Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as Much Fun as Watching the Movie
It started as a Disney Channel Original Movie. However, "High School Musical" was an instant hit and has become a phenomenon.

I finally gave in a couple weeks ago and watched the movie. I immediately discovered what all the hype is about. It may be cheesy, but it is lots of fun. I just had to get this soundtrack CD.

This is not a musical in the...
Published on 28 Jun 2006 by Mark Baker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
kids love it
Published 2 months ago by Straight to the point


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as Much Fun as Watching the Movie, 28 Jun 2006
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: High School Musical Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
It started as a Disney Channel Original Movie. However, "High School Musical" was an instant hit and has become a phenomenon.

I finally gave in a couple weeks ago and watched the movie. I immediately discovered what all the hype is about. It may be cheesy, but it is lots of fun. I just had to get this soundtrack CD.

This is not a musical in the traditional Broadway sense of the term. Since this was made by Disney, it is teen pop, something that has worked well for the company for several years now. This will limit the appeal to adults, but it explains the love of teens.

Personally, I find it highly addictive and a little embarrassing. I find myself with these songs stuck in my head when I'm not listening to it. When I am listening, I can't help but tap and groove to the beat, which can be just as embarrassing.

While the majority of the songs are teen pop, they do incorporate other styles into the mix. "Get'cha Head in the Game" is a hip hop song complete with basketballs bouncing and shoes squeaking to the beat. "Bop to the Top" has a catchy Salsa rhythm and "What I've Been Looking For" has a 70's feel to it.

"Stick to the Status Quo" is their nod to the traditional Broadway big cast song. It still gets a pop feel and is a great cross between the two styles. This funny song includes the spoken dialog from the movie as some of the students share their secret desires that are not appropriate for their click.

My favorite song on the CD is "When There was Me and You." Vanessa Anne Hudgens truly shines in this ballad singing about the hurt she feels when another character turns his back on her.

And that does bring up a great thing. All the vocal work here is top notch. Even with the wide range of styles covered, the actors cover it all without missing a beat.

Naturally, this CD will most appeal to fans of the musical. It captures the fun of the movie when you can't watch it and is the perfect way to learn all the words so you can sing along next time you watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars track repitition, 8 Jan 2007
By 
A. Whittaker (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High School Musical Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
i just thought i'd write a very quick note with regard to the apparent repitition of several tracks on the track listing...(i know that someone else was asking about this in their review). it puzzled me as well at first, but having now given in and bought the cd, it all becomes clear.

track 11 is the same song as that of track 2 but performed by 'B5'...i have no idea whether this is an artist/band...never heard of him/her/them before.

tracks 12 and 13 are the karaoke instrumental versions of tracks 1 and 8. these are probably the most popular of the songs from the movie...two duets sang by the main two characters, troy and gabriella...the ones that every little girl is going to want to sing along to! i do think that it's a bit cheeky trying to make the cd last longer by adding instrumental versions, but if any soundtrack can get away with it...it's this one! kids are gonna want to sing along!

and tracks 3 and 4 are again the same song...infact just the same words really...two very different musical arrangements and two different sets of singers. the first performed by characters sharpay and ryan (an upbeat, quick, very cheesy version), and then a shortened version performed by troy and gabriela (a heartfelt ballad). both of these are direct from the movie.

hope that helps if you were wondering like i was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great start to this wonderful sequel!, 13 Aug 2007
By 
InsideMyVelvetRope (The United States of England. Yeeeeah. \m/) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High School Musical Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Original premiered in American in January 2006, the first version of High School Musical made its way to UK TV screens in mid to late 2006, and boy was it hyped! People were going crazy about it, and it would soon prove to be the start of a so far brilliant sequel.

1/ Start Of Something New/ 3:16
The opening song, and one of the best known. Performed by the wonderful Gabriella and Troy, Start of Something New is an awesome ballad basically about love or friendship. But you've heard it anyway.

2/ Get'cha Head In The Game/ 2:27
Performed by Troy, despite its hype and popularity, this is actually one of my least favourites, but it's incredibly catchy and still loveable.

3/ What I've Been Looking For/ 2:03 & 4/ What I've Been Looking For (Reprise)/ 1:19
The former, performed by Ryan and Sharpay; my second favourite on the set. A wonderful, catchy sing-a-long tune and you'll find yourself tipping your toes to. The latter is the same track performed in ballad form by Troy & Gabrielle, though the full song is not used. My least favourite out of the two.

5/ Stick To The Status Quo/ 4:28
Yet again one of the more popular songs. This was not released as a single, yet still managed to enter the UK Top 75 on downloads alone due to its insane popularity. It's the only album track on the set to have achieved this.

6/ When There Was Me & You/ 3:00
This seems to be one of the most hated songs on the soundtrack with critics and even fans alike, yet I don't understand it because Gabriella's vocals are absolutely astounding.

7/ Bop To The Top/ 1:47
Ryan and Sharpay's second song on the album, and my favourite. Awesome song.

8/ Breaking Free/ 3:27
The first single from the set and the one that got everyone going crazy about the soundtrack. This started off as my favourite song on the set, but as I got to learn other songs I quickly grew tired of it. Performed by Gabriella and Troy, it's still an appaulsable track.

9/ We're All In This Together/ 3:51
The final track used in the actual film and the 'party' song of the album. Great closure to the film.

10/ I Can't Take My Eyes Off You/ 2:51
Despite not being used in the film, this is still a favourite of mine.

11/ Get'cha Head In The Game (Performed by B5)/ 2:45
The instrumentation is a little different from the original performed by Troy, noticably the introduction. I find the song on the whole a little pointless, I don't think it should be included.

12/ Start Of Something New (Karaoke)/ 3:20 & 13/ Breaking Free (Karaoke)/3:26
Title says it all.

Overall, although as not as good as the follow-up, High School Musical 2, this is still one hell of a soundtrack and I advise you buy the film along with this. Originally sparking controversy when critics found out Zac Efron (Troy) was not actually singing (the high notes on his parts are performed by Canadian singer-songwriter and actor Drew Seeley), Zac would go on to use his own - improved and excellent - vocals in the second soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great soundtrack!, 2 Jan 2007
This review is from: High School Musical Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I had been getting mixed responses from friends who had seen the film but when i decided to watch it, i loved every part of it! I immediately had to go out and buy the soundtrack which is such fun to listen to! I am 14 and i think people around my age group will love the soundtrack because it has such enthusiasm, but i don't think the music will be appropriate for adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FOR KIDS not for adults, 2 Aug 2007
This review is from: High School Musical Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Get over being miserable! There's a lot of feel good tunes on this album! Toe tapping and enjoyable tracks. The film is quite witty and makes me quite pleased that there is finally something available for kids that doesn't invovle any competitiveness about being better than anyone, looking better than anyone - the songs are encouraging and have a background theme of working together. No swearing - no innuendo's nothing that could be considered a bit dubious. I did hesitate buying this for my 7 year old because of it being High School - but it's so good and teaches a very good lesson about teamwork! I'm afraid that reviewers like Mrs Doorly need to get a life! This is a fantastic album - SUNG BY KIDS FOR KIDS! It's not a talent quest nor is it aimed at impressing the grumps. It's the new 'Grease' cleaned up and done very well so! It's a feel good soundtrack and all adults I know say their kids (7-12 yrs) LOVE this album! Admittedly, I prefer other music, but - this wasn't targeted at me - it was targeted at the age range that actually admit to loving it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd my daughter loves it., 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High School Musical Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Great cd great songs my daughter an avid hsm fan doesn't stop listening to it and knows lots of the words. Great price a must for any hsm fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feel good sing along, 23 Mar 2013
By 
B. E. Scott-morris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High School Musical Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
If you like the movie and a good sing along this is the cd for you! Arrived in good time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High School Musical Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Bought for daughter who has played it non stop. Took a long time to come although posted by Royal Mail?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!, 17 July 2006
By 
This review is from: High School Musical Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This CD captures the fun of the movie, without seeing it! I loved the movie, and the soundtrack is just as good!! It is also at a good price, so everyone can afford it. The DVD price was a bit too much, but the sountrack blanced it out.

The CD even has a song that they didn't use in the movie!! It is a great soundtrack, and everyone will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rainy day + High School Musical = Sunny day, 26 Sep 2006
By 
Sim (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High School Musical Original Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Have you ever felt life is getting you down? Like you need something to cheer you up and get you going? This is the album for that. Feel good easy listening pure disney class. Your never to old or too cool to enjoy fun music that makes you think, yeh life isnt too bad!

Rainy day + High School Musical = Sunny day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High School Musical Original Soundtrack
High School Musical Original Soundtrack by High School Musical (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews