Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forensics
The Bone Collector is fast-paced and jerky, with very few plot holes. Angelina Jolie once again displays her beautiful acting talents as the fiesty Amelia. She carries off Amelia's brave but scared attitude as a forensic rookie well, and her use of inflection, movements and faciel expression to display her fear and determination is incredibly realsitic. Denzil...
Published on 18 Oct. 2002

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Denzil can act with his eyebrows
Judging from the dark cover of the dvd this is similar in it's bleak subject matter to Fallen [DVD] [1998],made a year earlier.
And it's just as good without the supernatural aspect.
Again Washington demonstrates that he has PRESENCE,playing a paraplegic detective confined to a bed and only able to use his mind,eyes and one finger(to manipulate software) to...
Published 16 months ago by robert stirling


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Denzil can act with his eyebrows, 21 Sept. 2013
By 
robert stirling (tarn,s.w.france) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bone Collector [DVD] (DVD)
Judging from the dark cover of the dvd this is similar in it's bleak subject matter to Fallen [DVD] [1998],made a year earlier.
And it's just as good without the supernatural aspect.
Again Washington demonstrates that he has PRESENCE,playing a paraplegic detective confined to a bed and only able to use his mind,eyes and one finger(to manipulate software) to track a serial killer.
The film is helped by a superb supporting cast,including a surprisingly good performance by Jolie who almost steals the acting honours(for a change).
The plot doesn't insult the viewers intelligence and as the story unfolds we are treated to an exciting manhunt and climax,with a twist that few of us could have seen coming.
Entertaining and worth a watch or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forensics, 18 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
The Bone Collector is fast-paced and jerky, with very few plot holes. Angelina Jolie once again displays her beautiful acting talents as the fiesty Amelia. She carries off Amelia's brave but scared attitude as a forensic rookie well, and her use of inflection, movements and faciel expression to display her fear and determination is incredibly realsitic. Denzil Washington is his usual masterful self, once again proving that he is among the elite of black actors, and actors in general. The other characters are well-cast and well-played. The special effects (i.e. the corpses) are realistic and grusomely effective, and the music lends so much atmosphere to the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Collects the interest, but loses it, 11 May 2004
By A Customer
Lincoln Rhimes (Washington) is a paralysed forensics expert who has to make do with just being able to move his head and one finger. His loving nurse, Velma (Latifah) is always in deathly fear of him having a seizure that would leave him a vegetable. Lincoln is just trying to get on with his life, but, when a serial killer leaves a clue to his next victim, Rhimes is quick to jump at the case.
The killer always seems to be one step ahead of the Rhimes and his partner Amelia (Jolie) and gets to his next victim before they find the previous one. The tension and pressure are kept high until the final 40 minutes where the film starts to drag and discentegrate into a meaningless world of confusing ideas. Overall, phillip Noyce has come up with a very good film that is entertaining for a saturday night, not a film for the faint hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic film, 12 May 2009
By 
A classic film made even better by the inhanced imaging and sound quality of blueray, a must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It isn't Se7en, but then it isn't supposed to be..., 8 July 2001
By A Customer
This is a superior thriller chiefly because it is unconventional - the crimes themselves are not the main focus of the story. They are, in a sense, the McGuffin that explains how the two main characters are brought together for a human story. Due to this the film does suffer in comparison to the recent classics of it's supposed genre...but you would have to a long, long way to surpass Se7en or Silence of the Lambs - and wisely perhaps the emphasis in the film isn't on that aspect. Washington and Jolie perform admirably - as you expect of them - and the lack of chemistry that is referred to in some reviews was not apparent to me. Surely the point of the human story is that he is trying to make her more than she thinks she can be - and for a good part of the film she resists that - resists being made into a version of him. The point was not to make the viewer believe that there was a sexual chemistry - at least for me - so I was not upset by the seeming lack of this. Amelia is fascintaed with Ryhmes - not falling in love with him. The supporting cast are of a high quality and if I had to quibble with the film I would argue that the final scene is a smaltzy hollywood cop-out.
In summary if you approach this film without trying to compare it to Se7en et al, you will get far more out of it. Equally if you have read the book you may be disappointed. I haven't but generally I am disappointed with the filmed versions of 99% of books. Accept that a director has two hours (or less) to play with whilst the narrative of a novel would typically take maybe 3 or 4 hours to screen in full and the diappointment fades. After the heinous sin that was "The Saint" Phillip Noyce produces his best work since Dead Calm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bone collector, 1 July 2001
I had my reservations about this film when it came out but it has a chiilin factor. With this film you jump sometimes as the visual and sound effects joined together send a chill down your spine. The storyline is superb but bits could be better.
All I can say is watch it your selves and see what you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 9 April 2012
By 
Mr. I. R. Fisher "the watcher" (Aberdeen UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this film has cleaned up well after it's upscale to blu ray and also sounds the part. the film it's self is great and keeps me hooked right from that start, some really good performances but still prefer Seven overall in this genre of movie but well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oldies are still good, 19 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone Collector [DVD] (DVD)
its a dvd you can put aside for a while,then watch it again,and still derive a great deal of excitment from it.great acting from denzel washington.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great thriller., 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent film with a rather different storyline. Superb cast, plenty of dialogue and a thoroughly recommended watch. One of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bone collector, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
got on normal dvd and wanted to add to my blue ray collection I thought it was a very good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bone Collector [HD DVD] [1999] [US Import]
The Bone Collector [HD DVD] [1999] [US Import] by Michael Rooker (HD DVD - 2006)
£11.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews