Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
This is one of the best music specials ever made. I remember watching on TV when it was first shown and recorded and watched it over and over and over. Below are the tracks and featured artists:

Boppin' the Blues (Carl Perkins)

Put Your Cat Clothes On (Perkins)

Honey Don't (Ringo Starr)

Matchbox (Eric Clapton)

Mean...
Published on 8 Nov. 2006 by S J Buck

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stellar performance, bad mastering
As you'd expect from such a stellar line-up this performance originally broadcast on TV in the 1980s is brilliant. The musicians are obviously having great fun and it shows in the music. I recorded the original performance from the TV on VHS tape so when I found this DVD I thought it would be a useful improvement on my VHS tape. How wrong I was! I've had two copies,...
Published on 8 Mar. 2012 by Otto


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Nov. 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Suede Shoes [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This is one of the best music specials ever made. I remember watching on TV when it was first shown and recorded and watched it over and over and over. Below are the tracks and featured artists:

Boppin' the Blues (Carl Perkins)

Put Your Cat Clothes On (Perkins)

Honey Don't (Ringo Starr)

Matchbox (Eric Clapton)

Mean Woman Blues (Eric Clapton)

Turn Around (Carl Perkins)

Going to Jackson (Rosanne Cash)

What Kind of Girl (Cash)

Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby (George Harrison)

Your True Love (Perkins/Harrison/Edmunds)

The World Is Waiting for the Sunrise (Perkins)

Medley: (All)

Thats Alright Mama

Blue Moon of Kentucky

Night Train to Memphis

Glad all Over (All)

Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On (All)

Gone All Down The Line (All)

Blue Suede Shoes (All) & Encore

To pick highlights is very difficult because its all great. But for me the rare appearance of George Harrison is an absolute treat. Eric Clapton plays some truly blistering guitar solos, that put all the other guitar players into the shade, and Carl Perkins admits as much himself.

However it is Carl Perkins who is the star of the show and its great to see him in prime form. My only reservation is the picture quality which is OK but could be a lot better.

If you like 50's Rock 'n' Roll and a hint of country than this is an absolutely essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gone, gone, gone., 20 July 2006
By 
R. N. Owen (FERNDALE, MID GLAMORGAN United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Suede Shoes [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Outstanding show featuring a stellar cast supporting the great Carl Perkins. Filmed in 1985 before a studio audience of Teds & rockers (plus Beatle wives present and past), Welsh Wizard Dave Edmunds orchestrates a worthy tribute to the king of rockabilly. Everyone looks to be having a fine old time, the stars stretching out over a bedrock groove supplied by Geraint Watkins, John David and Mickey Gee. Buy this DVD and give yourself a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what music's all about..., 10 July 2008
This review is from: Blue Suede Shoes [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Quite simply one of the best live recordings ever made. Wonderful "rockabilly" and "rock 'n roll" songs, brilliantly played in a low key show that's packed full of the enthusiasm that only live music can generate. Eric Clapton, George Harrison & Ringo Starr do much more than just turn out to add megastar interest as they're quickly swept up by the electric atmosphere of the evening and, along with Dave Edmunds, Rosanne Cash and a host of others, become part of a hugely talented backing group who are clearly having the time of their lives playing along with a rock legend on top form. Carl Perkins signs off after the final, spine-tingling rendition of "Blue Suede Shoes" with tears of sheer joy streaming down his face - music doesn't get more "real" or exciting than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100mph Rockin' sounds, 4 Jun. 2007
By 
Thomas E. Sussex "swede" (North Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Suede Shoes [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This is a non stop trip of rockin' tunes that will keep you foot tappin' all the way through from start to finish, an absolute joy to listen to. If you are like me, getting near the pension, or younger, you are going to love this DVD, all classic songs played by a group of musicians having a good time. What more could you ask for? Perkins, Clapton, Harrison, Edmunds, Star, all on the same stage! go on, have it you won't be disappointed, honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding topline 60's stars that continue to shine., 5 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Suede Shoes [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
If you grew up in the 60's as I did, then you could not fail to enjoy this DVD. I watched the original TV programme and recorded it onto "video". I superb line up of top talent, musicions that are in a class of thier own. A high quality recording that I will view regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for a Beatles fan, 21 Feb. 2011
By 
C. S. Grant (London & Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Suede Shoes [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This was an old ITV music special, that appeared on TV during the '80's. I'll always remember it, because of the rarity of seeing both Ringo and George perfoming live together and that Carl Perkins got so emotional at the end of the song, Blue Suede Shoes.
Having not seen it for about two decades, the price enticed me to see whether it was worth a gamble. It was. I'm not a huge rockabilly or rock n roll fan, apart from when a Beatle has a go, but this is excellent. Carl P holds it together nicely, being warm and generous to all of "his friends" and they certainly do their bit for him. Dave Edmunds essentially plays the role of band leader and although he's there most of the time, he doesn't hog the limelight at all. Highlights for me are just seeing George Harrison sing and play guitar in a circa 1964 style, Ringo having a great time and surprisingly, Eric Clapton playing his best solo's, in my opinion since the days of Cream and probably to my mind, he's done nothing as electrifying since!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock'n'Roll masterclass!, 14 May 2008
By 
M. G. Price (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Suede Shoes [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This is one of those moments in music which should treasured forever,as it features artists who are legends in there own time performing together for one a time only perfomance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 20 Mar. 2011
By 
Roy Matthews (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Suede Shoes [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
What a great tribute to Carl Perkins and what a lot of fun everyone seems to be having. Blistering performance by Clapton and great to see George Harrison playing and having fun with some mates... he's not always the most comfortable performer but here he looks like he's having a ball. One of my favourite music DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 23 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Suede Shoes [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Although the video and audio quality may reflect 1985, this is a superb concert with 'young' musicians such as Harrison and Clapton showing their admiration and affection for one of their heroes - great musicians having fun - you can't but enjoy it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll!!!!, 6 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Suede Shoes [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This was an absolute joy to me as an old rocker. I had recorded the sound from the screen when it was originally on television but to get the DVD was magic to me and I know I will play it more often than the once I have originally done. The only complaint is that it could have gone on a lot longer for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Suede Shoes [DVD] [1985]
Blue Suede Shoes [DVD] [1985] by Tom Gutteridge (DVD - 2006)
£8.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews