Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars These are an absolute bargain and great quality!
These are a must have set of very comfortable headphones! The sound produced from these things is above average. The look is very cool. If you have a black ipod then they are a great match. The headphones have the same black glossy look and silver centre.

The noise canceling is ok, [...]. It blocks out most noise but i wouldn't say it blocks [...] of background...
Published on 3 Jan. 2007 by Mr. Daniel Tancock

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not worth the money
They are good for in-door use only. They are useless once outside work/home as you can hear everything else.

I regret paying £40 for these and I wont be buying Philips headphones again.
Published on 23 April 2008 by Miguel Garrido-letelier


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not worth the money, 23 April 2008
By 
Miguel Garrido-letelier (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips SHN5500/00 Noise Canceling Headphones (Electronics)
They are good for in-door use only. They are useless once outside work/home as you can hear everything else.

I regret paying £40 for these and I wont be buying Philips headphones again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars These are an absolute bargain and great quality!, 3 Jan. 2007
By 
Mr. Daniel Tancock (Honiton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips SHN5500/00 Noise Canceling Headphones (Electronics)
These are a must have set of very comfortable headphones! The sound produced from these things is above average. The look is very cool. If you have a black ipod then they are a great match. The headphones have the same black glossy look and silver centre.

The noise canceling is ok, [...]. It blocks out most noise but i wouldn't say it blocks [...] of background noise. The 'stick' may be a pain to carry, but its best in your pocket than on your ear!! Its very light and compact, with a belt clip and volume button. The red light illuminates to show its on. You slide it up to turn it off.

Overall a great buy and a bargain for great sound, style and comfort.
I recommend them!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comfortable way to travel, 15 Nov. 2007
By 
F Arnold "sweet fa" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips SHN5500/00 Noise Canceling Headphones (Electronics)
These are good value for money. I agree with everything the previous reviewer wrote. The noise cancelling is acceptable (though not a patch on the in-ear ER6i), they are very comfortable to wear (otherwise I would not have fallen to sleep with them on during a long plane journey recently), and the sound is pretty good for the price. I got them in a rush to replace a pair of Bang & Olufsen over-ear phones that had ceased to work in one ear, and for half the B&O price, they are worth it. I found a little slackness in the treble and a slightly muffled bass (which you don't have at all with the ER6i) but overall quite impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I bought 2 of these and they had to go to rubbish bin after a shortwhile.., 28 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Philips SHN5500/00 Noise Canceling Headphones (Electronics)
First of all, the noise canceling is a huge lie since all it does is just adding bass to the normal volume and if you don't activate the noise canceling gear, it's almost impossible to listen to music outdoors.even though it requires only one AAA battery it's really annoying since if the battery is not at full power you won't be able to get a proper sound. And the most important thing is, one of the speakers breaks down easily which results in the sound starting to come and go in one ear. it drove me mad and i decided to buy a new one and it's unbelievable but exactly the same thing happened to the second one as well. I'm someone who takes good care of his stuff but no matter how careful i am i cannot keep Philips headphones from ending up in garbage.also it doesn't fit on ears and it becomes really uncomfortable after a while,not to mention that the leather cushions make your ears sweat. To conclude: stay away from this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dont waste your money., 22 Dec. 2008
By 
This review is from: Philips SHN5500/00 Noise Canceling Headphones (Electronics)
The only way these seem to reduce external noise is by increasing the listening volume which you could do with any type of headphone.They come with a neck band which if you are sitting in a high backed seat pushes the phones forward off the ears allowing even more external noise in.The straps which are used for adjusting the fit of the neck band cut across the earpads and guess what? - yes you get more external noise !!! Because of the power pack for the noise reduction electronics you have two cables instead of the normal one and this can be a pain.If you want to take them travelling with you they are quite bulky and likely to get damaged. To sum up, do what I have done and buy a set of phones which go IN the ear as they seem to do a much better job of reducing external noise;need no battery and come in a hard and compact carrying case and dont need the volume cranking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars These headphones are a waste of money, 30 Jan. 2010
By 
P. Shippam (Thailand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips SHN5500/00 Noise Canceling Headphones (Electronics)
After testing these headphones under a range of noise situations I cannot hear any difference whatsoever between having the noise reduction switched on or off! The sound quality of the headphone speakers is OK but these are marketed as noise reduction headphones. Avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Silence reigns, 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips SHN5500/00 Noise Canceling Headphones (Electronics)
It cut out so much noise that I couldn't listen to either my computer or DAB radio as I couldn't turn up the volume
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philips SHN5500/00 Noise Canceling Headphones
£44.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews