Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing Ghost Story
"Lemming" is a fascinating film, never less than gripping throughout and it is well acted by an impressive cast. It is a sort of psychological drama revolving around the life of a young French couple and the effect an ill advised dinner with the boss and his wife has on their marriage. The film hinges upon a suicide that takes place about half way through it ,which is...
Published on 25 Sep 2006 by L. Davidson

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Failed to see the 4 * rating
Tried hard not to fall asleep after a while .The story line could have been interesting but is not helped by the acting which is so wooden and devoid of life that you end up not caring a jot about the characters pretty quickly..or the film and the ending for that matter.
Published 8 months ago by cors


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing Ghost Story, 25 Sep 2006
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lemming [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
"Lemming" is a fascinating film, never less than gripping throughout and it is well acted by an impressive cast. It is a sort of psychological drama revolving around the life of a young French couple and the effect an ill advised dinner with the boss and his wife has on their marriage. The film hinges upon a suicide that takes place about half way through it ,which is symbolised by the appearance of a lemming in the kitchen sink wastepipe. After the suicide the film becomes a bit of a ghost story as the young couple's marriage comes under strain. "Lemming" is unusual ,a little surreal and well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very odd, unexpected and very enjoyable thriller, 21 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lemming [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This film exemplifies everything I love about French cinema - in spite of the fact that the director is not French at all.

Unpredictable, un-formulaic and downright odd in places, I found it hugely enjoyable. Add to that the perfect casting, great camera work and a sense that nobody is taking themselves too seriously, all in all, this is an unusual and challenging treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange & suspenseful, 2 Mar 2008
By 
P. A. Tonkin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lemming [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed this bizarre little thriller. Refreshing to watch a film where silence is used so effectively by the Director.
In particular, the dinner party from hell scene was squirmingly wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Lemming in the U-Bend; or Alice in Wonderland, 11 April 2010
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lemming [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Those who have seen this movie will understand the two titles I have given to my review. (Although there is some dispute in my household as to whether it is a U-bend or an S-bend that is featured.) Being a fan of Dominik Moll's `Harry, He's Here to Help', I was looking forward to his next film `Lemming' (2005). I was not disappointed.

Again featuring Laurent Lucas as the hapless leading man, the film is a quartet comprising two couples. Lucas plays Alain Getty; his wife Benedicte is played by the beautiful Charlotte Gainsbourg. Alain's boss is Richard Pollock, played by veteran French actor Andre Dussollier, whose eccentric wife Alice is played by Charlotte Rampling. Alice dies halfway into the film, and from that point onwards, Benedicte starts to adopt some of her eccentricities.

Beyond that, it would spoil the plot to say anymore, except to mention what the Lemming expert (a cameo role played by another veteran French actor Jacques Bonnaffe) tells Benedicte: "People used to think it was a sort of mass suicide ... When they reach a river or the sea, they try to swim across it. They're good swimmers, but if it's too wide, they drown ..." This could be viewed as a metaphor for much of life today.

Moll, who has been compared to a modern French Hitchcock, has continued to provide his audience with original plots and conceits whose suspense are masterfully handled. As the film progresses, it all becomes more and more unreal, and yet what happens is nevertheless grounded very much in reality; and this makes it all the more watchable. Assisted by an excellent soundtrack, half the film is carried through on a clever false pretence. It is, in short, a nice little gem of a movie.

There are copious extras on my disc. Firstly, a twenty-six minute interview in English with the director and co-writer, in which he talks about how the ideas came to him, the writing, the casting, the characterisations, production design, sound, and effects. Here he tells how the lemming provided the quasi-mysterious `MacGuffin' required for what could be seen merely as a movie about the foibles of two bourgeois couples. Although the source of a very original idea, the lemming in the film is a kind of red herring, but introduces the element of the irrational. As part of the extras, there are also six short featurettes exploring particular themes and key shots, as well as the usual filmographies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 28 Aug 2006
By 
pete "big blue pete" (edinburgh scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lemming [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is like David Lynch in french. Its beautifully acted with an intelligent, thought provoking script that doesn't try to present a linear rational narrative. Instead you are encouraged to peel back layers of metaphor to reveal the real tragedy that motivates the behaviour of the four main characters. Its very well shot and the use of black and white is revelatory for the plot as well as gorgeous to look at.

Certainly the most exhilirating experience ive had in the cinema this year! Better on the big screen but also has impact on a small one, fry up some snails and enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French thriller that kept me on the edge of my seat, 27 April 2012
This review is from: Lemming [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliantly acted by the main four members of cast, a strange haunting film, beautifully filmed and for once a satisfactory ending although it could have gone any which way it wanted.
One loved and hated passionately the leading characters. Gainsburg was so nice and sweet and loveable as the wife of the engineer. Rampling was the truely evil lady which she acted to perfection.
I enjoyed this thriller more than any other recent movie because I believed in the main characters right from the start. French movies were always notable for portraying quickly the character and mind set of their actors. There was a sense of realism amid the fantasy and a compulsion to watch to the very end on the edge of my seat. Thrillers should have such a sense of realism. Hitchcock would have been proud to make this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lemming [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
The first thing about this movie is that it's well casted. All four leads are excellent. AS far as I'm concerned Charlotte Gainsbourg is the hottest actress in the world today, so I guess I'm a bit biased, but then again, all reviewers are. I thought the script was convincing (which is often not the case in genre films) and the acting subtle and understated. Director Moll is also quite obviously influenced by David Lynch, too my mind a good thing, although he is also, unlike Lynch in his two latest films, a good storyteller. I highly recommend this film and I'm looking forward to see other films by Moll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Failed to see the 4 * rating, 21 April 2014
This review is from: Lemming (DVD)
Tried hard not to fall asleep after a while .The story line could have been interesting but is not helped by the acting which is so wooden and devoid of life that you end up not caring a jot about the characters pretty quickly..or the film and the ending for that matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie!, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lemming [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed watching this movie. Excellent suspense-thriller with a twist in the end. Would recommend to anyone who likes psychological thrillers. Wonderful acting! Subtitles are very accurate and precise. One can forget that is watching a foreign movie. Very easy to watch. Ten out of ten!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Hamster from Hell...., 23 Mar 2013
By 
R. Whitlock (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lemming [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I haven't witnessed a social gathering so squirmingly embarassing since Mike Leigh's 'Abigail's Party.' This is a very entertaining afternoon's watch. I'm just glad I don't have a cat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lemming [2006] [DVD]
Lemming [2006] [DVD] by Dominik Moll (DVD - 2006)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews