Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, but dvd too long, 29 Dec 2006
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
Through Hell and High Water gives a detailed insight into Fogle and Cracknell's row across the Atlantic and includes some great footage of before, during and after the event. But I think the dvd could have been better. Many parts of the footage is reused more than once during the film to make the same points, which not only begins to get annoying but makes it unnecessarily long and drawn out. Some of the impact is lost because of the way this dvd has been made, which is a shame, because what these two men achieved was immense, and worth as much as any gold medal. Buy it, because it's good, but I bet you won't watch it the WHOLE way through more than once...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational and heartwarming, 27 Dec 2006
By 
Z. M. WARD-MURPHY (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
This documentary is incredibly enjoyable. Ben's affability and James' competitiveness really have you rooting for them and spurring them on throughout all their troubles. Full marks to Ben for never appearing to snap at James! Even though James kept pushing and pushing Ben was determined not to let him down. The interviews with the boys' partners were good to include as it gave you more insight into their characters and motivation. It was really heart warming to see how supportive and selfless they were, especially James' wife, who - despite saying she was going to hate every minute he was away - always tried to lift his spirits whenever he phoned home. The guys' achievement was inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 9 Oct 2006
By 
S. Whiteley "thesilverfox" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
If you like human interest / survival stories then this is the best I've ever seen. The film portrays in detail, the isolation, the joy and the sheer physical and mental pain of racing across the atlantic in a rowing boat. Tough men, systematically broken down by the ocean to the bare bones of humanity. At times shocking, at other times as funny as a good comedy, it has it all - I challenge anyone to watch this and not give it 5 stars. Inspirational stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Viewing, 26 July 2006
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
An incredible action packed story. Two brave men Ben Fogle and James Cracknell cross the Atlantic in a rowing boat and have every type of challenge thrown at them. You finish watching it feeling you have been through it with them. Literally one of the most amazing programmes I have ever watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Ben Fogle great, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
Once again this DVD is interesting from start to finish, I watch these type of DVD's a number of times and always enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
I had read the book so was good to watch the DVD afterwards as could relate more to the feel of the boat. Really admire them for doing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good documentary, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
Good motivational documentary, one of the best films i have watched.
Don't miss the best and affordable opportunity to own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
Great documentary, fantastic filming, amazing story. I recommend any adventurer watches. Two amazingly strong characters. The book is brilliant, the DVD brill too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 3 Nov 2013
By 
N. Matthews (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as inspiration for my husband who is training for an endurance event. It shows just how much can be tolerated and how strength of mind can see you through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Through Hell And High Water [DVD]
Through Hell And High Water [DVD] by Alexis Girardet (DVD - 2006)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews