Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black Moon rises out of '86
I bought this from a second hand store for cheap and didn't really expect much from it. I was imagining a poorly produced thriller with elements of Knight Rider that I could have a laugh with/at for an hour and a half and no more, as is usually the case with DVDs like this. I was pleasantly surprised when I found I was actually getting into the story and was enjoying...
Published on 27 Jun 2011 by Air Raid Patrol

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Very disappointing,not one of TLJ best.
Published 1 month ago by Y. crawford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black Moon rises out of '86, 27 Jun 2011
This review is from: Black Moon Rising [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this from a second hand store for cheap and didn't really expect much from it. I was imagining a poorly produced thriller with elements of Knight Rider that I could have a laugh with/at for an hour and a half and no more, as is usually the case with DVDs like this. I was pleasantly surprised when I found I was actually getting into the story and was enjoying it.

It's pretty much "action-thriller by numbers" stuff with fist fights, car chases, the obligatory romance and death defying near misses but it's good fun all the while. Tommy Lee Jones' character, while a bit arrogant as you expect with the genre, is likeable enough, and the main villain in his impenetrable fortress is straight out of a comic book.

Yes, the effects are a bit dated by 2011's standards, especially the prototype car and high wire scene, but if you can look past this there is a hidden gem in here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black Moon Rising, 7 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Black Moon Rising [DVD] (DVD)
Tommy Lee Jones is Quint, a resourceful thief employed as a freelance agent by the US Government to recover vital evidence against a mob syndicate from one of their business fronts.
All goes well until Quint is identified by a former colleague and the chase is on to recover the evidence and silence him.
This is a brilliant movie. Tommy Lee Jones again shows the class act he is (come to think of it I don't think I've ever seen him in a bad movie). He gets A1 support from the other actors, especially Linda Hamilton as the car thief he falls for and Richard Jaeckel as the car's designer.
Occasionally quite violent, this is still an exciting thriller with a talented cast, well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Silly Boy Films Ever, 11 Mar 2013
This review is from: Black Moon Rising [DVD] (DVD)
Let me start by saying that when I say silly, don't get me wrong; this film is really well-made in a lot of parts, but it's quite corny and it's because it's dated as oppose to intentional, but that's okay. It's great actually, because it gives such a great dimension to the whole movie: it's a great boy film which you can just watch at any time and your mood will be heightened!
Tommy Lee Jones is Sam Quint, a Freelance Operative who is hired by the Government to obtain a cassette with evidence against federal agents on topical issues such as teaxes and everything else which is a bit of a laugh. The opening scene will totally break the ice and make you realise you're in for a good ride( come to think of it, it may be one of the best opening scenes to a film ever). The action is great though the plot is corny but I won't spoil it, and it's nice to see Tommy Lee Jones playing the lead as a law enforcement officer like this a bit earlier on in his career, and not jut seeing him as a tired old sheriff or something. You'll laugh, you'll question it, but you'll finish it off thinking that you'll watch it next time you're in a poor mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Black Moon Rising, 27 Jan 2013
By 
P. J. Gray (Boksburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Moon Rising [DVD] (DVD)
It is a nice film. I saw it many years ago when it first came out. It was most enjoyable to see it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 26 Oct 2014
By 
Y. crawford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Moon Rising [DVD] (DVD)
Very disappointing,not one of TLJ best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended sadly., 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Moon Rising [DVD] (DVD)
Disappointing.Not one of Tommy Lee Jones' best. In fact I have alreadygiven it away! Sad, as he is an excellent actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Black Moon Rising, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Kevin Barry McGinn (Jersey, Channel Islands, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Moon Rising [DVD] (DVD)
Not Much Of A Film, The Acting Was Not To Bad, But I Would Not Spend Much On This Film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It is a comedy, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Moon Rising [DVD] (DVD)
This is so old, it is hilarious - mobiles the size of bricks, hair do's that look ridiculous. So good for a laugh, but not an action film - you can tell they are really sitting in an amrchair when they are driving the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old 80s fun, 23 July 2010
This review is from: Black Moon Rising [DVD] (DVD)
Saw the movie in a theater in the late 80 and waited till know to get this nice little movie on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Moon Rising [DVD]
Black Moon Rising [DVD] by Harley Cokliss (DVD - 2006)
£2.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews