Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Little Britain Series 3
So funny. Very good value
Published 8 days ago by Mrs M P Francis

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The bottom of the barrel
Damn, this was hard work. Little Britain definitely jumped the shark with series two, leaving them with nowhere to go but over the top: the punchlines are cruder and more grotesque and Matt Lucas just gets louder by the sketch on the assumption that noisier is funnier. It's always trying too hard, like a playground imitation rather than the real thing. There are a few...
Published on 23 Sep 2009 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The bottom of the barrel, 23 Sep 2009
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Britain - Series 3 (2 Disc Set) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Damn, this was hard work. Little Britain definitely jumped the shark with series two, leaving them with nowhere to go but over the top: the punchlines are cruder and more grotesque and Matt Lucas just gets louder by the sketch on the assumption that noisier is funnier. It's always trying too hard, like a playground imitation rather than the real thing. There are a few moments that work - the disgraced MP with his family, Orville and the autograph hunter - but I doubt there's even ten minutes of decent material in the whole third series' run. Worse, the characters have nowhere to go, so it goes for escalation and multiplication: if the definitely not Women's Institute snob is funny vomiting on vicars and boy scouts, think how much funnier she'd be vomiting on the Queen? If one fat naked woman at a health farm is funny, then two fat naked women at a health farm will be twice as funny - especially if one of them is black, right?

The one grace note is that it does try to find some kind of closure. Lou finally gets some kind of comeuppance with a fire-and-brimstone carer, the Fat Fighters finally fight back, Dafydd tries to leave the village, 'Florence' has to choose between his wife and being a 'Laydee' as if Lucas and Walliams finally realise the gig is up. Although, of course, it wasn't, though they managed to atone a bit with the Christmas special (maybe the falling ratings gave them a welcome kick in the butt). Still, another series would really be pushing it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Little Britain Series 3, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Britain - Series 3 (2 Disc Set) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
So funny. Very good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Britain - Series 3 (2 Disc Set) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
little britain is little britain
you either love it or hate it
thankfully i love it. or i wouldnt havent ordered it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant British Comedy, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Britain - Series 3 (2 Disc Set) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I have always found Little Britain funny when I saw it originally on BBC 1 so to have the DVD is excellent. Its also full of features and I like the fact that if you want to play just a specific sketch, you can find that easily. Overall an excellent DVD worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always a good laugh, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Britain - Series 3 (2 Disc Set) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I have always loved watching Little Britain as it truly epitomises the British! Pity the double act no longer perform as they are such a clever couple. I will watch the 3 series over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Little Britain, 9 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Britain - Series 3 (2 Disc Set) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Its OK but not really moved on from first 2 series. I am a big fan of Matt Lucas but think they should have stuck with just the 2 series as it is now getting repetative and not that funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars little britain, 30 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good comedy series, the price was good and the condition of dvd wasn't bad, outer case was damaged slightly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this.., 19 Feb 2009
This review is from: Little Britain - Series 3 (2 Disc Set) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I loved this series. Yes the surprises are gone, but this is maybe their funniest collection of sketches. Definitely worth adding to your comedy collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Give the people what they want, 28 May 2012
By 
Jack Heslop - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Britain - Series 3 (2 Disc Set) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Thinking back on the third series of Little Britain, I don't know if David Walliams and Matt Lucas knew what comedy is by that point. This series introduces an elderly character called Mrs. Emery (played by Walliams) whose entire reason for being funny is that she pisses everywhere without realising. She'll carry on a conversation even as a shopping aisle fills with piss and her acquaintance grows more and more horrified. "Ho ho ho," I can here the audience chuckle, "she can't control her bladder because she's old and going to die soon!" Am I missing something? The idea of someone not noticing their violent incontinence is tragic, not comic. If you saw an old woman happily walking along as her tights dripped with piss, would you laugh, or feel sad? Whether you'll find Little Britain series three and four funny probably depends on your answer to that question.
The rest is either hackneyed, tired, stupid, gross, or all four at once. Bubbles DeVere (Lucas) was always a one sketch character, and introducing Desiree (Walliams) doesn't strengthen her appeal. The whole reason Bubbles was funny to begin with was that her naked form was grotesque. Now she's like an overexposed horror film creature. She's no longer shocking because we've seen it all before. And seeing a new lot of makeup and prosthetics on Walliams doesn't recapture the magic (what little there was).
Andy and Lou go through the motions. Their sketches in series three and four are like someone telling you the same joke they did ten years ago, except they no longer get it. The only difference is that now Andy's stunts go beyond implausible, to the point where we wonder if Lou, even in the context of this bizarre alternative Britain, is mentally deficient for not noticing.
Daffyd's adventures are cruder and more aggressive, Vicky Pollard is an offensive working-class caricature, and so on. I seem to remember the first series of Little Britain being creative and surreal. But I guess audiences don't want creativity. They want shots of withered vaginas and geriatric incontinence. I guess you can't blame Walliams and Lucas for not understanding their audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really?, 16 Sep 2007
This review is from: Little Britain - Series 3 (2 Disc Set) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Good god, a third one? There is no doubt about it that this show is beating a dead horse within another dead horse. If that makes any sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Britain - Series 3 (2 Disc Set) [DVD] [2003]
2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews