Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic album on vinyl AND download for one price.
I wanted the remastered version for my IPOD and I wanted a decent vinyl copy for my collection. This ticked all the boxes. There is a card in the box with the web address to download the mp3 version. Once received I immediately downloaded and simply added to my Itunes library by playing a bit of each track. The remastered version sounds great, so clear. There are things...
Published 19 months ago by Andy O'Boogie

versus
6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Immature musically
I appreciate how "breakthough" this album was but since I couldn't decide on a "Best of" I chose The Slider and Electric Warrior. The latter has more variation in songs - melody, rhythm and tempo and is much more musically mature. The recording quality is much better too. Unless you know you like TRex (not just the Hits) take care with your money on this one.
Published 23 months ago by SP Hawkins


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic album on vinyl AND download for one price., 4 Jun 2013
By 
Andy O'Boogie (Widnes, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slider [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I wanted the remastered version for my IPOD and I wanted a decent vinyl copy for my collection. This ticked all the boxes. There is a card in the box with the web address to download the mp3 version. Once received I immediately downloaded and simply added to my Itunes library by playing a bit of each track. The remastered version sounds great, so clear. There are things going on in there I was not aware of. I also have an immaculate vinyl copy to look at while I listen (as I always had in the 70's). Wish I could do this with all the music I buy these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE SLIDER - T.REX, 12 July 2003
This review is from: The Slider: Remastered (Audio CD)
I WALKED A TEN MILE ROUND TRIP WITH JUST ENOUGH MONEY ON THE DAY THIS CAME OUT AND I HAVE CHERISHED IT EVER SINCE. THE PINACLE OF MARC'S CAREER ALONG WITH ELECTRIC WARRIOR A FABULOUS ALBUM WITH NO FILLERS, A CRACKING TIMELESS IMAGE ON THE COVER AND A SOUND STILL AS FRESH AS EVER. PLEASE BUY IT IF YOU DON'T OWN IT AND BUY IT AGAIN IF YOU DO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is T.Rex!, 6 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: The Slider (Audio CD)
Marc Bolan,Mickey Finn,Steve Currie and Bill Legend,this is the ultimate 'Rex C.D. to buy,from 1967 'till 1977..Marc and his mate/s..gradually went from strength to strength..the follow up to this waas 'TANX'..also a top album..but the real top Two are 'Electric Warrior' 1971 and this 'The Slider'..T.rextasy!!...for hard core fans don't forget Marc's early accoustic partner 'Steve Took'that played major part in the early sound and the first Three L.P.s...From the single 'Debora' 1967 until the L.P. 'Dandy in the underworld' 1977.. the man was a funky sounding genius!
My all time fave track has to be 'Telegram Sam'1972. Please note that the four C.D. Hard back booklet '20th Century Supertar' is also available..perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Eagle On The Wind..." – The Slider (2002) 2CD DELUXE EDITION by T.REX, 16 May 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Slider: Remastered (Audio CD)
Having had their appetites whetted in May 1972 with the compilation album on Fly Records "Bolan Boogie" (which hit Number 1) – by July 1972 the wait was over. And on the 23rd of the month T.Rex and Marc Bolan fans got what they wanted - "The Slider" album hit the record shops and burnt its way into UK consciousness. Even now in 2014 (42 years later) it still gives me a thrill just to look at it (the same applies to "Electric Warrior" from 1971). And this stunning May 2002 2CD DELUXE EDITION from Edsel (reissued in 2014) gives me the same tingles. Here are the Golden Nose Slim and Jungle Face Jakes…

Originally released May 2002 - Edsel MEDCD 715 is a 2CD set (use Barcode 740155171520 to get the right issue) and breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (53:54 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 13 are the album "The Slider" – originally released on vinyl in the UK on 23 July 1972 on EMI BLN 5001
Tracks 14, 15 and 16 are Extended Play – "Cadillac" (14) is a non-album track - it was one of the B-sides to "Telegram Sam" (January 1972 on EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label T-REX 101). The other B-side was album track "Baby Strange". "Thunderwing" and "Lady" (15 and 16) were both non-album track B-sides to the UK 7” single of "Metal Guru" (May 1972 on EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 1).

Disc 2 (53:00 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 13 are "The Alternate Slider ("Rabbit Fighter")" – alternate versions of almost every track with similar sounding tracks where alternates could not be found (the initial album title was going to be "Rabbit Fighter").
Tracks 14 and 15 are Extended Play – "Lady" and "Sunken Rags" - both of which are Outtake Versions of 1972 B-sides ("Sunken Rags" was one of the two B-sides to "Children Of The Revolution').

It opens up with two winners "Metal Guru" and the acoustic strum of "Mystic Lady" then barely lets up. "Buick Mackane" is his Led Zeppelin T.Rex and rocks like a monster. "Telegram Sam" was the second number 1 single ("Metal Guru" was the other) and is followed by the song that might have titled the album – the cool "Rabbit Fighter". It’s so quintessentially T.Rex with its acoustic guitars backing lead electric guitars and his "Moondog's a prophet to the end…" lyrics. I’ve always loved "Baby Boomerang" – it was used as a B-side for the infectious "I Love To Boogie" in June 1976 – and its words oozed that Bolan confidence (lyrics from it title this review). More Rex rockers appear in the guise of "Baby Strange" and "Chariot Choogle" and it ends on the languid "Main Man" – job done.

The end of 1972 would see two more huge singles – the non-album "Children Of The Revolution" in September and "Solid Gold Easy Action" in December (themselves heavy with unique non-LP B-sides). In fact in the Summer of 1972 and by year’s end - Marc Bolan seemed to own the world – he really was flying.

The three-way fold-out digipak is pretty – alternate artwork on the inner flaps – press adverts and promo stuff beneath the two see-through CD trays - detailed liner notes by T.Rex/Marc Bolan expert MARK PAYTRESS – lyrics – track-by-track annotation (with Bolan’s own recollections) and both CDs carrying the T.Rex Wax Co 7” single Logo (I remember for all those 45s we ought in Woolworths with the excitement of buying the next Beatles seven). The remasters are fabulous too – full of power and muscle – giving the alternate acoustic versions of "Metal Guru" and the spoken '1, 2, 3 and a 4' leads in to "Rock On" and "The Slider" an eerie feel of being close to genius.

Great sound – quality presentation - and a reasonable price tag for a 2CD DELUXE EDITION – yum yum. You have to say that Edsel have done the business by his memory and musical legacy

What a blast...and what a loss. I miss him…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all time favourite albums!, 6 Jun 2004
By 
Mr. S. W. Roberts "Timelesswarrior" (Southport, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Slider: Remastered (Audio CD)
The first time I ever saw T.Rex was on Top of the Pops and they were singing Telegram Sam. The following Saturday I rushed out and spent my pocket money on that single. My copy has gone grey - its been played that often. As soon as The Slider came out I bought it. I love it and all these years later it still sounds like it could have been recorded today. Bolan was light years ahead of his time! All the tracks are great - I suppose my favourite track is Ball rooms of Mars. What a title for a song!
I recently bought Electric Warrior on SACD - its mixed by Visconti in 5.1. I wish that Visconti and crew would remix all the albums on T.Rex Hot Wax in 5.1 - that would be truely awsome!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Slider and Tanx were the best albums, 22 Jun 2006
This review is from: The Slider: Remastered (Audio CD)
"Metal guru" was the song back in the 70's that inspired a lot of bands of the 80's.

I was totally overwhelmed by this song, although it wasn't a hit in my native country (Holland) Marc never liked to come to Holland, because the press didn't seem to like his music. (They only liked his acoustic material)

"Electric Warrior" may have given Marc and T. Rex a lot of success, it still reminds a lot to the old Tyrannosaurus Rex. On "The Slider" that feeling is gone: it is totally glam rock ! On this CD there are also some B-sides of the singles, like the hilarious "Lady". This album is a pop standard. Although there were lots of glamrock acts in the 70's, like Sweet, Gary Glitter, etc. etc., they cannot compare with the Bolansound of T. Rex. Lots of punkrock and newwave bands and 80's bands like Duran Duran were inspired by T. Rex.

Tony Visconti is responsible for the very clear sound on this album. And don't forget the "Turtles" Flo & Eddie for their background vocals. The follow up LP was a real album when it was released on vinyl ! It didn't contain any singles ! The song "Rapids" from that album is my all-time favourite song from Marc.

The Slider and Tanx are a must for music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb remaster of a classic T.Rex album, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slider [VINYL] (Vinyl)
By 1972, Marc Bolan was a star. And he knew it too. Fronting his band T.Rex, he would beam at the tv cameras, winking, waving and poking his tongue out as they performed their latest hit.
The previous year had seen the beginnings of what was to be dubbed 'T.Rextasy' with the release of 'Electric Warrior', a majestic artful, groovy and fey record. Own that and 'The Slider' and you've a taste of T.Rex in its pomp.
This release is highly recommended for both music and vinyl fans. The vinyl is heavy and thick and the artwork is minimal and classy, replicating the original release.
And what a sound Tony Visconti has awoken in the recordings. Instruments have an amazing clarity, its like hearing the original with an amazing top and bottom end. The kick drum on Bill Legend's drums is like hearing his drums in a different light. There's a real power to the songs, but the vitality is bristling too. You can almost touch the sound. Thank you Sir Tony of Visconti. I doff my cap to thee.
The final cherry on the cake is the vinyl comes with a card inside, with a code, where you can download this remaster in MP3 format (320kbs), allowing you to have digital and vinyl pleasure as you see fit. A brilliant idea.
Only downside was that my vinyl was dusty and had fingermarks all over it. More glove use in the warehouse please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After the boys of summer 72 have gone..., 9 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Slider [VINYL] (Vinyl)
13 years old.Holiday coach back from Bournemouth.Run from Birmingham Digbeth Coach Station to New Street HMV for day of release purchase-just made it before closing time.Back home,tape to cassette player,Next day, coach to second hols in Weymouth,The Slider played through single cream-plastic mono earphone all the way.
I have every audio permutation of this classic release but none will match the beauty of the above.
Thanks boys for making Summer 1972 brilliant.Live in June at Birmingham Odeon helped too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Marc's best, 26 Oct 2009
By 
Cmrichardson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slider (Audio CD)
OK. First we had Electric Warrior (a bombshell at the time) then came this "The Slider". You can detect the natural progression of the production by Tony Visconti. Marc has some of his greatest guitar riffs on this Album too.Just listen to "Buick Mackane". I bought the Vinyl in 1972 and this music is still unsurpassed today and in so many ways. I still listen to it regularly.
The booklet within the CD has all the "mystical" lyrics printed, which is really nice to have.
The Slider is a classic post going electric Bolan album and for that reason and many more I recommend it to the world!
Bless you Marc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bolan Boogies On, 3 Jun 2007
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Slider: Remastered (Audio CD)
Marc's first EMI record & the follow up to the iconic "Electric Warrior". A fantastic record featuring the No1's "Telegram Sam" & "Metal Guru",along side classics such as "Spaceball Ricochet". The remastered edition also has the truly marvellous "Thunderwing".

A really enjoyable, entertaining record & to many fans, his second best only to "Electric Warrior".

Marc was at the top of the tree when this record came out & it shows...absolutely brilliant stuff from a truly superb but still hugely under appreciated British pop genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Slider
The Slider by Marc Bolan & T Rex (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews