Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When's the next series out?
In the "edge of the seat" vein of 24, Fox has produced another superbly gripping series. Engaging, multifaceted characters with plenty of secrets build the interest but this story is a little unusual in that although Michael and Linc form the story's focus, no one character takes the lead. Each of the gritty characters is worthy of praise but T-bag is my favourite. A more...
Published on 20 Nov 2006 by R. Hogarth

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Michael the Magician
Warning : Contains spoilers.

I've not seen a programme break as many basic laws of physics and chemistry as Prison Break does. So much so, it's insulting.

I'm not going to give it one star as there are some genuinely tense moments in the show. It is better than than one star (but not by much). So two stars it is.

The tension that is very...
Published 1 month ago by E. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When's the next series out?, 20 Nov 2006
By 
R. Hogarth "hogarthr" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
In the "edge of the seat" vein of 24, Fox has produced another superbly gripping series. Engaging, multifaceted characters with plenty of secrets build the interest but this story is a little unusual in that although Michael and Linc form the story's focus, no one character takes the lead. Each of the gritty characters is worthy of praise but T-bag is my favourite. A more menacingly charming personality is difficult to imagine. Desperate to see what happens next.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An international phenomenon, 29 April 2007
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a series of the most superb quality. Hats off to the writers who combine complex plots with psychological thrills all the way. Not one for the fainthearted, bloodshed and emotion spills into every episode, keeping you gripped from beginning to end. With a terrific cast it is no wonder that Prison Break has created such a storm on both sides of the Atlantic. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 15 Jun 2007
By 
dolfanuk (Wigan, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
ok this is easily the best show on tv bar none, more beleivable than lost, more tense than 24. it has everything a good show should have and more.

the characters are amazing, although at first i didn't like michael, but T-bag, link, sucre, C-note, haywire and last but not least john abruzzi john abruzzi.

the cons aren't the only ones who turn in a great performance as the warden played by stacy keach is great as is officer beelick. the attorneys trying to uncover the truth and the agents trying to suppress it all factor into the greatest show ever.

so what i'm trying to say is buy it, watch it, then re-watch it. you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is better than I ever thought it could be., 22 Dec 2006
By 
John Kimble (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A friend of mine who is a fellow fan of Lost and 24 told me about a show called Prison Break some time ago and being the good guy he is he lent me the first half of the 1st series. For some reason I left it sitting on my dressing table for a few months to gather dust.

It was only one sleepless night, when there was nothing else on TV, that I dismissively put the first episode on to see what this show was all about. many hours later in the early hours of the morning I was hooked!

I don't exaggerate when I say that I really rate this program highly. Every character has a story, every plot a subplot and every episode a jaw dropping cliff hanger. The casting is superb and the story captivating.

For me this has all the right ingredients in abundance. At the time of writing they are currently halfway though the second season and I'm still hooked.

If you haven't heard of Prison Break but you like the format of Lost, 24 etc then try season one. Don't wait like I did, this show has everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move over Lost & 24.....Prison Break is the new #1, 7 Oct 2006
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I'd seen Prison Break advertised but couldn't believe that they'd be able to make an entire series out of one simple plan....to break out of prison. Then a friend said he'd seen it and raved about it so I took the plunge. Damn am I glad I did. Prison Break is definitely THE best series ever. It knocks spots off Lost and 24 and I see many awards in its future!

The plot centers around Michael Scofield. He is an architect whose brother (Lincoln) has been put on death row for killing the Vice-Presidents brother. Lincoln has always professed his innocence and Michael slowly starts to believe that he's innocent. So Michael hatches a plan......he holds up a bank with the express purpose of getting himself incarcerated at Fox River Penitentiary where Lincoln is being held.....once there he plans to help Lincoln escape.

Meanwhile Lincolns ex-girlfriend takes over as his attorney in a last ditch effort to get a stay of execution. She slowly starts to uncover that Lincolns case was fast-tracked and believes that somebody wants Lincoln dead.....quickly!

The star of this series is definitely Wentworth Miller. He plays the part of Michael to perfection. We see him as a doting brother and fantastic tactician in how he plans everything down to the last detail. And when Dr Sara Tancredi looks into Michaels eyes......all I can say is that I defy any woman in the room not to want to melt into those eyes!

Dominic Purcell plays the part of Lincoln as a man who has accepted his fate and you feel the guy was made for this part. The most disturbing character of all is definitely T-bag played by Robert Knepper. This guy makes my skin crawl and every episode without fail you hope somebody will finish him off. But at the same time you want him in the next episode because he's the guy everyone loves to hate.

How can I possibly rave about Prison Break enough? Impossible. All I can say is that this is my new top series and Lost and 24 are gone and forgotten!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting series, 18 Sep 2006
Prison break is an exciting series. Well thought out and well structured. It doesn't start as grasping as the series 24 but as it progresses the heat is turned on. It is consistent throughout the season and unlike the series Lost, everything you get to see will make sense at some point. Some characters play better then others off course but all the main once are well cast and there are no significant flaws spoiling the fun. Plenty of suspense, some subtle romance, friendship, hope, etc. enough to fill a season really worth watching.

5 stars would mean perfect and that would be difficult for a series to obtain. It needs to fill 22 episodes and this off course makes it hard to have every second count a 100%. The series continues and thus leaves you somewhat hanging about what will happen next. But nevertheless it's a fair ending and you have enough answers to be satisfied. On the other hand it leaves more then enough queries around to make you want to go on to the next season. Definitely a good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entralling, 16 Oct 2007
By 
MrShev "mrshev" (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Prison Break slipped by me when it first appeared and I only watched it because I have seen all of 24, Rescue Me etc. Prison Break, though, has been a revelation.

You do have to suspend a certain amount of disbelief, but I want to be entertained and I am willing to give programme makers enough creative license to make that happen. Having said that, Prison Break feels authentic, the sets are amazing and all the details have been laboured over to distraction so one never feels short changed by the plot. The characters are brilliant too with exactly the right pitch between brutal self-preservation and intriguing back story. The stand outs are Lincoln and T-Bag - for me - with T-Bag getting special mention for being the most unsentimental character committed to film. You hate him, but Fox River would be a duller place without him.

But it is the plot that makes this show stand out. The writers have almost recreated the '40's cliffhanger b-movie feel with every episode having an ending that makes you think: Now what will they do? The interweaving plots are just great and the writers should be applauded for not being lazy.

Finally, it's the details that make this great. The fact that there is no swearing, yet Fox River feels like the most oppressive prison ever. The tatoos, the small details that are written into the story that only become apparent 3 or 4 eps down the line. Clever.

Overall an excellent production that makes you want to buy season 2 (which is just as good, BTW).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must watch...more...., 20 April 2007
By 
C. E. Magos (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is by far the most gripping, interesting, twisted TV show I have ever seen. The cast of prison character is absolutely spot-on,the difficulties encountered by the inmates really make you get hooked to watch more and more of the show.

The only critique is the casting of the bad guys, seems there they have missed completely the spot. For example the main Agents doing the cover-up look either effeminate or total wussies, not hands-on agents, and they are also working for a woman that wants to be president of the USA.

Aside of those minor glitches, the prison break is really compelling, with many problems arising from inmates, guards and whatnot, keeping you glued to your seat, always wanting for more.

Each episode is a step towards freedom, either by gaining, from the protagonist, one new tool, connection or whatnot to continue the work needed towards freedom.

All in all, a personal favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adds Extra Compulsive Element to Addiction Value, 29 Mar 2007
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Prison Break is one of the best series ever telecast. Its addictive value is so high and it's not surprising if you watch all 22 episodes all in one go. Season 1 has distinct parallels to 'The Great Escape' whereas Season 2 has 'Fugitive' undertones.Wentworth Miller as Schofield is utterly amazing and the absolute villain, 'Teabag' really is a Type Z character. The characterization of each of the fugitives is impressing and it's hard to say who really has 2nd billing after Schofield.
Burrows: Schofield's elder brother framed and sent to death row
Abruzzi; Mafia Boss who eventually turns to Religion
Bellick:The sadistic prison guard
Teabag: Racist, Bisexual Sadist (Any worse)
Dr Tancredi: Prison Doctor with a soft side for Schofield
Westmoreland: The veteran prisoner with an expensive secret
Agent Kellerman: Similar to Agent Smith from Matrix & just as bad

I always thought that Lost, 24 and Desperate Hours were addictive but Prison Break adds the compulsive element. Can't wait for Season 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch TV!, 29 Sep 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prison Break - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
What a blinding show! Every aspect of this series from the depth of the characters and the actors who portray them to the plot twists and effects are all excellent! I'm gripped from the moment I turn on the TV to the time the end credits start to roll. It's like watching one big, long action movie. An early highlight in the series is the two parter 'Riots, Drills and the Devil' - all sorts going on there.

I recommended the show to a friend, who hadn't heard of the show before I mentioned it. But he promptly went out and bought this boxset and now he's as hooked as I am. Anyone into action movies, or prison drama is going to love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prison Break - Season 1 [DVD]
Prison Break - Season 1 [DVD] by Wentworth Miller (DVD - 2006)
30.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews