Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Swan Song
The nineties had proved to be tumultuous decade for the Cocteau Twins. They began the decade with Heaven or Las Vegas, the band's most commercially successful album. The then left the 4AD label, Fraser and Guthrie's relationship fell apart, Fraser went through a nervous breakdown and Guthrie's drug problems came to a head. As a result of this Four Calendar Café was...
Published on 20 Mar 2008 by A. Mee

versus
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a dissapointment
I have only recently discovered the Cocteau Twins, and my first CDs were Heaven or Las Vegas (fantastic), Blue Bell Knoll (almost as good) and this one - Milk & Kisses, which I bought on the basis that reviews here said it was a return to form after a spell of blandness.
I cannot agree with that assessment - I think this album is 'so-so' - with three really good...
Published on 28 Oct 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Swan Song, 20 Mar 2008
By 
A. Mee "amee" (Kildare, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The nineties had proved to be tumultuous decade for the Cocteau Twins. They began the decade with Heaven or Las Vegas, the band's most commercially successful album. The then left the 4AD label, Fraser and Guthrie's relationship fell apart, Fraser went through a nervous breakdown and Guthrie's drug problems came to a head. As a result of this Four Calendar Café was a quiet, intimate record; perhaps reflecting Fraser's bruised psyche. The band were still reeling from these changes, problems and revelations in 1995 when the band began work on what would prove to be their final album, Milk and Kisses.

The album's opener Violaine is unrepresentative of the rest of the album. It may have been a reaction to the success of band's like My Bloody Valentine and Slowdive, whose music owed so much to the Cocteau's innovations in the eighties. The rest of the album was much more low key, and much closer to the material on Four Calendar Café, except that Milk and Kisses lacks prominent acoustic guitar. This album may be the most elegant and restrained of the band's catalogue.

In common with Heaven or Las Vegas and Four Calendar Café, Liz Fraser's lyrics are somewhat intelligible on this album. However, her greatest contribution is, as always her swooning, impressionistic melodies. Robin Guthrie and Simon Raymonde really shine on Milk and Kisses too, their guitars sparkle and shimmer. I must go against the general consensus and state that the strongest material on this album is on the second half. Eperdu is gentle and atmospheric, certainly one of the most beatiful moments on any Cocteau Twins album. Album closer Seekers Who Are Lovers is the song on which Robin Guthrie pulls out all of the stops, layering atmospheric guitar parts. Fraser's sings two contrasting vocal parts at the chorus: one with words and one a beautiful, floating, wordless melody. The song is a fitting farewell to such a great and influential band. Milk and Kisses is the Cocteau Twins best album of the nineties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COCTEAU TWINS FOREVER AND EVER, 8 Mar 2001
By 
A. REY "array" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Milk and Kisses (Audio CD)
Too many false statements above: this is no way related to New age, this CD does not sound like early Cocteau era at all, Four calendar cafe was no mainstream bid, ... These critics must have been overdosing with Pulp or rehabbing inside the Oasis for a while I guess. Milk and kisses is another superb Cocteau Twins CD within their own unique direction, but at least for me it was suspiciously too similar to their previous Four calendar cafe. They probably released the very impressive accoustic and techno-ambient EPs right before this release so that we could not notice the continuity that much. Twinlights showed us a Liz more close to Nina Simone as ever, the Half gifts version ends very much like I get a long without you very well by heavenly black voice; also the Violaine remix by Mark Clifford on Otherness is a milestone in Cocteau twins discography, the redoing is just so amazing you just want a whole Cocteau twins CD sounding just like that. As for the Milk and kisses CD Tishbite in parts reminds me of Bluebird, Treasure hiding reminds me too much of Pur... There are precious moments though, Serpenskirt, Ups or Seekers who are lovers are among the best and most underrated pop songs of the nineties for sure. Even if I think Four calendar cafe is a more accomplished and a really move forward work, this is by far superior to the average pop CD of last century, so five hundred stars just for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their masterpiece, 15 May 2009
By 
Mr. Nicholas Long "Tornadobob" (Exeter, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Milk & Kisses (Audio CD)
I actually think this is their greatest moment, Liz Fraser is 1 of the greatest singers in human history and never sounded better. Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lasting Kisses, 2 Nov 2014
This review is from: Milk and Kisses (Audio CD)
Absolutely gorgeous. The best Cocteaus recordings are up there with the best that pop music has to offer and Liz ranks with Kate, Dusty and Sandy in the elite of female voices the Uk has produced.
Sad that they remain a cult taste and millions will never hear the sheer blinding beauty of these tunes and Liz's miraculous voice. Anyway, for me this is one of their best 3 albums (Kisses ,Treasure and Heaven !). It is the sound of the best Christmases of your misty childhood memories. The only slight mis-step being that the wondrous , acoustic version of Half-gifts (find it on Lullabies to Violaine 2 ) is superior to the one herein.
Buy them both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Elizabeth, Robin & Co, 1 Nov 2013
This review is from: Milk and Kisses (Audio CD)
This final album from the Cocteaus has a claim to being their best ever. The tracks are all melodically strong and Liz's vocals are just ethereally wonderful here. Treasure Hiding and Seekers Who Are Lovers are just the perfect ending to a wonderful album and career. I have all their releases and this one is the one Cocteau album I generally reach for when I'm in the mood for an alternative, dream pop fix, along with Slowdive's "Souvlaki", Mira's "Apart", Love Spirals Downwards' "Temporal", and The Single Gun Theory's "Flow, River Of My Soul."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing and emotional music., 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milk and Kisses (Audio CD)
This is such an emotional CD, and relaxing too. It would be good to listen to this with a romantic partner and melt away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cocteau Twins, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milk & Kisses (MP3 Download)
Cocteau twins at their stunning best. If you've never heard the voice of an angel, well now's your chance. Just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true return to form, 25 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Milk and Kisses (Audio CD)
I am pretty much in agreement with the Amazon reviewer on this one. In its over-all blandness, 'Four-Calendar Cafe' veered dangerously close to sinking into the deep waters of the MOR-sea and drowning; and whilst 'Milk & Kisses' is, as another reviewer commented, distinct from earlier efforts (in that it is it no mere rehash of past glories), it is truly a return to form. The loud guitars swirl and soar, as do Fraser's unrestrained and other-worldly vocals (yep, a cliche, I know, but her voice is unique and is show-cased in fine form here); the polite trilling, tame lullabies and mainstream pretensions which plagued 'Four-Calendar' are definitely eschewed in favour of heavy-reverb and multi-track heaven!
Naturally, there are one or two vaguely dodgy moments - e.g. the cheesy radio-friendly guitar on 'Calfskin Smack' has me in mind of Phil Collins or Celine Dion (?!) for some reason (despite this it still manages to sound okay) - but there are plentiful gems to make up for this. The jewel in the crown is undoubtedly 'Serpentskirt', a moody and beautiful affair, goose-pimple-inducing in the way only a Cocteau's song can be - definitely one of their all-time best.
Oh and yes, "Treasure Hiding" is VERY similar to "Pur", although to me that can only be a good thing as the latter was my favourite track on "Four-Calendar". Wonder why ...? :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their 3rd best, 7 April 2010
This review is from: Milk and Kisses (Audio CD)
While writing this review I am actually listening to this album, and in my view this is there third best behind Heavan or Las Vegas and Tresure. and even though its my 3rd favorite it does have a couple of my favorite Cocteau Twins songs on it Eperdu and the awl-sum song Violaine which is so good I could never get bored of. Truely GREAT!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...their finest hour, 31 July 2013
By 
Andrew Ward "Andy Ward" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Milk & Kisses (Audio CD)
Paradoxically, it's easy to see why one could both love and dislike Liz Frazer's vocal sounds - For me, it's very much about everything that marries up so perfectly to make the unique Cocteau sound.
There are many beautiful sounds attributed to this threesome, but on this album there feels to be many more than one would expect. This is a consistently strong collection of wonderful arrangements that expose the rawest of talents.
This is my favourite of all of their albums...because I just happened to find it when I needed to find it most. Music at it's most healing of spirits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Milk & Kisses
Milk & Kisses by Cocteau Twins (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews