Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carries on where the first left off.
A larger series than the first with 16 episodes this time round with more good and more average episodes than series 1

Royal Jelly - The stand out episode for me and one which I'm sure has been ingrained on a swathe of viewers who watched this one when it aired. Timothy West is excellent as the strange bee-keeper who really really loves his bees with Susan...
Published on 22 Mar 2011 by All of them Witches

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coincidences and twists but no real shocks.
This is a larger collection than volume 1 with 16 tales so it wins points for quantity but these are not all classic tales by any means.
Disc 1 - Royal Jelly / Skin / Galloping Foxley / The Hitch-Hiker / Poison / Fat Chance / Taste / My Lady Love, My Dove.
Disc 2 - Georgy Porgy / Depart in Peace / The Umbrella Man / Genesis & Catastrophe / Mr. Botibol's First...
Published on 17 Feb 2009 by I. R. Kerr


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coincidences and twists but no real shocks., 17 Feb 2009
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales Of The Unexpected - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is a larger collection than volume 1 with 16 tales so it wins points for quantity but these are not all classic tales by any means.
Disc 1 - Royal Jelly / Skin / Galloping Foxley / The Hitch-Hiker / Poison / Fat Chance / Taste / My Lady Love, My Dove.
Disc 2 - Georgy Porgy / Depart in Peace / The Umbrella Man / Genesis & Catastrophe / Mr. Botibol's First Love / Back For Christmas / The Orderly World of Mr. Appleby / The Man at the Top.

The stand outs for me were Skin, although the ending is fairly obvious; The Hitch-Hiker and Umbrella Man which were quite funny and The Man at the Top and Back for Christmas have some of the few real twists here and Poison probably led most people to the wrong conclusion. I recalled some of these tales and am sure they had more of an effect on me first time round but time, and exposure to countless other stories, has lessened their impact somewhat so. Many of the endings are no longer as unexpected.
Genesis & Catastrophe is a real oddity, it may be spoiled for some by the blurb on the back of the DVD case which may give a clue as to the ending. It does not seem to fit in here at all.
Some series 1 cast members return Sir John Mills, Joseph Cotton, Susan George and Joan Collins, they are joined by many other well known stars including Derek Jacobi, Ron Moody, Judy Geeson and Timothy West.
I'll certainly be watching a few of these episodes again but probably not the whole of series 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carries on where the first left off., 22 Mar 2011
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tales Of The Unexpected - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
A larger series than the first with 16 episodes this time round with more good and more average episodes than series 1

Royal Jelly - The stand out episode for me and one which I'm sure has been ingrained on a swathe of viewers who watched this one when it aired. Timothy West is excellent as the strange bee-keeper who really really loves his bees with Susan George also playing his wife.

Skin - One of several slightly clumsily telegraphed episodes and a little shame that it ended abruptly but a decent story about a valuable work of art tatooed onto a friends back by a soon to be famous artist.

Galloping Foxley - The sadistic perils of the all male boarding school and there's me bemoaning my Comprehensive state education. John Mills looks back in anger at the treatment he received at the hands of his tormentor after a newly appeared anonymous traveller turns up on his train. Not bad

The Hitchiker - A lone driver comes to regret the charismatic hiker who gets into his car. Quite fun lighthearted episode.

Poison - Nice allegorical story about a man in India recently off the booze who has a close encounter with a deadly Krait snake.

Fat Chance - A bit painting by numbers stuff concerning a pharmacist using bits at his disposal to bump off his overweight wife in favour of his mistress. Worth a watch.

Taste - Ron Moody delightfully over-acts as a pompous wine expert who makes an unusual high stakes wager over his expertise. Another quite light hearted episode if you can not think too much about the unsavoury betting stake.

My Lady Love My Dove - Disliked this one. Pointless and a big 'so what?' episode about a silly woman who bug her guests room and discovers them talking about rigging their card game. And?

Georgy Porgy - Really uneven and some bizarely presented pseudo psychology but also some great imagery concerning a repressed vicar with issues! An interesting watch.

Depart In Peace - Ok. A woman who is publicly embarrassed by her insensitive admirer gets her own back. Forgettable.

The Umbrella Man - John Mills again. A genteel romp, quite a pleasant watch.

Genesis and Catastrophe - Not all that. Probably the only episode so far in both series where the acting looked a bit amateurish. Set in Austria in 1889, a pregnant woman, a sozzled military father, will the baby be born ok? Not exactly cliff-hanger stuff.

Mr Botibol's First Love - Another nice genteel watch but really little point to it. An unsuccessful and frustarted man gets to live his dream of pretending to be a great composer with a similarly deluded woman.

Back for Christmas - A dasterdly doctor and orchid grower gets his come uppance. Good episode.

The Orderly World of Mr Appleby - A debt ridden antiques owner with a tendency to outlive his wives gets married again to a wealthy woman. Quite good.

Man at the Top - Telegraphed tale about a guy who commits a rash act then must find the 'man at the top' to aid his escape. Not very good.

Overall a quite good collection as always with Roalds introductions though I'm beginning to doubt the authenticity of some of Roalds anecdotes as I believe he was a bit of a rascal. Nonetheless name another programme which provides a pretty effective sounding way of murdering your other half, in some detail, whilst making it look like an accident, completely unrelated and independent of the episode about to aire as Roald does in one of his intros!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Significant television, 2 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Tales Of The Unexpected - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
A series that has so much to offer. Merely as a showcase for acting talent it is worth watching. Aside from Genesis and Catastrophe all episodes are very watcheable. Skin and Georgy Porgy are very adult for its time. The Hitch-Hiker is a brilliant piece of television. The Umbrella Man is wonderfully entertaining.

All episodes are thought provoking, and aside from Genesis and Catastrophe and Galloping Foxley all are more entertaining than disturbing.

A mostly first rate series. Curiously, some actors appear in more than one episode in a given series and sometimes, not too far apart either.

Bearing in mind the number of episodes, a remarkable series in its entirety. Dahl introduces each episode in this series, and his anecdotes are interesting, and almost an appropriate forerunner to a DVD extra or a post-transmission documentary...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales Of The Unexpected - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
I bought these to add to my collection of tales of the unexpected, they are really good and you can watch them again. I would highly recommend that you buy them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Make sure you get the DVD with all the episodes like this one!!, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Garry R. Walls "joepublic123" (yorkshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales Of The Unexpected - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed hours and hours of viewing as this is the DVD with the entire series on. You can also purchase a DVD that looks like a similar thing but only has four measly episodes on. Watch out for that if, like me , you finish this and then want to move on to the next series.

The content was fantastic. I enjoyed the way Rohald Dahl introduces each one just as Alfred Hitchcock did. Some are a bit corny and dated but that's part of the fun when watching an old tv series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLANT, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales Of The Unexpected - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
Present for my husband, takes us back a few years, good service, really enjoyed this DVD - will havwe to buy a few more of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series once again, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales Of The Unexpected - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
I brought these series a while back. Roald Dahl is a fantastic storyteller. This series produced some great TV with lots of mystery, suspense, horror and lots of twists and turns. I enjoyed this DVD set as much as Series 1, the majority of the storys are of high quality, great acting, great directing. What I enjoy is the endings, you never know what is going to happen.

One thing that is a small issue is the picture quality is at times very poor. It is unfortunate that these videos had deteriorated over the past 30 years and don't transfer to DVD as well as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great nostalgia, 22 Feb 2010
By 
L. M. Tyldesley "lollypop" (isle of man uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales Of The Unexpected - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
I love these old series , scary for their era , but not gorey as todays programes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very pleased, 19 Sep 2010
This review is from: Tales Of The Unexpected - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this product as a present for my sisters boyfriend, he was very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars still waiting, 16 Nov 2011
This review is from: Tales Of The Unexpected - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
ordered this 29th August. Dispatch date has already been changed and it's now 16th November. Can't really say what the product is like as it hasn't even reached me after nearly 13 weeks- I suggest that buyers consider buying it 4 to 6 months in advance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales Of The Unexpected - The Complete Second Series [DVD]
Used & New from: £7.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews