Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A factual reminder of the Malayan Invasion by Japan WWII
There have been many books and DVDs about the Japanese Invasion but in my
opinion this is the most factual.
This is a DVD that tells the story with consideraton to those who were
involved and lived to tell their stories. It shows a lot of true feelings for everyone and proves that the Invaders were not all cruel.
Buyers who are Australian,...
Published on 11 May 2009 by G. D. Matthews

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
not at all like the book missed all of Australia which was very disappointing for me as I loved the book so much
the part they covered was well done but sketchy.
Published 2 months ago by Kate Cross


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A factual reminder of the Malayan Invasion by Japan WWII, 11 May 2009
By 
G. D. Matthews "DVD/Bookwom" (Piraeus - Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Town Like Alice: Special Edition [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
There have been many books and DVDs about the Japanese Invasion but in my
opinion this is the most factual.
This is a DVD that tells the story with consideraton to those who were
involved and lived to tell their stories. It shows a lot of true feelings for everyone and proves that the Invaders were not all cruel.
Buyers who are Australian, British.Malaysian and Japanese will more than
appreciate owning this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Town like Alice., 30 April 2007
This review is from: A Town Like Alice: Special Edition [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
A moving war drama which takes place in the steamy jungles of Malaya during the WW 11 Japanese occupation. Starring Virginia McKenna and Peter Finch, a group of female prisoners are compelled to trek through the jungles of Malaya and as no Japanese officers will take responsibility for their care they are left to journey from village to village and how the women come to terms with their hardships and death of some of the women and children in the group.

Jean Paget (McKenna) is befriended by Joe Harman (Finch) a tough Australian prisoner of war who dreams of returning back to his home town of Alice Springs. Jean Paget falls in love with him, but then something terrible occured and she knew that she would never see Joe again - or so she believed.........

Based on one of the best gripping novels ever written by the accomplished Nevil Shute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film -- hope the later version appears on DVD!, 18 April 2009
By 
K. Beare (Wilmington, DE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Town Like Alice: Special Edition [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen the later c.1980 long version previously, with Brian Brown and Helen Morse, which was wonderful. But I did enjoy the 1956 version, which of necessity leaves the story only about half-way through. Virginia McKenna was wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Network scores again, 8 Sep 2008
By 
N. C. Bateman (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Town Like Alice: Special Edition [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
A great DVD, especially for the price - a tribute to the effort that Network put into releasing British films. You'll cry at the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Like Alice: Special Edition [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film! Virginia Mckenna excells as Jean! Some parts made me laugh, others made me cry! A really good watch! If you enjoyed this, maybe try watching Ice Cold in Alex...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Town like Alice DVD, 22 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Like Alice: Special Edition [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is not available in main shops except at a very high price. Film is an absolute classic of its time and features Finch and McKenna at their best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD A Town Like Alice, 19 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Like Alice: Special Edition [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
I had read the book and wanted to see the film. Unfortunately the film didn't cover the Australian aspect of the book in any depth at all and as such was very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful classic which I have seen many times., 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Like Alice: Special Edition [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
I would have preferred the Australian series with Bryan Brown as there is so much more to it and the story needs to be told in the fullest way. This DVD, is excellent and the acting I cannot fault but I wanted more than was possible with a movie and the limitations of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Lovely Film, 14 July 2011
This review is from: A Town Like Alice: Special Edition [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed this film again and again. What a wonderful story and it was one that (dare I say it) I had to read the story in English lessons at school and it has stayed in my memory since then. The film sticks as closely as possible to the original story line and is just wonderful!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The British at their most stoical, 14 Dec 2009
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Town Like Alice: Special Edition [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
The British at their most stoical

I must have seen this film not long after it first came out and I read the book as Neville Shute was and is a very popular writer.

The casting is great as we have the indomitable Virgina MC Kenna giving yet another performance as a perfect specimen of English womanhood who is good looking and sexy but able to take on what ever life throws at her.

In a way I found it a frightening film both then and now. The events is describes are real and you could imagine yourself being faced with the task of fleeing from an enemy army that is coming towards you, and that your side is powerless to stop them and to help you.

When they are told the Japanese are only 50 miles away I think I wouldn't spend any time discussing the matter I would be on my way very quickly in deed. It was almost as if the British thought that such things could not happen to them

The scene where the Japanese arrive to take a group of unarmed civilians is very dramatic. They shoot the two British servicemen who are armed and a British official who is not armed. They march towards the building where the British civilians are and the scene where the toddler is passed by Japanese soldiers with long rifles and bayonets is terrifying.

It is interesting to note that the Japanese with all their supposed efficiency these days obviously did not know how to run a war even when they were winning. They had no idea what to do with the civilians so just walked them to death.

The sub plot of Jean ( Virgina MC Kenna) meeting Joe Harmon ( Peter Finch) an Australian solider who tries to help with almost fatal consequences becomes the most important part of the story.

It is a realistic film as neither side behaves that honourably. The Japanese steal every-one's watches and jewellery and claim that they will be given a receipt and some of the women will do almost anything including sleeping with the enemy to alleviate their suffering.

If you are not moved by the last scene of the film you are very hard hearted in deed. I have seen it many times and even I could cry.

I would go as far as to say it is a film you cannot see too often.

One of the reviewers claimed it is not like the book as the book goes on about their life after the war. Yes they are right but films cannot possibly depict every aspect of what is in a book. At least it gives you an impetus to read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Town Like Alice: Special Edition [1956] [DVD]
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews