Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great single player, FABULOUS online
whats so good about this game?? Well firstly there is the gameplay. On the PS2 I could never get used to aiming/shooting using the analog sticks - so much so that I would only play games like medal of honor and call of duty on my pc using keyboard and mouse. If you felt the same then this game should be the one to change your mind, as the controls feel just right...
Published on 10 Dec 2006 by rodney trotter

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A free token for a map pack you say........
The copy of Call of Duty 2 GOTY edition I recieved from Amazon.co.uk did not contain a token to download the Skirmish Map pack, which contains 2 maps and costs 400 Microsoft Points without this token. The game I recieved seems to be a later edition of the GOTY version of Call of Duty 2 which for some reason does not include the token, if you look at the product picture...
Published on 27 July 2007 by Mr. Gwyn Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great single player, FABULOUS online, 10 Dec 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
whats so good about this game?? Well firstly there is the gameplay. On the PS2 I could never get used to aiming/shooting using the analog sticks - so much so that I would only play games like medal of honor and call of duty on my pc using keyboard and mouse. If you felt the same then this game should be the one to change your mind, as the controls feel just right.

Graphics are great despite what one or two previous people have previously said - I would strongly suggest they start up their old ps2/xbox using a similar type of game (say medal of honor like I did) it was surprising just how much the graphics have changed!!

Playing online against other xbox live users is simply brilliant. Provided you've got a decent broadband connection, I have found the game works spot on, maintaining smooth graphics and speed of play. Single player offline mode is also excellent with a good variety of tasks to perform!

In summary, if you have liked this type of game in the past (or simply want to try it out) I have full confidence that you will enjoy it.......hope this helps your decision to buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can think of no other word to describe this game other than..., 28 Oct 2006
By 
J. Menham "Gamer 4 lyfe" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
FANTASTIC!!!!!!! Call Of Duty 2 for the xbox 360 is an absolute must have for those who enjoy first-person-shooters. The game is set in the middle of World War 2, and as you play through the game, give you the chance to play as 3 different countries. You play the tutorial and the first three campainges as the Soviet Union, then you play the majority of the game as the English, then you move to play D-day and a few other missions as the Americans. Battle in authentic locations, such as Pointe Du' Hocc and Tunisia, use an arsenal of authentic WW2 guns, including the Russian PPsH and the prototype of the tommy gun.

The graphics are truly fantastic and the gameplay will keep you going for hours. If you find the easy and regular difficulties to easy, then jack it up to hard or veteran to really test your skills, i've completed the game on easy, regular and hard difficulties and i'm having real trouble battling through the veteran levels. If you purchase the game of the year edition, you get a free bonus DVD which contains level walkthroughs commentated by the game desighners thenselfs, as well as a historical account of the battle of Pointe du' Hocc as re-called by a real American war veteran.

They really have squeezed everything they can into this game and with explosive results, cant wait for call of duty 3!

Graphics: 9/10

Longitivity: 7/10

Gamplay: 10/10

AI: 6/10

Controls: 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything is done right in this game, 6 July 2006
By 
Amazonian Native (Amazon Rainforest) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It's not surprising that Call of Duty 2 won countless GOTY awards, it's arguably the best shooter for the X360, and might continue to be so until COD 3 comes out this autumn.

Apart from the wonderful graphics, sound, storyline, gameplay etc, I like the fact there are no health packs in this game, no backtracking to pick them up, and not even a health meter, if you continue to take damage you die, if you get out of fire quickly you get over it, and if you do die there are no restarts putting you 5 mins back, or even needing to load the map again, it automatically puts you back just a short moment before you died, this offers continous gameplay without the drag of replaying old parts, or waiting for the screen and map to load up again, why haven't other developers made their games this way? I believe it's the way to go with all action games of this type, also the game offers more than 3 difficulty levels, another flaw of most other games is that the usual 3 difficulty levels doesn't cater to the variety of skill of the general public.

The GOTY version is value for money, throwing in a DVD of content and a few new maps for multiplayer, a great game that has just given back a little more to the fans, keep up the good work Infinity Ward!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Your Duty To Buy IT, 21 April 2010
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ever played Call Of Duty 4? Enjoyed it? This is the game Infinity Ward made before their masterpiece. It is almost as good.

Set across campaigns in Russia, Africa, Europe etc this is a first person WWII shooter in the COD style. The controls are identical, recoverable health, frequent checkpoints, clear ojectives. Why can't all developers get the message. We want games that are fun to play!

The action is relentless and fast paced. Plenty to do and shoot at. Nice and simple, challenging but not impossible (unless you play on veteran).

When I saw the first cut scene I was disappionted at the graphics but ingame they are very good, this game is about 3 years old. Sound is excellent and gets the atmosphere bang on.

Superb WWII FPS in the same mould as COD4 and MW2. IF you enjoyed these, you will enjoy this unless you want weapons that hold more than 10 bullets in a clip.

: o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy!!, 3 July 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Whilst yet to be released, I own the original and have subsequently paid for and downloaded the extras that you get with this new Game Of The Year edition.

Firstly, I guess I should address the game. Ok, so it's not the longest game in the world but it's a sublime experience along the way.. the graphics are stunning and retain every ounce of detail whether in single player or on / offline multiplayer. The recent update to the XBOX Live experience has made me put Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter back in the box and move back to CoD2.. it's THAT good!

It's a hard game and offers a pretty stiff challenge even at the lower dofficulty settings but it's worth it as theatres of operation change regularly so you get a much wider feel for WWII.

The sound is awesome and flourishes when hooked up to even a 2 speaker setup.. even more special when hooked up to a 5.1 surround system!

Now.. the bits that make this a G.O.T.Y. package.. the new maps. There are some wicked multiplayer maps ranging from rural towns in France to some brilliant city fights in Russia. Some are derived from the great single player campaign levels whereas some are totally new but all require new thought and tactics and breath yet more life in to this storming title!

A must buy, particularly at this price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars to all C.O.D.heads, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
am a great follower of C.O.D.and now have complete set one of the best games ever made.can be played by all ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is Awesome, 3 Jun 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is brilliant, i have played this for many years now and i still love it. I have also played the entire cod series ( 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, MW2, Black ops ) and this is defiantly the best one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The WW2 Shooter, 31 Aug 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
without any doubt the best shooter released on xbox to date a game that is so good on xbox live you will find it hard to play all the other games you have. good offline but awesome online and for this reason i give it 5 stars and ask does anybody not enjoy this game on xbox live ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD!, 3 Sep 2009
By 
M. Hoffmann (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The product is in a good condition and the delivery fast! Super satisfied. Thx for that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct 2014
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As described and fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of Duty 2: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360)
£32.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews