and the mixes chosen just flow beautifully from the beginning to end, you don't even have to close your eyes to be transported to the White Isle or sunny climes..Ever After by Bonnie Bailey for me is the stand out track.. why Ms Bailey hasn't had some major chart recognition is beyond me ..maybe she doesn't want to sell out...disc 1 for the beach, I agree is the weaker of the set, although not bad at all..disc 2 more upbeat, disc 3 starts the wind down, with some shake your booty tracks still present..fine work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remarkably Consistent...., 30 July 2006
By 
Scubaboy "sydwal" (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Beach Angel 2006 (Audio CD)
Mark has definitely raised the standard with this excellent compilation. All too often I've found that double or triple CDs have one half of good content and the rest is a disappointment (see Hed Kandi's recent Stereo Sushi 8 and Mark's 'Tokyo Disco' as examples). Here however, the choices are well thought out, even though some tracks, as a previous reviewer suggests, lack that 'beachy' quality - hence the loss of a star.

CD1 (Full Recline) is just that - excellent chill/ poolside choices that get you horizontally un-motivated and thoroughly wound-down yet hold the interest. CD2 (Upright) perhaps contains the most surprising tracks on a 'beach' CD as they are almost all up-tempo dance tunes - Dab Hands' excellent 'Do Your Own Thing' being an example. But the music is uniformally good - no doubt about it. 'Sean' makes a welcome return and is one of the few little cheats that Mark gets away with, as almost all of this stuff is new (to my ears anyway). Lastly, CD3 (Back To The Beach) contains classics from the past - although even then I bet there are plenty of tracks that even the connoisseur hasn't got in his / her collection. All quality - all very listenable and pleasing on the ear.

So refreshing at long last to find this level of consistency over 3 albums. Says it all when I only skip 1 track out of 33 (Track 2 on CD1 as I find it repetitive). Keep it up Mark - but how about being this consistent on your more up-tempo compilations?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its summer again, 12 July 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beach Angel 2006 (Audio CD)
Well Mark Doyle's new Fierce angels brings us their second release "Beach house" er ..oops "Beach Angel" as you all know this is really beach house just its not on hed kandi anymore..i havent heard kandis equivilant yet but i will. This is definately an improvement on the average Tokyo Disco compo which was below par for a mark doyle compo..this is actually one of the better beach releases over the last couple of years. ist 2 cd's are the new tracks and the 3rd old beach tracks mostly taken from previous hed kandi releases. Glad to see your back on track mark..keep em comin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly good, but some very poor inclusions - and it's not very beachy, 6 July 2006
This review is from: Beach Angel 2006 (Audio CD)
Beach Angel is the second compilation from Fierce Angel, and the third compilation from Mark Doyle since he left Hed Kandi. Unlike previous offerings, this is unmixed - strangely, the cover doesn't mention this. "Tokyo Disco" was mixed, as was "Tokyo Project: The Collection" - so why isn't this?

Anyway, a minor point. Onto the music.

CD 1 - Full Recline

Some great tracks here, including Cloud "Turning" (great vocals and piano), Tarot & Marbach feat. Dominique Boy "Freeway" (good vocals and melody, great beach feel), Studio Apartment feat. Stephanie Cooke "One True Love" (great vocals and chords but possibly a bit too long), and Clique feat. Bonnie Bailey "Always By My Side" (excellent vocals, chorus is particularly good).

Marks are lost however due to several rather dull and weak tracks: Afromystic "Miracles", Clique feat. Robina "Some kind of wonderful" and Richard Earnshaw "We've Got Joy" are just not quite what we've come to expect from Doyle. Still, this isn't a bad CD, and the beach theme is maintained throughout.

RATING FOR CD 1: 4/5

CD 2 - Upright

Hmm. This is a difficult disc to review. There are some top tunes here, most notably Dab Hands "Do Your Own Thing", Deepsky feat. Jes "Ghost", and Andy Caldwell "Brand New Day". However, these are not what I'd call beach tracks - they're a disco/trance hybrid. Don't get me wrong, they are well worth a listen - and don't be put off by the mention of trance. They are good. Just not really well suited to this collection.

Unfortunately, things get pretty bad in the middle of the CD. The Cuban Brothers "My Love Is Alive" is annoying and sounds cheap, s does Mr Groove and vergas "U Make Me Happy"; whereas Ian Pooley "Balmes" is terrible. Elsewhere, Aya "Sean" is good - but this was featured on Tokyo Project: The Collection - why the repeat here? Oh well, there aren't many other repeats on these first two CDs, I guess.

RATING FOR CD 2: 3/5

CD3 - Back to the Beach

Unlike the first two discs, this is a collection of Mark's "favourite classic tracks". Nothing new here, so I've considered the disc on the quality of the music rather than whether it's new or not.

Most of the tracks are great: Blue Six "Music & Wine", Flower Power "Flower Power", Kaskade "It's You It's Me", Ray Roc feat. Tina Arena "Never", Bonnie Bailey "Ever After", Beth Orton "Central Reservation"... the list goes on. Utterly fantastic.

The lesser tracks are few and far between: Hardsoul "Back Together" isn't bad but it's a bit cheesey; Petalpusher "Surrender" is background music at best; and Solstice "Lovely" is not overly special. But this third disc is still very good indeed.

RATING FOR CD 3: 5/5

OVERALL: Some absolutely stunning tracks are somewhat spoiled by the inclusion of some absolute stinkers. Often, it's a case of mistaken identity, as some trance and disco tracks are included. Not a true beach collection, although the third disc is excellent. RATING: 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beach House at its best?? Yes and no!, 13 Aug 2006
This review is from: Beach Angel 2006 (Audio CD)
Beach House has always been a favourite of mine, ever since i started listening to Hed Kandi cd's but has this album still got the sun, the sea and the s*x in it???

I feel that to get the full effects of Beach house music you have to be reclined on a sun lounger, with the sun beating down, the sounds of the waves, a drink in hand and a girl sitting on your knee!! Have i had the pleasure of all these whilst listening to these cds??? Sort of... Not been fortunate enough to have the girl yet but that doesn't matter, i'm enjoying this cd too much to be worrying about it!!!

Highlights on Cd1 are "Turning", "Some kind of Wonderful", "Bonafide", "One true love" and "Don't let love weigh you down". All these tunes are essential this year for a relaxing summer.

Cd2 continues to please with "Do your own thing" starting it off well. Other highlights are "Ghost", "Brand new day", "Falling" and "Devotion". Another great tune "Sean" makes another appearance on a Beach House cd and probably should have gone on cd 3 as its quite an old track.

Cd3 is a cd full of previous beach house tracks which have come from old Hed Kandi Beach House cd's which is not a bad thing as ALL of these tracks are big tunes and worthy of being repeated!!!

All in all a pretty good effort. Not the best release but it has given me a nice chilled out summer so far!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beach Angel 2006
Beach Angel 2006 by Beach Angel 2006 (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews