Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The xtra does it..
The game itself is quite entertaining, but in my opinion the fun starts when you get to the point in the game, where you start making your own movies. In the beginning you build and run the studio, hire stars and takes care of their lookes etc., but as time goes by you develop items and get all new options. One of them is a studio where you create movies of your own. Here...
Published on 18 Feb 2007 by Camilla

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars It never worked.
I received the game. My computer have the right system but I tried to play several times but it never worked.
For me, it was not a good purchase.
Published 10 months ago by MoonsLullaby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The xtra does it.., 18 Feb 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Best of Range: The Movies (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The game itself is quite entertaining, but in my opinion the fun starts when you get to the point in the game, where you start making your own movies. In the beginning you build and run the studio, hire stars and takes care of their lookes etc., but as time goes by you develop items and get all new options. One of them is a studio where you create movies of your own. Here you start from scratch. You choose the cast and give them different costumes. Then you create the scenes - this does take awhile but the outcome is quite worth it. When your movie is done you can choose to record your own voice and "Become" one of the actors. This is the most fun part. Especially if you record the voices of the different stars with some friends. When the movie is all done - it's is a great fun to watch. Over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original Tycoon Game, 9 April 2009
By 
I. M. Knight (Huddersfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Best of Range: The Movies (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The game has a really good simulation idea and if you like sim games then this should be to your taste. The graphics are great and there are a lot of things to unlock and different type of movies to create. It's fun and creative and there are a few comical bits in it such as the characters `curling one out' when they go to the portable toilets.

My only gripe with this game is that the lots are a bit too small to build all the objects in the game; otherwise this is an excellent and very enjoyable tycoon sim game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BECAUSE WHAT EVERYBODY REALLY WANTS TO DO IS DIRECT, 17 Nov 2008
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Best of Range: The Movies (PC DVD) (Video Game)
During these months of boycotting most new PC games releases (for harboring vicious DRM schemes and Limited installations), I found the time to replay a number of older games that truly are much better in many ways. Most importantly, innovation.

THE MOVIES is a cross-genre hybrid, beautifully combining a SIMS game with a business-RTS one and a highly creative movie suit. Not only do you get to step into the shoes of a Hollywood mogul, but you get a shot in "realizing" that film you always had in you.

The game starts with the design and building of your Studio (using up the allocated funds), complete with Script stables, Sound stages, Production offices and (ahemm...) casting-couches? (no...strangely THAT part of Hollywood was not included). Casting is prety straight forward, plucking some lucky characters from the waiting line and turning them into stars. Or script writers. Or directors. Or janitors. Yes, life is a bitch.

What I liked about this game was its historic accuracy, simplified efficiency and clear-cut design. Not only are most stages in making a movie readily available and the means to achieve this evolve as time progresses, but everything has a familiar feel and self-evident practicality as well.

Stars throwing tantrums and directors relaxing too much with the sauce; aging stars in need for nip/tacks - and always keeping an eye out for whoever has the bigger trailer!

What I loved about this game was the opportunity to plan out the script in a detailed story-board and then shoot my own movies. The bad news is that if your visions are long and complicated your studio will be... bankrupt in no time, as it will release fewer and more expensive movies. But that is besides the point, is it not? What is a bankrupt studio in the wake of a iconoclastic new director towards his vision?

In the end, although very entertaining in many ways, the strong suit of this game is not its Movie-Business Management Simulation but rather its Movie Creating editor. Simply, there is no other game like it.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is damn awsome!!!, 30 Jan 2007
By 
A. Russ "RKO" (Chesterfield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Best of Range: The Movies (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I've had the movies for just under a year now but I am not yet bored of it...and I don't even have the expansion. I just keep finding new scenes that make my movies more interesting and not repetetive. I am currently working on my trilogy of mixed sci-fi/action called Space. The story is quite good due to the VAST amount of scenes there are. There could maybe be a few more sets or options. But the rest of the game is brilliant. You should just go on the 'sandbox' mode. This avoids the tycoon part of the game and mainly focuses on making films, however you want.

There are tons of costumes. More for men than women but still, there are a lot.

You can't get child actors though, except a new-born baby if that counts. And you can't change the appearance of an actor (by appearance, I mean body appearance). The actors are all the same height and width. You can go on 'Star Maker' to create an actor or actress but you can only change the facial features.

Overall, the game is stunning. But you should get the expansion pack: Stunts and Effects, if you want to turn a normal movie into an epic. C ya!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love the game!, 27 Aug 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Best of Range: The Movies (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I absolutely LOVE this game! its really good and keeps you playing for ages!

As you may have noticed, i have indeed given an overall of 4 Stars.

This is because there are times in the game when you don't know what movie you want to create and you start making a random one and start getting bored half way through.

BUT make no mistake! this has only hapened 2 me several times and it doesn't mean i hate it!!

Reccomended for tycoon lovers, or people who want to make movies, but only make it take a day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Game i've played yet!, 9 Feb 2007
By 
Andrew Skelhorn "Sophie 16" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Best of Range: The Movies (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game kept me entertained for weeks and i still go back to playing it when im bored! There are so many movie posibilities to make and stuff to buy. If you love the sims or theme hospital type games where u have almost unlimited freedom then definatly BUY! Only bad thing is there isnt much to do while your waiting for your movies to be made once you can make longer films as the fast forward button doesnt make much difference in speeding the game up so u need some patience :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It never worked., 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best of Range: The Movies (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I received the game. My computer have the right system but I tried to play several times but it never worked.
For me, it was not a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT GAME!, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best of Range: The Movies (PC DVD) (Video Game)
GREAT GAME!
Just so much fun, although needs a decentish PC to run it still, and the videos look a bit old school now.
Hours of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Potential Not Met, 9 July 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Best of Range: The Movies (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game is great. In terms of potential it has it all. In terms of delivery it is somewhat wanting. Not all PC graphics cards are compatible so it can often leave people with slight flaws in the models, but generally the graphics are smooth.

The game delivers an excellent first to PCs but there are obvious gaps in features. There always seems to be a lack of applicants for actors, extras, directors etc. The movie editing (post production) is not as intuitive as it could be or as feature rich. There is no editor for beginning of movies (edit the titles) unless you cound changing the font or background image as worthwhile edits.

However, I do love this game because of what it does offer and as Lionheads final game before the Microsoft takeover it is definitely one to be remembered in generations to come. Personally I'm looking forward to it arriving on the Mac in September as the Mac's media editing features will be integrated into the game to make it much more fluid, stylish, and feature-rich. Vive le Mac.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best PC Game/App, 23 Oct 2007
By 
M. Wise (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Best of Range: The Movies (PC DVD) (Video Game)
When I brought this game it was not my priority to play it as a game, but to use it as a tool in hobby animation. However, once I started playing I was hooked. It is one of the most addictive games I have played and very enjoyable. The only downside is that you start to wish there were more sets, costumes and props. You can download extras from the website, however you need to gain virtual credits to do this, and nothing new has been added recently. All-in-all, a excellent game that never got the sales or popularity it deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best of Range: The Movies (PC DVD)
Best of Range: The Movies (PC DVD) by Activision (Windows XP)
Used & New from: 4.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews