Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money
This boxset of 'vanilla' discs is exactly how it is billed, just the shows, namely series' 5 to 8. Series 5 has some excellent episodes, including the classic "Back to Reality", and series 6 marks a significant change in the status quo of the show, with the absence of Hattie Hayridge as Holly, and the 'theft' of Red Dwarf, leaving the crew stranded on Starbug. This is a...
Published on 1 Oct. 2006 by M. D. P. Meechan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Smoke me a kipper...
The Jupiter Mining Corporation ship "The Red Dwarf" has been drifting in space for 3 million years. It's only inhabitants are Dave Lister, the last remaining human in the universe; Arnold Rimmer, a hologram of his dead bunkmate, a creature that evolved from Dave's pet cat; Kryten, a Series 4000 service mechanoid and Holly, the ship's semi-senile computer...
Published on 9 Feb. 2013 by Crookedmouth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 1 Oct. 2006
By 
M. D. P. Meechan (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf - Just The Shows : Complete BBC Series 5-8 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This boxset of 'vanilla' discs is exactly how it is billed, just the shows, namely series' 5 to 8. Series 5 has some excellent episodes, including the classic "Back to Reality", and series 6 marks a significant change in the status quo of the show, with the absence of Hattie Hayridge as Holly, and the 'theft' of Red Dwarf, leaving the crew stranded on Starbug. This is a change for the better, and contains the Emmy award winning episode "Gunmen of the Apocalypse". There are yet more changes to come in series 7, in which Chris Barrie's Rimmer makes his departure, and Chloe Annette first appears as snooty officer Christine Kochanski. This series has attracted equal amounts of praise and criticism from fans, but it is this reviewer's opinion that it is as good as the other series. Finally, series 8 saw the crew back on Red Dwarf, albeit in The Brig, the ship's prison. There are several new characters added to the mix (such as psychotic prison officer Ackerman and equally psychotic inmate Killcrazy), plus the return of some old favourites, amongst them Rimmer, Holly (played by Norman Lovett) and the ship's incompetent captain, Frank Hollister. For fans who are looking for tons of extras, buy the individual DVDs for each series, but for those who just seek to watch some classic episodes and nothing else, this DVD equals great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Way DVDs Should Be, 28 Feb. 2007
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf - Just The Shows : Complete BBC Series 5-8 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Having already reviewed the Red Dwarf series individually and Just the Shows Volume 1, I will be brief.

This boxset is EXACTLY the way they should be made. Series V and VI are incredible, VII is a bit of a let down and VIII is very good. No extras that I can do with out, just all the Red Dwarf you could possibly want for INCREDIBLE value for money.

Also, another bonus is the compact size of the boxset. I recently went down to London on business and brought the boxset with me in my lap top case. The tedious three hour train ride and the mundane hotel room were given a much needed boost. I can recommend it, it'll make the time fly by, I'm taking the first boxset with me on my next trip to London!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smeggin Brilliant, 29 Dec. 2006
By 
Olivia Blair "climatic_fanatic" (Aberfeldy) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf - Just The Shows : Complete BBC Series 5-8 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Red Dwarf is a cult British sci-fi sitcom that ran for eight television series on BBC2 between 1988 and 1999, and has since achieved a global cult following. It was created and originally written by Grant Naylor (a so-called 'gestalt entity', in reality a collective pseudonym for the writing duo Rob Grant and Doug Naylor). The show had its origins in a recurring sketch, Dave Hollins: Space Cadet, in the mid-1980s BBC Radio 4 comedy show Son Of Cliché, also scripted by Grant and Naylor. In addition to the Red Dwarf television series, there have also been four bestselling novels, a pilot episode for an American version of the show, and a significant number of tie-in books, magazines and other merchandise.

This has all the episodes from Series V, VI, VII & VIII for fans to complete their collection. Red Dwarf's highest accolade came in 1994, when an episode from the sixth series (Gunmen of the Apocalypse) won an International Emmy Award in the Popular Arts category. The show also won Best BBC Comedy Series at the British Comedy Awards during the same year, and attracted its highest ratings - of over eight million viewers - by the eighth series in 1999.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantasmagorical, 1 May 2007
This review is from: Red Dwarf - Just The Shows : Complete BBC Series 5-8 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
what a fantastic box set. 4 seasons in one go!

when I originally saw red dwarf, I missed a lot the first time around, and ended up seeing various fragmented re-runs. I never really saw any of it in the 'correct' order, and didn't have a clue what was going on - not that this really matters, its still funny. Then when they started coming out on DVD I could revisit and watch them all from the beginning.

This box set with seasons 5-8 in it is has a variety of different 'tones' to it.

Season 5 was right in the middle of when Red Dwarf was in its prime, containing some of the most popular episodes of all, and is when a lot of the running-jokes were developed, like the spacecorp directives ;)

Season 6 is highly dramatic, and ends as if it is THE END. At this point it was assumed the show was finished, and so in the final episode the entire cast was.. well, I don't want spoil it, but its one of the most gobsmacking moments in the whole dwarf thing.

Then several years later, the show is resurrected with season 7, and a whole lot of changes: only one of the script-writers remains; a shift-around of the cast (Chloe Anette joins and Chris Barrie leaves, temporarily); a new directing style with no studio audience on the recording, and a whole different feel to it. This is the season where red dwarf looses its way a little, for me.

And finishing off with season 8, they actually find Red Dwarf again (after several whole seasons with it being 'lost'!) and a great new plot-setup with them all stuck in jail, trying to survive.

So overall a great box set showing a whole lot of different sides to red dwarf. well worth the cash
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Space Corps Directive no. 678914 says get this!, 30 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf - Just The Shows : Complete BBC Series 5-8 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
678914, sir? "No officer shall attempt to juggle in zero gravity"?

Seasons 5 and 6 of Red Dwarf are more like a four-man comedy chase movie - season 6 being an absolute classic (hence stars) - and then it seems it is becoming bigger-budget and broadening out first to bring in beautiful ChloŽ Annett as a permanent crew member and then to resurrect the whole crew for series 8!

Series 8 is frequently very close to the bone with teenage-type *snicker snicker* jokes of the kind I might have thought of, then rejected, when I was 13, and not really suitable for kids despite its special effects. So if this DVD were Series 8 only I'd only give it four stars.

Rimmer loses his hologram "H" in series 8 (due to being alive) and becomes a slapstick kind of snidey Norman Wisdom (which Chris Barrie can do to perfection).

Otherwise, ChloŽ Annett leading the Canaries "suicide squad" battalion in Series 8 looks exactly like a spoof La Femme Nikita...

As per the title these DVDs have only the shows with no features on how the increasingly complicated special effects were done. The picture and sound are fine, the menu is a little fiddly (you start at the bottom on the left, which is a pain if you want to go top right) (and I haven't noticed a "chapter menu") and the subtitles are English only (though I'd hate to try translating it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Smoke me a kipper..., 9 Feb. 2013
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (As seen on iPlayer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf - Just The Shows : Complete BBC Series 5-8 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
The Jupiter Mining Corporation ship "The Red Dwarf" has been drifting in space for 3 million years. It's only inhabitants are Dave Lister, the last remaining human in the universe; Arnold Rimmer, a hologram of his dead bunkmate, a creature that evolved from Dave's pet cat; Kryten, a Series 4000 service mechanoid and Holly, the ship's semi-senile computer.

BBC2's sci-fi comedy first aired in 1988 and has produced some ten series, the most recent of which ran on Dave in 2012. The series is distinguished by it's laddish humour, its almost constant leading cast over it's (so-far) 24 year run and its cheap and cheerful production style. It started off as a somewhat disregarded denizen of BBC2, quickly gained a cult following then sold out to the man and went mainstream, went into suspended animation, returned, jumped the shark, got remastered, went back into stasis and was subsequently revived on a different channel (Dave). Bit of a rollercoaster ride, really.

The format of the show has remained more or less constant as a sitcom revolving around the four main characters (played by Craig Charles, Chris Barrie, Danny John Jules and Robert Llewellyn, with Norman Lovett and Hattie Haydridge both playing Holly) as they bounce off the Red Dwarf's walls and each other, with frequent encounters with aliens, Genetically Engineered Lifeforms (GELFs), rogue simulants, androids of one sort or another and, not infrequently, alternative versions of themselves (the heroic "Ace" Rimmer and the Cat's appalingly uncool alter ego, Duane Dibley being two stand-out examples). The plots are often based around or make sly reference to) well-known movies such as Cassablanca, Alien, Pride and Prejudice, Blade Runner and Robocop. The "science" which drives many of the stories is intentionally laughable drivel and the sets and SFX are, as already mentoned, cheap and cheerful.

This is classic British humour (Men Behaving Badly owes the Dwarfers a fair debt of thanks) untaxing and unsophisticated on the surface but with an undercurrent of complexity, poking fun at lad culture and authority figures with equal abandon. Noel Coward would sneer, but I suspect he would be secretly taking notes.

Series V and VI are excellent and almost as good as any of their predecessors, Gunmen and Quarantine being classic stand-out episodes. SVII and SVIII are less well regarded by fans for various reasons; principally the relationship between the two writers, Rob Grant & Doug Naylor, was dissolved at this point and the show's format changed. The character dynamic was badly upset by the introduction of a new permanent character (Chloe Annett as Lister's long-time love interest, Christine Kochanski is a largely unfunny gooseberry) the partial loss of Barrie's Rimmer, the sudden appearance of a much larger supporting cast (in SVIII) and an increasingly confused and over-involved story arc. While SVII is generally acceptable, SVIII is largely awful and worth a miss. No matter - despite these problems, there are many hours of laughs to be had from this giant of a box-set.

This DVD Box set presents, as advertised, "nothing but the shows" with no extras. It is ONLY the BBC series, SV to SVIII, and in their un-remastered format at that. Worth noting is that you can buy all of the first eight series in one go (Red Dwarf: Series 1-8) and for less than this four series box set.

As far as the screen-quality is concerned, despite this being the original unremastered format, SI actually looks better than I had expected or remembered. The remastering process may have added some value, but a good deal less than you would have thought and I doubt that you're missing much if anything buying the series in this original format.

Series Listing
==============
Red Dwarf V (1992)
25 - Holoship
26 - The Inquisitor
27 - Terrorform
28 - Quarantine
29 - Demons and Angels
30 - Back to Reality

Red Dwarf VI (1993)
31 - Psirens
32 - Legion
33 - Gunmen of the Apocalypse
34 - Emohawk: Polymorph II
35 - Rimmerworld
36 - Out of Time

Red Dwarf VII (1997)
37 - Tikka to Ride
38 - Stoke Me a Clipper
39 - Ouroboros
40 - Duct Soup
41 - Blue
42 - Beyond a Joke
43 - Epideme
44 - Nanarchy

Red Dwarf VIII (1999)
45 - Back in the Red: Part I
46 - Back in the Red: Part II
47 - Back in the Red: Part III
48 - Cassandra
49 - Krytie TV
50 - Pete: Part I
51 - Pete: Part II
52 - Only the Good...

Red Dwarf IX Back To Earth and Red Dwarf X are NOT included in this box set.

Cat: Isn't there some way we can get in there and help him? Somehow turn ourselves into tiny electronic people and get into his dream? Isn't there some sort of gizmo lying around someplace that can do that? And if not (punches hand) why not?!
Rimmer: Look, I think we've all got something we can bring to this discussion. But I think from now on the thing you should bring is silence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Red Dwarf, Just The Shows Volume 2 - Great presentation, variable quality of episodes, 12 Oct. 2009
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf - Just The Shows : Complete BBC Series 5-8 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Presented here are all 28 episodes from the final four series of groundbreaking SciFi comedy Red Dwarf.

Worth getting for series 5 and 6, 7 was OK and 8 is pretty much unwatchable.

After the release of the individual series on expensive extra laden DVD's for a ridiculous price, this is a collection which allows those of us not interested in the extras to get hold of the shows at reasonable price. Well done the BBC for taking this approach.

This does exactly what it says on the tin. Just the shows, no extras, no fancy gimmicks. Presented across 6 disks (one each for 5&6, 2 each for 7&8), which are presented in a nice fold out digipack, with a cardboard outer sleeve. Nice and sturdy, and doesn't feel cheap.

3 stars for the shows, 5 stars for the no frills presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Red Dwarf: Just the Shows Volume 2 is just that., 6 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf - Just The Shows : Complete BBC Series 5-8 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This boxset is good value for money, at only £13.93 at the time of purchase (July 2010). It contains what is, in my opinion, one of the very best series (Series V), containing such greats as Quarantine, featuring Rimmer getting the holo-virus and donning Mr Flibble, the hologramatical hand puppet,(Mr Flibble is very cross!) and Back to Reality, where the crew encounter a despair squid and discover their lives were just a 'Total Immersion' video game.
Series VI is also good, in which the boys from the Dwarf are now stranded on Starbug and are locked in the hunt for Red Dwarf. Along the way, they encounter Legion, a being who upgrades Rimmer from soft light to hard light, and an Emohawk (another Polymorph) while trying to escape from the ridculously ugly KInitawowi, who are a GELF tribe.

In Series VII, Red Dwarf still hasn't been found, and they accidentally prevent John F. Kennedy from being shot
(Tikka to Ride). The four also meet Ace Rimmer once more (Stoke Me A Clipper), where our Rimmer becomes Ace Rimmer.
The remaining three meet Kristine Kochanski (Ouroboros) and they discover the situation with Red Dwarf and Holly in 'Nanarchy'. Chris Barrie only appears in four of the eight episodes this series, and while Chloe Annett is good as Kochanski, the absence of the biggest smeghead in the universe shows.
And that brings us to Series VIII, the final series (until Back to Earth). The entire crew are brought back to life in this series, but the main characters we know and love are in trouble. Personally, I think the two multi-parters (Back in the Red and Pete) are not that good.

All in all, this boxset is very good if you do not own the individual boxsets and you do not care about the extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good follow on, 6 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf - Just The Shows : Complete BBC Series 5-8 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I watched these shows as a kid, the earlier seasons are the best in my opinion but these are still good. As it says on the box it's just the shows, there's an extra disc you can buy which is all the smeg ups.

If you didn't watch these shows as a kid, then you might not like them but if you remember it from when it was on TV and liked it, then you will probably like watching the series again (some shows are best left to happy memories).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars value for money, 22 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf - Just The Shows : Complete BBC Series 5-8 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
For the price you cant be let down seen it in hmv for £8 more. Love the shows takes me back to my younger days my lad also loves watching these with me which is great as it shows he has taste. Series 8 is a blast love the chemistry between lister and rimmer but kryten is my fav character watch and enjoy. Ps they should hav made a spin off about ace rimmer as that could have been intresting to explore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews