Customer Reviews


229 Reviews
5 star:
 (138)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "In L.A., nobody touches you."
The movie is set in Los Angeles over a two-day period and follows several unrelated characters as they come to terms with racial prejudice and crime. Some stories eventually overlap; others do not. The characters are presented honestly with all their flaws and a few redeeming qualities. The large ensemble cast is excellent; standouts are Don Cheadle as an honest police...
Published on 26 April 2006 by Kona

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keeping it real?
The thing that struck me was how brave it was that a Hollywood movie should tackle the theme of race relations. Very laudable and perhaps even shocking - there are too few films that confront this social issue. The issue is illuminated by a host of fine performances and tightly plotted script (that works very hard to appear loosely structured and realistic)...
Published on 19 Mar 2008 by customer


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "In L.A., nobody touches you.", 26 April 2006
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crash [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
The movie is set in Los Angeles over a two-day period and follows several unrelated characters as they come to terms with racial prejudice and crime. Some stories eventually overlap; others do not. The characters are presented honestly with all their flaws and a few redeeming qualities. The large ensemble cast is excellent; standouts are Don Cheadle as an honest police detective who has problems at home and at work, Sandra Bullock and Brendan Fraser as a wealthy couple who are carjacked, Matt Dillon as a racist cop who takes care of his ailing father, Terrence Howard as a TV director whose wife Thandie Newton is the victim of abuse, and Shaun Toub as a Persian shop who takes revenge into his own hands.

Although each scene is only a few minutes long and we quickly move to another vignette, the writing is so good that we really come to know and care about the characters. Just when I thought I knew what would happen next, I was surprised, and the whole film was riveting. The plot and dialogue are completely real; there's a constant feeling of tension and isolation, and an unusual and calming soundtrack ties everything together. I didn't expect to like this movie, but I did. It paints a grim picture of Los Angelinos, but it's so well written and the acting is so good that I found it very satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...It's A Really Good Cloak..." - Crash on BLU RAY, 28 April 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crash [Blu-ray] [2004] (Blu-ray)
A Persian father is booted out of a gun store in Los Angeles because of a verbal battle with the white all-American shop owner about Bin Laden and 9/11. Farad (played to a tee by the brilliant Shaun Toub) simply wants to defend his small general store against further racial attacks and thieves. His beautiful and sophisticated daughter Darii (played by Bahar Soomekh) steps up the counter to defend her rattled father. She demands bullets for the gun she is going to buy for him and randomly asks for the 'red box' behind him. But the shop owner (a fantastic Jack McGee of "Rescue Me") doesn't tell Darii how much 'bang' for your bucks the red ones give. And so a sequence of events begins that will eventually see a child in the arms of her Latino father with his face contorted in agony as he holds her limp body to his chest...

Interlocking something like nine different stories into one cohesive unit and then trying to deal with the explosive subject of racism within 'everybody' was always going to be a tall order. So why did Don Cheadle and all the other Hollywood big names believe in it so? Ten minutes into 2004's "Crash" and the answer is obvious - the simply stunning script Director Paul Haggis co-wrote with Bobby Moresco.

The dialogue comes at you with a ferocity and brilliance that is in your face in every angry and difficult scene - yet it's also loaded with subtle undercurrents of truth about how people really are - and what they really think - on all sides. No one in this movie is clean or perfect or even wrong - most are just good people placed into a cauldron that all too often pushes them to make presumptions and take sides - glaring suspiciously at people from different ethnicities from behind the safety of their metal and glass - voyeurs in a city where no one walks and very few touch each other...

Brendan Fraser and Sandra Bullock play the District Attorney and his wife - a wealthy woman who wakes up angry every day and doesn't know why anymore (both give blistering performances). Their Lincoln Continental is boosted one night on the Strip by two mouthy black youths constantly arguing about colour and its place in the community (stunning work from Ludacris and Larenze Tate). The DA calls in his assistant to handle the political fall out ("Either I lose the black vote or I'm perceived as soft on crime..."). But when the blabbering duo run over a Chinaman standing by the door of his locked van because they're not paying attention - it sets in motion a chain of events that will eventually bring one of them back to the van to look at the human cargo chained to the floor in the back...

Later that night the corruption-free Detective Graham Waters (a hugely affecting Don Cheadle) is called upon to check on a homicide - the body of a black boy dumped in the grassy scrubs overlooking Hollywood. As he exits his car Graham sighs at his mixed race lover and homicide assistant Ria (fabulous work by Jennifer Esposito) engages in a slagging match with an arrogant Chinese woman who's crashed her car recklessly into the back of someone else ("Maybe your 'blake' lights are broken!" Ria shouts at her - racially mimicking her bad diction). All this and Graham's mother (Beverly Todd) is never too far away from a needle and his brother AWOL somewhere in the City Of Angels with two strikes and a third warrant that will jail him for 20 years. Also on his mind is an adjacent case of a white cop with a history of shooting black men and getting away with it - the trigger-happy William Lewis found with $300,000 hidden in a tyre in his trunk. But then back at the scene on the hillside - Detective Graham Waters freezes as he recognizes something about the bloodied body...

Earlier that day Officer John Ryan and his rookie partner (Matt Dillon and Ryan Phillippe) enter their squad car for another weary round of confrontations. A 17-year veteran of the city beat - John Ryan appears to be a racist cop who can't get a break for his aging father whose living with him - Dad battling a urinary tract infection that makes his nights a draining physical agony. His younger more idealistic partner despises Ryan's remarks and abuse of power - none more so - than when they stop a well-to-do Black TV Director and his beautiful wife (Terence Howard and Thandie Newton as Cameron and Christine Thayer) on Ventura Boulevard driving a car that is similar to the one reported as stolen from the white DA. There ensues a hands-on search that sees Ryan become far too friendly with what's beneath Christine's cocktail dress. She cringes as her black husband apologises and appeases the wholly unnecessary humiliation. They scream at each other at home and he boils inside on set - as everything seems to be bringing out the street thug in him that he left behind decades ago...

A Latino father (Michael Pena) who works as a Locksmith tries to comfort his 5-year old daughter Lara who is hiding under her bed because of bang-sounds she heard in the darkness outside. He tells her that they moved to this better neighbourhood to get away from those bullet-things - and better still - Dad has a magical cloak given to him by a fairy when he was a child that he must now pass on to her. Its 'impenetrable' Dad tells her - she smiles as he clips it around her. Lara will use it later (dialogue above) to jump in the path of a bullet when Farad uses his gun in a moment of madness - having found a receipt in a dumpster for the Latino man he believes cheated him by not fixing his lock properly...

The cast is magnificent - especially the women - both Bullock and Newton going to places they found horrible and unsettling. Loretta Devine, Nona Gaye, Karina Arroyave, Marina Sirtis, Beverly Todd, Alexis Rhee and Ashlyn Sanchez as Lara - they are all 'so' good.

I wish I could say the BLU RAY print is a marvel - far from it. The Director and DOP decided on hand-held shots a lot of the time to give vibrancy and capture the differing shades of Los Angeles. And as a lot of the scenes are either at night or in the enclosed spaces of homes - the grain is terrible. When it gets to the daylight and open surroundings - it looks gorgeous - but that's only every now and then. Having said that - this is not a film where you're looking for visual perfection - it has you too riveted for that.

Audio is 5.1 Dolby Digital, DTS-HD Master Audio 6.1 and Subtitles are English For The Hard Of Hearing. Extras include a feature-length commentary by Director Paul Haggis, Don Cheadle and Bobby Moresco, Deleted Scenes and three featurettes - "Behind The Metal And Glass - Making of Crash", "L.A. - The Other Main Character" and "Unspoken". The extras show how Don Cheadle's initial interest and standing in the acting community brought such A-Listers on board - it also features detailed discussion on characters and the difficulties in the script by Producer Cathy Schulman. Mark Isham also compliments the movie with a wonderful score and it's dedicated to Anita Addison - a TV and Film Producer and Lifelong Friend of Paul Haggis who died in 2004.

There are exchanges between characters in "Crash" that are so cutting edge and bristling with rage and anger - that it's sometimes a hugely uncomfortable watch - and that is part of the point. It isn't perfect by any means - some of it feels a bit too preachy - and after all the preceding excellence - I felt it ended rather poorly. But there is also humanity and redemption - the scene where Matt Dillon pulls Thandie Newton from an upturned burning car is one of the most charged and yet tender I have ever seen (career bests for both).

Winner of Three Academy Awards including Best Picture - "Crash" is properly great filmmaking.

"How far can bullets go?" 5-year old Lara asks her father. Watch "Crash" and find out why we must daily challenge the need for bullets at all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you either "GET IT" or you dont, 22 Mar 2006
This review is from: Crash [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
The whole point of this film is that it examines extremes of prejudice in all their forms. If that means it delivers its message with a sledge hammer then that is what the makers intended! It is a film about choices some of which appear good and some bad, but by the end of the film you are questioning your own morality because all the people you felt sorry for you end up hating and vice versa.
It shows extremes of behaviour and bigotry that you may find distasteful but then it explores the reasons and experiences that have brought those individuals to do the things they have. As other reviewers have said it is difficult to explain without giving away specific plot lines so i agree that this is a film that you must watch and make up your own mind.
As for the reviewers who have criticised the racism and bad language HELLO! this is the real world! if you really think that there are no racists, no people with prejudices and no one who swears in the world, then you obviously dont live on this planet.
This is not a film for the faint hearted or easily offended so be warned, but if you like a challenging subject, and a film that makes you reconsider your own morals and beliefs, whilst treating you as an adult, then this film is for you. Anyone else should pull their curtains, lock their doors and crawl back under their duvet because the real world is obviously not for you.
This is the best film I have seen since hotel rwanda, so please watch this film with an open mind and draw your own conclusions, but for me it is a stunning and thought provoking piece of film making and worthy of 5 stars and a bucket load of oscars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disturbingly good, 16 Mar 2006
By 
L S Randall (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crash [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched Crash with increasingly mixed emotions, the films subject, racial predjudice, is at times uncomfortable to watch. However, as the film progressed, the characters developed, and the image you had of them turned round. Its difficult to review without giving away any of the twists, so my advice is, watch it and be prepared for a bumpy emotional rollercoaster ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern day classic, 1 Nov 2005
By 
Stephen Newton (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An Altmanesque exploration of LA’s clashing sub-cultures that appears to be about race, but is actually much more. People judge each other, live up to their stereotypes (often knowingly), but are occasionally surprised or challenged. Perhaps surprisingly, Crash is never judgemental. It observes rather than lectures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More pluses than minuses, 12 Mar 2008
By 
Titheman (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crash [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
I find some of the other reviews rather harsh, but of course, it's all down to personal preferences...

Whilst I don't disagree with some of the criticisms, I think the pluses outweigh the minuses, as follows:

1. For me Terrence Howard's superb performance as a prosperous black professional driven close to the edge by race-related pressures was sufficient reason alone to make this film worth watching. I found his performance totally believable (although I can't help feeling that in real life his character would have ended up very dead!)

2. Yes, the film (hopefully!) exaggerates the degree to which racism dominates life in L.A. But for me exaggeration is a valid tool to use in the arts to make a point, and overall this film achieved a slick interweaving of several people's lives to maintain pace and interest throughout.

3. I doubt that there have ever been two young hoods who have ever come anywhere close to debating sociological issues like the two in this film, but they were really entertaining!

4. Don Cheadle was, as ever, excellent; other performances, notably Dillon and Phillipe, were also fine. I agree with an earlier reviewer that Sandra Bullock's presence was largely superfluous (still at least she has finally been in a good film!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The most uplifting film about racism, murder and molestation ever made., 7 Nov 2009
By 
Robert Ward - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crash [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Many of the reviews i have read have called this film "dark" and "depressing" i couldnt disagree more. The film does go through some very dark points; the molestation scene, the dead brother, drug adicted mother. Amd the scene where the guy's daughter is "shot" is the most intense thing i ever saw. Even when i was watching it on my own i jumped up and shouted "NO!, oh my god!". But all this depressing home truhs that are given out during the film, that EVERYONE is racist in someway, is dipseeled in the final scene. The fact that the carjacker fress the chinese imigrants, and the nurse crashing into the asian couple just sums everything up. People have tthe ability for good and bad. and just becasue someone maybe racist, or a crinimal, dosent mean they have a bad heart.
My one critism of this film is the fact that the director felt that he had to link all the different storie. Each story is brilliant and dramatic, especially the one between the arab shop keeper and espanic lock smith. But the flimsy ways the story relate just dosent work. The film would have worked better if the stories stayed seprate from each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional Jouney, 12 Jan 2006
This review is from: Crash [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Crash was the best film of 2005 in my opinion. I remember sitting in the cinema mesmerised by what was going on in front of me, it’s now 2006 however, and it is out on DVD, how does it compare?
It compares more than favourably, and the bonus features make it stand out from going to see it on the big screen.
"Crash" is a complex movie with a simple message: set in Los Angeles it follows 8 main characters (and many, many more supporting) from all walks of life and races whose lives intersect at some point during one 24 hour period. These people are all different yet all alienated, to the point of breaking, so much so that when they come together, it all goes off.
The film boasts a host of stars including Brendan Fraser, Sandra Bullock and Don Cheadle and it is a credit to the script that these stars do not up stage any of the other cast neither in performance nor on screen time.
You go through an array of emotions when watching this tale of how people’s actions can have consequences on other people inadvertently. As the title “Crash” suggests, it is a story of how people’s lives collide and how prejudice is still rife in modern day society.
You go through an array of emotions when watching this film; it crashes together a bit of everything, with humour, sadness and action rife throughout this masterpiece, directed by Paul Haggis (writer of hit film “Million Dollar Baby”).
The stand out performance for me is that of Matt Dillon who plays controversial Police Sergeant Jack Ryan, without wishing to give away the story you will start off appalled by his behaviour, but as the film goes on he performs an unlikely heroic act, there is one particular piece of camera work of him pondering his life which sets in stone the main aim of this film, to make the audience think.
I guarantee after watching this film, you will leave pondering over the lives of the characters and possibly even your own life and judgements. I did.
Add to an already superb film a mind blowing, melancholy soundtrack by Mark Isham and for me you have the perfect nights entertainment.
So why not invite some friends over and divulge into what is bound to be one of the best selling DVDs of 2006, a journey you won’t forget.
Quote of the film: “You think you know who you are? You have no idea.”
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Check out that cast!, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crash [Blu-ray] [2004] (Blu-ray)
Every time I watch this film it just keeps making me cry. The acting is first rate. The drama is powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Similar to "Traffic" or "Magnolia" with it's many storylines, 31 May 2011
This review is from: Crash [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film similar to "Traffic" and "Magnolia" in as much as it has separate storylines running alongside each other, clashing at then end. It tells the stories of several different families/individuals living in LA. When I saw that rapper Chris "Ludicris" Bridges has a part in this film my heart sank, another rapper turned movie actor. I was so wrong, he is fantastic in his role as Anthony, a car jacker with a conscience. He won't rob other black people but thinks it perfectly alright to rob white, rich people at gun point. Bridges brings a touch of comedy to the role especially when he acidentally mows down a poor Chinese man. Racial inequality is the background theme to this film and each individual storyline touches on this issue. Matt Dillon is a policeman who oversteps the mark when pulling over a black movie director and his gorgeous wife. Sandra Bullock plays a spoilt housewife who shouts at her maid for not emptying the dishwasher and for taking too long at the grocery story. When she has her locks changed she assumes the locksmith will sell on her key to his "homies" just because he has tatoos. Her husband is the DA who surpresses any news stories that do not suit his agenda. An Iranian family struggle to defend their store against robbers and the father assumes everyone is a "cheater". There is a harrowing scene when Anthony discovers the van he has stolen is full of Cambodians chained to the sides, the going rate for a human being is much less than that for a car. People trafficking isn't a subject I'd see tackled in a film before and it is shocking. The characters in this film are all three-dimensional showing their good and bad sides. My review has made the story seem complicated but it was an engrossing watch. Probably a film you will watch more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crash (2 Disc Directors Cut) [2004] [DVD]
Crash (2 Disc Directors Cut) [2004] [DVD] by Paul Haggis (DVD - 2006)
£2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews