Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection of shows
This DVD is fantastic. It's a collection of the other side of Aardman that people aren't normally as familiar with. All the animation looks great as you might expect. But this one is nothing like Wallace and Gromit or Chicken Run - these shows are rude, dark, weird and sometimes really funny. It features gems such as Big Jeff, Rex The Runt and Angry Kid - my...
Published on 22 Sep 2006 by Madge

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the rspca should do something about this dvd
Wallace and gromit get special edition dvds and blu-rays, but the brilliant rex the runt only gets a couple of episodes on this poor excuse for a dvd. Its animal cruelty thats what it is. i want rex the runt complete and on blu-ray now aardman, so sort it out.
Published on 17 May 2012 by mrdarker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection of shows, 22 Sep 2006
By 
Madge (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Aardman's Darkside [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This DVD is fantastic. It's a collection of the other side of Aardman that people aren't normally as familiar with. All the animation looks great as you might expect. But this one is nothing like Wallace and Gromit or Chicken Run - these shows are rude, dark, weird and sometimes really funny. It features gems such as Big Jeff, Rex The Runt and Angry Kid - my favourite. This DVD gives you a really good selction of these different characters and different animations. Its great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the rspca should do something about this dvd, 17 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aardman's Darkside [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Wallace and gromit get special edition dvds and blu-rays, but the brilliant rex the runt only gets a couple of episodes on this poor excuse for a dvd. Its animal cruelty thats what it is. i want rex the runt complete and on blu-ray now aardman, so sort it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Town Called Panic, 15 July 2007
This review is from: Aardman's Darkside [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
All 5 stars to A Town Called Panic. Shame there is only a proportion of the 20 episodes made. I hear though a dedicated DVD will be out soon. Its the funniest animation I've seen for years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars laughing my head off!, 28 April 2013
This review is from: Aardman's Darkside [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
although this dvd is called aardmans darkside, it is still very funny. The sets are really thought through and are very entertaining. This may not be suitable for people under 10 though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reply to Philip Vandenbossche, 28 Sep 2006
This review is from: Aardman's Darkside [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
"A Town Called Panic" included in this compilation dvd is the English-language version of "Panique Au Village" which was re-voiced by Aardman with Pic Pic Andre's approval.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 25 July 2007
By 
R. P. Watson (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aardman's Darkside [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Great animation in really well presented DVD. Especially appreciated the "Aardman Mix", a compilation of all the animations back to back so i didn't have to mess around the remote every 5 minutes. Really well though out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Angry Who?, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aardman's Darkside [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Very very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so funny, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: Aardman's Darkside [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
fantastic dvd...so funny a little to dark for young children..but fantastic for teenagers and adults who are young at heart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aardman made in Belgium, 19 Aug 2006
This review is from: Aardman's Darkside [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Hey, "A Town Called Panic" has NOTHING to do with Aardman: it's a Belgian animation series (20 episodes, total running time 130 minutes) originally called "Panique au village", and is made by the "PicPic André" studio, which is nothing more then a couple of extremely inventive writers/animators, called Stéphane Aubier and Vincent Patar. It's a great series, but how did it end up with Aardman? The original is (was?) produced by Studio Canal...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 9 Mar 2009
By 
Anon (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Aardman's Darkside [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This is a total disappointment! I ordered it after reading all the reviews - all of which are favourable. I couldn't wait to watch it and cannot believe how rubbish it is. I stopped watching after Jeff the Australian. The Angry Kid would have you believe that the characters are of the same format as Creature Comforts - it is not.
It is the dark side alright - childish, boorish and generally stupid - the type of "funny" that you might find appealing when drunk.
I loved all the Wallace and Gromit and the Creature Comforts, but this is unbelievably produced by the same company...
Save your money and buy the Creature Comforts USA instead...That is a true classic that really IS funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aardman's Darkside [DVD] [1998]
Aardman's Darkside [DVD] [1998] by Darren Walsh (DVD - 2006)
£10.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews