Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, but dvd too long, 29 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
Through Hell and High Water gives a detailed insight into Fogle and Cracknell's row across the Atlantic and includes some great footage of before, during and after the event. But I think the dvd could have been better. Many parts of the footage is reused more than once during the film to make the same points, which not only begins to get annoying but makes it unnecessarily long and drawn out. Some of the impact is lost because of the way this dvd has been made, which is a shame, because what these two men achieved was immense, and worth as much as any gold medal. Buy it, because it's good, but I bet you won't watch it the WHOLE way through more than once...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational and heartwarming, 27 Dec. 2006
By 
Z. M. WARD-MURPHY (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
This documentary is incredibly enjoyable. Ben's affability and James' competitiveness really have you rooting for them and spurring them on throughout all their troubles. Full marks to Ben for never appearing to snap at James! Even though James kept pushing and pushing Ben was determined not to let him down. The interviews with the boys' partners were good to include as it gave you more insight into their characters and motivation. It was really heart warming to see how supportive and selfless they were, especially James' wife, who - despite saying she was going to hate every minute he was away - always tried to lift his spirits whenever he phoned home. The guys' achievement was inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 9 Oct. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
If you like human interest / survival stories then this is the best I've ever seen. The film portrays in detail, the isolation, the joy and the sheer physical and mental pain of racing across the atlantic in a rowing boat. Tough men, systematically broken down by the ocean to the bare bones of humanity. At times shocking, at other times as funny as a good comedy, it has it all - I challenge anyone to watch this and not give it 5 stars. Inspirational stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Viewing, 26 July 2006
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
An incredible action packed story. Two brave men Ben Fogle and James Cracknell cross the Atlantic in a rowing boat and have every type of challenge thrown at them. You finish watching it feeling you have been through it with them. Literally one of the most amazing programmes I have ever watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite so good as Race To The Pole, 2 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased and watched this DVD after reading and watching Fogle and Cracknell's Race to the Pole, which I thoroughly enjoyed. There were a few references in that to this epic voyage, and it was amazing to see quite how ill-prepared the duo were at the beginning of this voyage. It stands as a testament to both that they not only finished the trip but did so victoriously, though I can't help feel that Cracknell's attitude to Ben, and even himself, is pathetic at times.

Price and postage from Amazon was perfect as always, and I'd recommend it to those who enjoy partaking in and/or watching endurance activities!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable and inspiring, 22 Sept. 2010
By 
C. Rusby (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD chronicles the preparation (or lack of) for the Atlantic Rowing Race. Kracknell and Fogle are very watchable and they give an extremely honest account of the emotional highs and lows of the race and you can't help but feel for them and question whether you could do it yourself.

The main feature running time is 2 hours with some diary extras. I wish it was longer but this is a good watch for those of you who like a physical challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Here's to Fellow Ocean Rowers, 13 Aug. 2007
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
Although hugely jealous that the 'celebs' sucked up all the publicity I'm really pleased Ben and James made it across in what was, quite frankly, the worst weather in the Atlantic for 200 years. Their journey really did give some eye-opening insight to the world of ocean rowing, a world I've been very pleased to inhabit for some time.
If you do decide to read this book the one thing I would say is.... ocean rowing is for anybody, not just celebs and olympic oarsmen. Ladies - you can do it too. I should know, I've done it twice!
So be inspired by the book and perhaps give it a try. It really is the most amazing experience you'll ever have.

Sally - Author of 'Sally's Odd at Sea'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High Hopes meet, 6 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
A very interesting and inspiring story which is very nicely edited. It's a jolly little adventure romp which inspires me to take up rowing and to one day do the event - they make it seem achieveable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars amazing trip, 31 Mar. 2010
By 
Anthony Barnard (Norfolk,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
This is an amazing DVD. The detail and veiws of these 2 explorers is almost beyond belief. The ups and downs of these 2 are so real that you just have to watch to to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 3 Nov. 2013
By 
N. Matthews (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through Hell And High Water [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as inspiration for my husband who is training for an endurance event. It shows just how much can be tolerated and how strength of mind can see you through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Through Hell And High Water [DVD]
Through Hell And High Water [DVD] by Alexis Girardet (DVD - 2006)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews