Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fall of Ideals, The Beginning of an era
Move over Trivium, there is a new king in town! I saw these guys live a few years back now when This Darkened Heart came out, and they were truelly awesome. When I heard this album was coming out I ordered it straight away, expecting a similar roar from hell as it's predecesor. Well, I was not dissappointed, they have honed their talent, the vocals are crisper, the...
Published on 22 July 2006 by Kalothagh

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ALL THAT REMAINS- The Fall Of Ideals
All That Remains should be huge. Their last album was stuffed with the heaviness, melody and searing hooks that usually takes scenes by storm. But the timing was off or there wasn't enough oomph behind it or maybe it just wasn't good enough. Three years later and little has changed. Yes, `The Fall Of Ideals' thrashes away like a landed fish; drums pounding hard, guitars...
Published on 22 Sep 2006 by Moderate Rock


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fall of Ideals, The Beginning of an era, 22 July 2006
By 
Kalothagh (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fall of Ideals (Audio CD)
Move over Trivium, there is a new king in town! I saw these guys live a few years back now when This Darkened Heart came out, and they were truelly awesome. When I heard this album was coming out I ordered it straight away, expecting a similar roar from hell as it's predecesor. Well, I was not dissappointed, they have honed their talent, the vocals are crisper, the harmonies smoother, and the adrenalin pumping from the guitars and drums, obsessive and addictive. The only down side is the length of the album, though that comes in at a reasonable 39 minutes.

It opens with This calling which belive me opens the album perfectly, as the lead vocalist,Paul Labonte, screams the first line, making your ears bleed with envy and joy. The Harmonies from the chorus are just breath taking as the song continues and Paul proves as he has with This Darkened Heart, that he can sing as well as scream as if his life depended on it. As a whole it is the perfect start to a brilliant album. The guitars are brutal and the drum beat just keeps you tapping all the way through.

The second track Not Alone is a definate floor filler for any Rock club. It has everything you could need, a fast beat, a head nodding/banging rythm and incredible lyrics to blast out of your lungs as your venting all the pressures of the day out on the dance floor.

The third track It dwells in Me give a different perspective to All That Remains, starting in a Hard Core gruntal screems, but as a whole the track is catchy, and has hooks that grip you by the gonads and spin you around the room. Plus an awesome solo about a minute into teh song. Sweet!!! Still the song conitues with Pauls's harmonies, but strangely turns to growls of death metal. Impressive stuff for the listener to hear so many styles in one song.

We Stand shows the original All That Remains that we love, growling sreems, and a decent mixture of Harmoneous vocals, that captured so many fans. This song truelly shows how for they have gone in such a short space of time. The sound is cleaner, crisper, and the raw edge has been taken away as they are perfecting their sound with great applause.

Whispers ( I Hear Your ), starts with accoustic guitars that make you raise your eyebrows. The song as a whole is definately one of the best tracks of the album, with incredible vocal skills, superb lyrics, and an amazing solo. I really can't think of anything to say apart,... just listen to it, it's mouth watering.

The Weak Willed - what a fantastic track, it shows a new side to ATR. It proves that they can not be catagorised in any genre as this is blatant death metal at it's best. The devil farting down a mirophone sounding vocals, the perfect gothic slowness to the guitars in the chorus section, then the speed raping of the guitars through the rest of the song. Hard Core band my ***, this is Heavy Metal as you haven't heard before.

Teh Seventh track Six continues the death metal theme at first, then kicks back into ATR as we remember them. A truelly mind blowing track. The bass through this track is a floor trembler. Crank this up and you'll feel like those Worms are out ta get ya, then it changes so rapidly to a very melodramatic solo, then kicks back into Danny Filth vocals, with that earth shattering bass line. Not for the faint hearted that one.

Become the Catalyst continues the death growling at the start of the track, but then goes Post Hard-Core style, which is fine in certain amount of quantity, which thuis album provides. With the amout of genres out there now, it's difficult to say wehter this truelly sounds PHC, but it's the closest sound I can think of, and it can give you a certain idea as to the feel of the overall album.

The Air that I Breathe give a very good vibe from the start, even with the influences of PHC and the mixture of classic Heavy Metal guitar rifts, it creates a mural of of chaos, which wouln't suprise me if that is what the song represents. Think about it, the air we breathe is toxic, so why not a chaotic song to the title. The song is not entirely chaotic, it makes it sound like a load of bolts and nuts rolling around a cement mixer, which is not true, but the sound is presented in two very distinct genres that can be mixed but with consequences, well this song created the vibe it was meant to.

Empty Inside is certainly not the greates song on the album, but it certainly makes you appreciate the art of Heavy Metal and the anguishes of life. Yes that sounds depressing, but the song is anything but. It has a heavy rift, a fast rythm and the vocals certainly are not created in a way that makes you reach for the first sharp object you can find. In fact, even though the song is an image of how people can make you feel, it's kind of like kicking those people in the genatles for making you feel that way in the first place.

Indictment is a furioous track that makes you want to beat up the invisble guy on the floor while flailing your arms all over the place inbetween the beatings of that poor soul on the floor that no-one but yourself can see. As for me, it's just a seriuosly good moshing track. Heavy rifts, serious drummage and great powerful angry vocals.

The overall feel of the album is amazing, it bounces from one genre to another and doesn't care what you think of it. I felt that All THat Remains were certainly experimenting with new sounds for themselves and sticking to their basic sound. Well I for one am amazed by the prodution of this album, and just can't wait to hear more from where this has come from.

Bring on the tour, it's gonna be a guarenteed hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ALL THAT REMAINS- The Fall Of Ideals, 22 Sep 2006
This review is from: The Fall of Ideals (Audio CD)
All That Remains should be huge. Their last album was stuffed with the heaviness, melody and searing hooks that usually takes scenes by storm. But the timing was off or there wasn't enough oomph behind it or maybe it just wasn't good enough. Three years later and little has changed. Yes, `The Fall Of Ideals' thrashes away like a landed fish; drums pounding hard, guitars managing meaty riffing and metal solos equally well while Phil Labonte's voice just gets better and better. But don't go expecting surprises. There are some great moments here but All That Remains have forgotten to write them into greater songs. For all it's demonic growling this is a record that does nothing but leave All That Remains huffing and puffing like the rest, rather than the best, of them. Standard fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, 18 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. T Meredith (wrexham, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall of Ideals (Audio CD)
Well, I have not long heard of All That Remains, which is a shame really, because it seems that I have been missing out, BIG TIME!

Im gonna keep this short and sweet. Every single song on this album is mind blowing. I dont think I can compare another metal album with it. When I played it in the car to my friend, he said they were brilliant and sounded alot like Bullet For My valentine.

IF you are not familiar with All That Remains, and are thinking of which album to get, BUY this one, not the latest 'Overcome'. Both good albums but this one is better (in my opinion).

Best tracks.. This calling, It dwells me in, We stand, Six and Empty inside
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Major Talent, 28 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: The Fall of Ideals (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the day of its release and although it is good, it has not grown on me as well as 'This Darkened Heart', which i think is one of the best metal albums of recent years.

'The Fall of Ideals' is pretty damn heavy, which i like. But it could do with a few more melodic bits, as Phil Labonte has a great voice. The album is consistently good, but has no real stand-out tracks except for 'This Calling'. In general, the album lacks the epic feel of songs like 'For Salvation' from 'This Darkened Heart'. ATR could really do with expanding some of their songs and prolonging their solos more.

Despite these drawbacks, this is still a very good album. In particular, the musician-ship has improved massively, especially the drumming which is awesome (although i think drummer Shannon Lucas has since left the band). In my opinion ATR are more talented and have more potential than the likes of Killswitch Engage, they just need to get the right balance of heavyness and melody.

To be honest ATR deserve to be a lot bigger than they are, as they are still one of the best metal-core bands out there. They are also wicked live, especially Phil Labonte who is a quality front man. I highly recommend this album to any metal fan, but also take a look at 'This Darkened Heart' which in my opinion is a better album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars solid and in your face metalcore, 24 July 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Fall of Ideals (Audio CD)
All that remains' third album is possibly their best and ive only had this a few days but what impressed me was their ability to write a catchy chorus and move away from a flurry of breakdowns that have become a trademark in the metalcore genre.

Thats not to say that this isnt metalcore in its execution as it is,its just that all that remains have raised their game and this is a very polished release.

Lead singer phil labontes vocals have improved greatly,his scream is better as is his clean vocals and thats a big bonus,especially when it comes to making the chorus' soar and feel fresher and more interesting.The qlbum opener,the calling is a vibrant metallic song with a class punchy chorus,and in truth thats the way the album runs,thats not to say that this album will launch all that remains into the big time,i feel that this album is great but cant compete with the brilliance of killswitch engage and the big boys.But maybe i will be proved wrong,maybe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I knew what I was getting, and I love it!, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall of Ideals (Audio CD)
This album does not disappoint. It is definitely the best that All That Remains have to offer. Crushing riffs, great lyrics, beautiful guitar work, thrash beats and glorious choruses. Notable tracks are...pretty much every single song on the album.
I had this album back in 2007 when I first heard of the band and lost it, but it's so good that I purchased this one again.
It WILL make you want to be a guitarist.
5/5! Truly epic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4a3b6fc)

This product

The Fall of Ideals
The Fall of Ideals by All That Remains (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews