Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Brilliant"!
My son loves Batman, but unfortunately, the cartoons are on the television periodically, so as a back up, I figured I'd buy him a DVD. I didn't realise that it had so many discs, or that you could watch a different episode, one for everyday of the week if you wanted without repeating them. It really is outstanding value for money! I look forward to building the rest of...
Published on 7 Feb 2009 by Another Customer

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Picture quality could be better
Everyone knows this is a great programme so 5 stars for the show, but the picture quality isn't that great. It's quite fuzzy, has artefacts and shakes around at times. Obviously, at this price its not a real concern, but it seems that the people behind the DVD clearly thought "who cares, its only a kids show" and put no effort into it at all.
Published on 31 May 2012 by RGP


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Brilliant"!, 7 Feb 2009
This review is from: Batman: The Animated Series - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
My son loves Batman, but unfortunately, the cartoons are on the television periodically, so as a back up, I figured I'd buy him a DVD. I didn't realise that it had so many discs, or that you could watch a different episode, one for everyday of the week if you wanted without repeating them. It really is outstanding value for money! I look forward to building the rest of the collection for him to enjoy...okay and for me as well!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Animated TV Series EVER !!, 28 Feb 2008
By 
T. Williams "Maranatha!" (North West, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman: The Animated Series - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
This is without a doubt the best realisation of batman to grace the visual medium. Here we have the first 28 of the 85 episodes of 'Batman: The Animated Series'. Once the creators find their rhythm it truly takes off and will no doubt be remembered as the definitive example of TV animation. Its a great box set and real value for money. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


109 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is it!!!, 9 Nov 2007
By 
Papadopoulos Vasilys (GREECE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Animated Series - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
Ok Batmaniacs!!! This is the complete first 4-DVD volume of the Dark Nights animated adventures!!!
tHE ePISODES Are:

Disc 1
1. On Leather Wings
2. Christmas With The Joker
3. Nothing To Fear
4. The Last Laugh
5. Pretty Poison
6. The Underdwellers
7. P.O.V.

Disc 2
1. Forgotten
2. Be A Clown
3. Two-Face Part 1
4. Two-Face Part 2
5. It's Never Too Late
6. I've Got BATMAN In My Basement
7. Heart Of Ice

Disc 3
1. The Cat And The Claw Part 1
2. The Cat And The Claw Part 2
3. See No Evil
4. Beware Of The Gray Ghost
5. Prophecy Of Doom
6. Feat Of Clay Part 1
7. Feat Of Clay Part 2

Disc 4
1. The Joker's Favor
2. Vendetta
3. Fear Of Victory
4. THE CLOCK KING
5. Appointment In CRIME ALLEY
6. Mad As A Hatter
7. Dreams In Darkness

Special Features
THE DARK NIGHT'S FIRST NIGHT Pilot Promo Hoasted by Bruce Timm
BATMAN'S: THE LEGACY CONTINUES Retrosrective Featurette
TRAILERS disc 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truly enjoyable, 25 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Animated Series - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this after a decision to re-live my superhero deficient childhood; only the occasional viewing of a Spider-Man or X-Men cartoon did not sate me. I've been getting into Batman a lot in recent years, and this volume of 28 episodes is great fun. Some really good story-lines make it hard to believe each episode is only 21 minutes long. It suffers from perhaps not exploring the villains' backgrounds enough, but that's just personal taste, and doesn't apply to every villain-introduction-episode.
Very entertaining, not just because Batman is awesome.

Be aware: Currently only Volumes 1 & 2 are available in Region 2 as individual sets (some misleading product titles on Amazon and Play.com may lead you to believe otherwise, but trust me, anything currently labelled as region 2 volume 3 or 4 is most likely a collection of 4 episodes from volume 1). So if you're looking to complete the set, and you don't have a Region 1 DVD player, don't get your hopes up, Volumes 1 & 2 are as far as you'll get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman forever: and this time it's worth it., 6 Nov 2008
This review is from: Batman: The Animated Series - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
This series of batman is without a doubt the quintessential version. Unlike the new "The Batman" the characters are multidimensional and all get a chance to become fully developed. The writing is exceptional and for children and adults alike who enjoy Batman, the intelligence of both are not insulted as is so often the case, especially children these days. The Origin of Two-Face is not only gripping but also emotional. It is very rare that in what is considered a child's medium we get to see such consideration of the audience and dedication to the Batman 'Franchise. Admittedly the direction for this series can be traced back to Tim Burton's 1989 Batman, and that most of the elements are present from this. Pointing to Volume two in the series, Robin an often derided character gets a great two part episode that finally gives him the empathy that has eluded him for years.

All in all, this is value for money and this is a fantastic accompaniment to Batman, Batman Returns and the more recent incarnations of the Dark knight, the less said about the efforts of Kilmer and Clooney the better. Yes, characters such as Bat-girl and Robin appear along with more outlandish villains like the man-bat, but this does not take away the brooding and darker nature of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman at his best, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Animated Series - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
This is a truly great series with a generous amount of episodes(28) for a very good price. I'd recommend this to anyone young or old. The character designs and voice acting are all great and Kevin Conroy is perfect as Bruce Wayne/Batman as is Mark Hamill as The Joker. If you've played the Arkham games then you'll be familiar with these voices.

It includes episodes featuring the joker, harley quinn, two-face, mr freeze, poison ivy, killer croc, manbat and lots of other criminals. Most of the time in this volume Batman works alone although there are a few episodes with Robin too.

The stories in the episodes draw you in and really get you addicted to the show. This is the best cartoon of Batman ever made and always will be in my opinion. It puzzles me why this hasn't been on TV for so many years.

Go ahead and buy this if you're into Batman or even if you're not. I guarantee there's something in this series for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 Aug 2011
By 
Joey Deacon (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Batman: The Animated Series - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this TV series in the 90s, the stories, animation & voice acting are all just superb & stand the test of time today. Couple this with the atmospheric music and you have a modern classic in cartoons. I bought this for my young nephew, but had to go and buy it again for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly the definitive animated Batman, 29 Jun 2011
This review is from: Batman: The Animated Series - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a child of the 90's (there, I said it) and consequently grew up with this show being broadcast as part of Saturday morning telivision shows. Consequently I am going to have some nostalgic feelings towards this show. The problem is, nostalgia sometimes cheats you and a cartoon you may have adored as a child has become, for want of a better word, dated. One only needs look at some of its stablemates or some of the output from the Eighties. The animation and voices look cheap and sound awful.

Batman: The Animated series doesn't suffer any of this. It is as brilliant (if not more) than I remember. Starting with that great Danny Elfman title music accompanying the wonderfully simplistic opening titles. Those hauntingly simple title cards, like classic film title cards probably started my love of pulp fiction covers. The look of Gotham city ( asort of future-deco), the character models and the voice acting all come together to make an incredibly professional and utterly watchable animated program. Now, those may not be enough, let me just say that some of the stories featured in this first volume are utterly brilliant. The set is worth it alone for the quite frankly brilliant (and Emmy winning) "Heart of Ice". For a half hour episode you get a characters origin and development, as well as a jolly fun Batman story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME =D, 27 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Batman: The Animated Series - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
This was, awesome as i expected! I love this show and i'm glad i can finally watch it again, my only complaint is that the episodes seem to have been chosen at random, what i mean is that they don't appear to be in the order they were shown on tv, like occasional episodes have robin, and the rest don't, but really thats just nitpicking. this was good 5 STARS!!! Whoop Whoop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Batman, 18 Jan 2011
By 
Karl W. (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Animated Series - Volume One [DVD] (DVD)
Let me start of by saying that this DVD is quality. From what I remember I only paid around 6 for this which in my opinion is a bargin. So grab it quick if you can get it at the same price (you won't be disappointed).
You get 28 episode on 4 discs, 7 episodes on each disc. They are held in a normal size DVD case which fits inside a carboard slip case.
The first couple and last couple of episodes in the series are great, with slick animation and great storylines. The series slows a little in the middle but this is only in comparison to the better episodes, on a whole they are still great.
You get some great extras like the cast and crew talking about their time on the show and explaining how they come up with ideas and character design. You also get episodes with commentary, which I think works great on this format. It's easy to watch a 20 min episode with commentary rather than say a 2 hour film, which I can never be bothered to do as it seems like a chor. You also get the standard trailers/tv spots etc...
On a whole this is Batman at its best and would be a great addition to anyones DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: The Animated Series - Volume One [DVD]
6.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews