Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Faith In Walt Disney
I have watched several films by Walt Disney and its producers and was getting slightly worried as i hadnt enjoyed many of them in a long while (ok maybe it is just my taste but i like to think i have an open mind).

Anywho i saw the trailer for this movie on another movie that i had brought (think it was Superman Returns, also an excellent movie), and watching...
Published on 16 Dec 2006 by Mr. T. Evans

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Killing Fields - with dogs
Loosely inspired by the ill-fated 1958 Japanese Antarctic expedition that inspired 1983's Nankyoku Monogatari/Antarctica but updated to 1993 just before sledge-dogs were banned from the continent, Eight Below makes a decent attempt at trying to Disneyfy the more tragic true story into a snowbound Incredible Journey. Whereas the real incident saw 15 Huskies left on the ice...
Published on 12 May 2011 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Faith In Walt Disney, 16 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. T. Evans "Tombo The Great" (Worthing, near brighton, in the UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eight Below [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched several films by Walt Disney and its producers and was getting slightly worried as i hadnt enjoyed many of them in a long while (ok maybe it is just my taste but i like to think i have an open mind).

Anywho i saw the trailer for this movie on another movie that i had brought (think it was Superman Returns, also an excellent movie), and watching those lovely dogs/wolves it took me back to the days of watching Due South (which i also now have on dvd) on tv so i looked straight away for a copy.

Searching for this dvd in store was quite difficult i found, cheapest i could find it was £15 second hand in Blockbuster, so i chose to be a little more patient and got it for £10 on ebay brand new.

Getting a little bored of the barrage of Second World War movies i have been watched lately i decided to watch this movie... i wasnt disappointed...

One thing i would start off by mentioning about this movie is that if you are intending on getting this for the children, i would watch it through first as there are some parts in it which made me jump!

Also as embaressing as it is for me to say (im a 22 yr old fella from the UK) some parts of this movie did bring a tear to my eye, and it does end with a very positive ending but not a completely happy ending...

I wont give the ending away but i would be very causious about the age you are allowing view this.

Id also say that if you are buying this for the cuddly dogs for the kids then i would again warn to view the movie first.

Im not going to go on about the views and acting, but all in all this movie is in my top 10 dvds in my collection of over 400 and i wouldnt consider selling it/trading it in... In other words it is a keeper!

Hope this helps, it has certainly been one of my favourate films, if not my favourate film in this particular category. E.g. Family action.

5 out of 5!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 8 Stars, 29 Nov 2006
By 
J. Davis "John Davis" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eight Below [DVD] (DVD)
Terrific film! I saw this on a transatlantic flight on the tiny seatback player, and was entranced. Last night I watched it again with my wife and enjoyed it as much again.

It was shot in Canada, Norway and Greenland, and the photography is superb. Frankly, it's hard to find fault with this film, as it radiates so much goodwill. The acting talent was well picked and balanced. This one is a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing film in a long while!, 15 Sep 2006
This review is from: Eight Below [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be one of the most amazing film i have ever watched! it is brilliant , i must of cryed about 8time's..and im talking actual sobbing! it is truly a magical film for all the family! Even people who arnt so keen on dog's,will finish watching this film with red puffy eye's . The story line is so heart-touching , i really cant explain how good this film is, you will seriously need to watch this! I watched this film last night and i really want to watch it again THATS how good it is .. it made me laugh , cry , and at times i was on the edged of my seat! The only problem with this film is...i now want a husky , as the husky's in this film touched my heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dog lovers view - Have the tissues ready!, 12 Aug 2006
By 
Big Bertha (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eight Below [DVD] (DVD)
Tells the story of 8 dogs who were left chained up when a research team flew out of their station in Antartica. The plan was to return and fetch them, but severe weather conditions made it impossible as the Antartic winter set in.
From then on the film splits into two story lines, one the huskies fight for survival, the other, their owners desperate, near impossible struggle to get back to them, not knowing what he's going to find when he gets there.

OK so I spent most of the film in tears, but don't let that put you off. The dogs fight for survival is truly mesmerising, full of heart stopping moments and the location is stunning. (The humans weren't that bad either!)

LOVED IT!

Update.....and 18 months later just watched it again and still howled all the way through it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 8 April 2007
This review is from: Eight Below [DVD] (DVD)
Not since 'Balto' has there been a more beautiful film about sled dogs.

'Eight Below' tells the story of a team of Siberian Huskies and Alaskan Malamutes who live at an Antarctic research station. After disaster ensues, they have to be left behind alone at the base. They escape their chains and revert to being wild like their wolf ancestors. And their master, Jerry defies all odds just to be reunited with them.

This is a touching and inspirational film that any husky-fan will enjoy. If you enjoyed 'Balto,' then you will enjoy 'Eight Below' too.

And JJ, how is this propaganda? Disney is trying to tell a good story here, and let's face it, not all human beings are the 'good guys.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both heartbreaking and heartwarming -- and utterly superb, 22 Sep 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eight Below [DVD] (DVD)
Eight Below is an absolutely fantastic film, but those who, like me, are hypersensitive animal lovers should know up front that this is a tear-jerker. You've got the veritable wringer going both ways here; I cried out of grief, I cried out of joy, and - well, I'm just glad I watched this movie by myself. The twelve minutes of ending credits actually make sense - theatre goers might have needed that much time to get themselves settled so they could get up and leave. (And don't go thinking twelve minutes of credits means the movie is short, as it runs close to two hours before it gets to those end credits.) The whole cast and crew really are fantastic - this couldn't have been an easy film to make. They didn't actually film in Antarctica, of course, but all these guys still endured some incredibly harsh conditions (in Norway, Greenland, and Canada) during the shoot. Of course, as good as the human actors are, the dogs - six Siberian Huskeys and two malamutes - are the heart and soul of this movie. De Niro, Morgan Freeman, Al Pacino - these are all great actors, but there's no greater actor than a truly talented canine actor. I was extremely happy to see the canine actors' actual names appear in the credits - but they really should have earned top billing (although, admittedly, it's hard to fit 16 names - two dogs portrayed each canine actor) in a marquee. In this film, you'll witness some of the most incredibly selfless acts imaginable, not to mention ample proof that dogs absolutely know, feel, and understand a vast variety of emotions.

Here's the deal. Thanks to a bad early winter storm and a scientist who just had to find his precious little Mercury rock, guide Jerry Shepherd (Paul Walker) is forced to abandon his team of beloved sled dogs as his Antarctic research station is evacuated post-haste. His friend and potential love interest Katie (Moon Bloodgood) promises to fly right back and get them, so Jerry secures their collars, leaving them securely bound to a chain out in the snow. When Katie is unable to return, the dogs are basically left to die a sure and awful death. Jerry, as you would expect, is in anguish over the dogs' fate, blaming himself (when he should have been blaming Katie) for the tragedy. Desperate to get back to them, he tries to raise money from anyone and everyone, including the scientist who would be perpetually frozen under the Antarctic ice were it not for those dogs.

Months pass as we watch the dogs struggle to survive on their own in the most inhospitable of conditions. Freeing themselves from their chains is just the first of many obstacles the dogs face. As you can imagine, finding food and staying warm are also extremely difficult - and they face some external threats, as well. There are some incredibly tragic moments the sensitive viewer will have to endure, one of which is going to haunt me for some time, but the bond between these dogs is phenomenal, and it is fascinating to watch the hierarchy of this group change over time. These poor creatures go through so much together, and I'm telling you that you will just melt in the baby blue eyes of young Max as he epitomizes the kind of humanity that we humans can no longer call our own.

Obviously, I think this is a terrific film, and an especially touching family film, but I also think parents should consider whether or not they want their youngsters to watch it. There are some real tragedies in this film, scenes that had me crying like a baby, and this film might be somewhat traumatic in spots to the sensitive child. These scenes aren't strung out or sensationalized, but they are there. Any good parent, though, should know his/her child well enough to know how he/she might react to this kind of thing. I hope legions of people will watch Eight Below, though, as it is an exceedingly touching film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A doggy movie worth seeing!, 30 May 2007
By 
Louise Amkaer (Greenland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eight Below [DVD] (DVD)
The real main characters in "Eight Below" are the sleddogs - and then there the supporting actors.

"Eight Below" is the story of eight sleddogs, who are left on Antarctica, when the scientist team are evacuated due to bad weather. Someone was supposed to fly back and get the dogs, but cannot again due to the weather. From this point the story is divided between the dogs and their owner, Jerry.

The dogs break free from their leashes in order to survive in the barren wilderness of ice, snow and howling winds. Back in the States Jerry tries to deal with his sense of betrayal and searches for a way back to Antarctica. The two different storylines are well-balanced and compliment eachother through the shared will power, strength, and hope. As a true Disney-movie, it will bring tears to your eyes.

I do have to comment on some of the dog behavior. In one scene the dogs catch seagulls and they lay down the seagulls in front of the alpha dog, backing behind with great dignity. The theatical effect is definitely there, but would that happen in real life? I don't think so.

Also, I have to comment on the scenery: WOW! Even though I know the movie is primarily shot in a ski ressort in Canada and that the grand views were seperately film in Greenland and edited in - the result is magnificant!

All in all, a doggy movie worth seeing!

Louise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sled dog thrills, 27 May 2006
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eight Below [DVD] (DVD)
The story opens in an Antarctic research station, where we meet Jerry (Paul Walker), dog sledder-guide and best friend of eight irresistible sled dogs led by trusty Old Jack and loyal Maya. The staff must evacuate because a dangerous storm is coming; they don't have room in the plane for the dogs, but promise to come back and get them as soon as possible. (I won't tell you how long it takes Jerry to return for the dogs, but it's way longer than I could have imagined.) The rest of the film alternates between showing the dogs' struggles to survive alone (did I mention they were chained up?) and Jerry's efforts to rescue them. Based on the true story, the movie is guaranteed to make you cry, but in a good, Disney way. The beautiful dogs are the stars of the show and their scenes are quite touching.

This is a good, old-fashioned live-action animal story that Disney does so well. Beautiful location photography and music add to the striking effect. I predict the adoption rate of huskies will rise dramatically. Heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tale of Survival, 15 Jun 2007
By 
Simono (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eight Below [DVD] (DVD)
I've wanted to watch this ever since reading the film review when first shown, and now I've purchased the DVD. I'm not disappointed and found it a heartwarming story of a man's devotion to return to his sled dogs, but more importantly, how the dogs survive the most unforgiving winter fending for themselves. The dogs are brilliant, and the bonus features show how they were trained and how many dogs were used.

It's a great story of Jerry's determination to be reunited with his beloved dogs and the huskies devotion and belief in one other in order to achieve survival. It's a pity they don't all survive - but that's life! The scenery is also stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eight Below, 20 Nov 2006
By 
Ms. N. Dillon "N.Dillon" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eight Below [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of, if not the best film I have ever seen. Paul Walker and those 8 adorable Huskies are so fabulous in this film. It is beautifully filmed, but a very sad film, I was blubbering the whole way through it and if your a dog lover like myself, you will be too. But don't let that put you off as those gorgeous Huskies over come all the odds and prove that they truely are amazing animals.

I give this film 10/10 I'll be watching it again soon, but with a box of tissues handy next time to dry my eyes of all those tears I will no doubt shed again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eight Below [DVD]
Eight Below [DVD] by Frank Marshall (DVD - 2006)
£4.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews