Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!
I am a white middle aged middle class individual so don't really watch a lot of Indian movies...not keen on all that dancing and singing and sub-titles if I am honest! Loved Bride and & Prejudice though! Wasnt sure what to expect actually......this story was quite unusual.....an Indian lady selling spices in her shop in San Fransisco (is it?) and because of the vows she...
Published on 1 Jan. 2011 by Jane Pemberley

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tumeric for the Soul
This is a pleasant little crossover movie which holds the attention of the viewer throughout.

It is probably easy for some to dismiss the film as lightweight fluff but if the intention is to bring Indian movies more into the mainstream of the American culture it will achieve it's purpose.

It is a well crafted story from the makers of Bend It Like...
Published on 13 Feb. 2008 by Junglies


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!, 1 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mistress Of Spices [DVD] (DVD)
I am a white middle aged middle class individual so don't really watch a lot of Indian movies...not keen on all that dancing and singing and sub-titles if I am honest! Loved Bride and & Prejudice though! Wasnt sure what to expect actually......this story was quite unusual.....an Indian lady selling spices in her shop in San Fransisco (is it?) and because of the vows she has taken she can never leave the shop, never hold another persons hand, can never fall in love and can never use the spices to better her own life....never heard of a movie like that before...she can also see into the future! Not at all keen on leading man I have to say apart from that I really did enjoy it! The leading lady has been called "the most beautiful girl in the world" by Julia Roberts no less......not surprised at all! She really is quite lovely...but can she act? Yes yes yes...would I be happy to be given a movie like this as a present....yes....I loved it because there is no swearing...there is no nudity...there are no cheap laughs and this is one that you could watch with all of the family......it is a bit of a strange story but very charming in its own way.....loved it! Ignore other reviews...if you like an old fashioned magical story this is the movie for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tumeric for the Soul, 13 Feb. 2008
By 
Junglies (Morrisville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mistress Of Spices [DVD] (DVD)
This is a pleasant little crossover movie which holds the attention of the viewer throughout.

It is probably easy for some to dismiss the film as lightweight fluff but if the intention is to bring Indian movies more into the mainstream of the American culture it will achieve it's purpose.

It is a well crafted story from the makers of Bend It Like Beckham and I hope that the fans it generates will follow a lightly followed path into more of the movies that India produces.

It is a very pleasant romantic story that tugs at the heartstrings but I must say I do yearn for something more substantial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bollywood cinimatography, poor story, poor acting, 6 Nov. 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mistress Of Spices [DVD] (DVD)
I am so disappointed. A great fan of Ms Rai, I am left wondering what happened. I did not laugh once during this film, so I am suprised cover says "comedy". The acting is terrible. The story???? What is the story??? It takes so long to get started, then bits are not completed and the end, well it seems they ran out of time. The colours on some of the scenes had the typical Bollywood magic. But that was not enough to save this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not surprised you're disappointed, 9 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Mistress Of Spices [DVD] (DVD)
i'm currently reading the book of this film and was interested to see how the magical elements would be managed on a screen. from the reviews i've just read it seems that the parts that make the book a beautiful read are completely missing which is why it's not working for the people who've bought the DVD. i'm not surprised - the film must be concentrating on the 'earthly' parts resulting in a 2-dimensional interpretation of the text. by comparison, the book is cleverly crafted in a light, refreshing language. does the film even explain why tilo is in san francisco because that's fundamental to the whole story and explains where the 'magic' comes from. it sounds like an empty experience so i won't be buying the DVD, but if you'd like to have the gaps filled in i urge you to read the book which is not at all disappointing. although i haven't watched the film, based on the reviews here i've given it 2 stars for the eye-candy alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mistress Of Spices [DVD] (DVD)
The actreass like always is beautiful, the story about the spices is so good , and the lives of this romance very real.
I love it very much, and i bought twice the DVD to give as a gift.
Just love it, but again not for my TV, only for my Laptop however.

Simonne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mistress of Spices, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mistress Of Spices [DVD] (DVD)
What a brilliant story of elemental spice magic. Excellent acting with a terrific ending. It would need to be special as it mostly takes place in a spice shop. I saw it on TV and immediately ordered a copy. I would happily recommend it to anyone (adults of course) I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mistress of Spices, 15 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mistress Of Spices [DVD] (DVD)
After seeing Aishwarya Raiher perform in Bride and Prejudice I thought this movie would be as spectacular.The story is similar to Chocolat (Johnny Depp)- nicely romantic. As an orphan Tilo is taken in by an old lady who teaches her about spices. She moves to USA to open her own spice shop, Tilo is compelled to follow three strict stipulations if she is to retain her ability to harness these magnificent powers: she must never use the powers for her own gain, she can never venture outside of her store, and she must never make contact with the skin of another person.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful fairytale, 18 May 2014
By 
H. Carlton "autobiogfreak" (London, Eng.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mistress Of Spices [DVD] (DVD)
If you start watching this, knowing it is somewhat of a fairytale or fable, you will be drawn in and fall in love with the ethereal Aishwarya Rai, who needs special parts like these to show off her acting ability, which is cinema-perfect. She has the kind of face and eyes that draws in the viewer and yes, makes them fall in love with her... essential for a true movie star.
The story is simple but well-told and finely acted. This film delivers what it promises and has the mark of a good film, i.e: that one wants to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sugar & Spice and all things nice - gorgeous, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mistress Of Spices [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant eastern delight with a modern romance thrown in . Beautifully crafted and respectful of Indian traditions without being held hostage to the restrictions or downfalls when moulding a western life . . simply sublime.
It's already one of my favourite films, I'm so glad I bought it . Ashwarya is simply too beautiful for words but Dylan McDermott well, he's all the spice I'd need !! Great film - smart, clever a truly magical fusion of India & the West.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully Unusual, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mistress Of Spices [DVD] (DVD)
For me, this was a delightful and unusual romance involving two very different cultures with a very distinctive mysterious and mystical element. I loved its colour and the window it opened onto the traditions and views of the people of India when faced with life in USA. The music was most evocative of India and I could almost smell the spices. Altogether, a warm, charming and eminently repeatable experience. I'm so glad I bought it. I've already watched it twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mistress Of Spices [DVD]
Mistress Of Spices [DVD] by Paul Mayeda Berges (DVD - 2006)
£8.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews