Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars psychedelic
Perhaps one of my favourite Cure albums this, though essentially a solo effort from Robert Smith who at the time was teetering on the edge of thoroughly exhausted madness. It's kind of echoed in the music too, which at times displays Smith's more memorable and quirky song writing sensibilities, but at the same time is rather dark, twisted and schizophrenic. I guess this...
Published on 21 Aug 2006 by Mr. D. R. Hartley

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Smith solo album to bridge a gap.....
This is almost not a Cure album in the sense that Robert Smith plays all the guitars and bass and 99% of the keyboards (according to the Lol Tolhurst VS The Cure royalties court case which Tolhurst lost because the judge agreed he had contributed basically nothing after giving up drums to become the bands "keyboard player").
The only other musicians to appear are...
Published on 31 Dec 2003 by crazeetaxi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the last big cure album, 27 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Top (Audio CD)
this is the last great album of the cure and definetely one of the strongest: obviously fueled by magig mushrooms and acid, this work keeps the tension of its predecessors but brings in new melodies and colours: "shake dog shake", "wailing wall", dressing up", "bananafishbones", "piggy in tha mirror" are great and magic tunes, and the cures swansong "the top" for me even beats the crowd-pleaser "a forest" by miles. everything that followed was just ridiculous in comparision.
buy it, it answers prayers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars marcelius, 22 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Top (Audio CD)
The CD is the top, where noboby comes, you just imagine it all.
What a fantasic album featuring great songs like Piggy in the mirror, Dressing up and birdmad girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Cure's acid album., 15 Mar 2003
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Top (Audio CD)
The Top is probably one of the worst Cure albums- though that title goes to 1996's Wild Mood Swings; it is by no means awful & has many Cure classics but it feels somewhat fried...Perhaps this was due to Smith's extra-curricular activity, since the Cure's implosion in 1982 (which saw the classic Smith-Gallup-Tolhurst lineup fall apart post-Pornography), Robert Smith had joined Siouxsie & the Banshees, released several great pop singles as a rejuvinated Cure (The Walk, The Lovecats), co-written Torment with Steve Severin for Marc & the Mambas and formed another splinter group, The Glove, with Severin.
Thus The Top feels slightly unfocused & extremely unhinged- if you take The Glove's Blue Sunshine, The Banshees' Hyaena & this you have more good than bad.
The Top opens with Shake Dog Shake, a song they still perform to this day & one that extends on the hallucinatory violence of 82's masterpiece Pornography.
The attempts at pop flitter between genius: Dressing Up, The Caterpillar, Piggy in the Mirror (which continued the direction set by The Lovecats and predict later songs such as 6 Different Ways, Like Cockatoos & The 13th) & odd songs like Birdmad Girl & Bananfishbones that only half come off.
Wailing Wall is a sub-Banshees dirge, 87's Snakepit would do this thing with much more focus; while Give Me It is a terrible metal thrash.
The Empty World remains me a little of Julian Cope's equally fried Fried (also 1984) as does closer The Top- childhood & hallucninations appear to permeate.
The Top does contain some classics & it is tinged with LSD-inflected abandon- things would improve the following year when the classic Smith-Tolhurst-Thompson-Gallup-Williams line-up would record The Head on the Door which set the mould for the subsequent Kiss Me, Disintergration & Wish albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Cure - The Top (Deluxe Edition), 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
This CD is the first half of the 80s, is not among the best of the band but also not bad. He does not compromise. Worth a lot to those who are fans and want to complete the discography. There was a hit at the time, with the best works of this period banda. The disc 2 are leftovers and were edited for the fans, not bringing anything interesting to anyone who does not want to risk it. It is a work median. Note 6.0 is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Cure album ever!!, 30 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Top (Audio CD)
This is the real thing, this is a true classic. The Best album of the eighties. And by far the best Cure album! Beautifully complex and Colourful, Dark and sweet. Amazing lyrics and music, more honest and thorough then any Smiths or any crap new British band!
Ignore all the others their just kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Individual songs are decent but a bit tiresome in one sitting, 21 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Top (Audio CD)
It's a decent enough 40 minute album but not one that I would plan to re-listen to more than a handful of times. I find it to be a bit tiresome to listen to in one sitting as The Cure are not masters of variety. I would also say that the album is less than the sum of its parts.

1. "Shake Dog Shake" - 4:55 (3 stars)
Solid but unremarkable rock song. Doesn't have anything to say but sounds good.

2. "Birdmad Girl" - 4:05 (4 stars)
Quite poppy without sounding like an out and out pop song. Very clean and clear with lots of space in the mix. Decent lyrics about being a polar bear.

3. "Wailing Wall" - 5:17 (3 stars)
Lots of odd noises and Arabian sounding parts. Lyrically a bit different to the usual as it's about a place and not an emotional state.

4. Give Me It" - 3:42 (3 stars)
A straightforward generic rock song.

5. "Dressing Up" - 2:51 (2 stars)
Too mid-tempo and similar sounding to the following song. Very short and doesn't go anywhere.

6. "The Caterpillar" - 3:40 (5 stars)
Excellent song and was released as a single. It's missing from the Greatest Hits CD where it would fit like a glove (perhaps it didn't chart high enough for inclusion). Very melodic pop song with nice "Ho, ho, ho" backing vocals.

7. "Piggy in the Mirror" - 3:40 (3 stars)
Pleasant song that doesn't amount to much. Not much more than filler.

8. "The Empty World" - 2:36 (2 stars)
Flute (?) dominates and is solely responsible for the melody. Doesn't have much of an ending.

9. "Bananafishbones" - 3:12 (3 stars)
Seems to have lots of keyboard stuff going on. Odd sounding song, as though it's a bit out of whack. The lyrics are difficult to make out.

10. "The Top" - 6:58 (3 stars)
Solid song with clear vocals. The spare music has a lot of tension in it. I want to like this song a lot more than I do but it doesn't go anywhere. It never shifts up a gear and rocks out like it feels it should. It also feels like an overlong track.

I like to make EP playlists out of albums on my iPod. Tracks 1, 2, 3 and 6 made the cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit like Prince. No, really!, 17 Jun 2007
By 
K. K. Jakubczyk "Sofa King" (Subversive Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Top - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
For my money the Cure have always been an eclectic bunch of popsters. This album is a fine case in point.

Way back in the 80's (when eclecticism was acceptable) I played this record to a friend, who promptly said that the album was all-over the place stylistically. From that point the pathway to Minniappolis' favourite is clearly defined.

As a record, "The Top" has, from the day of purchase, held a special place in my heart. It shifts from references of Polar Bears (my most favourite animal), to dogs, cats, pigs and rather wild party antics. The eponymous closing track, 'Piggy in the mirror', 'Shake dog, shake' and 'Give me it' remain favourites over twenty years later.

This isn't the Cure at their best (hence only three stars) but it does provide a very valuable link between "Pornography" and "Head on the door". If you're new to the Cure buy the recordings either side of "The Top" (I exclude "Japanese whispers" purposefully) first but please, do buy "The Top", especially if you like Prince.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Top - Deluxe Edition
The Top - Deluxe Edition by The Cure (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews