Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars74
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2007
Good to know that there is an EXCELLENT version of this film out there - it's in anamorphic wide screen in great color... and it is the full length version... although it says here that the film only runs 86 minutes. It really is the 112 minute version.
If you enjoy Hayley Mills and a fun, exciting Disney picture ... you can't go wrong with this one.
11 comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2008
There is no doubt about it, back in "those days" entertainment was entertainment. The story is silly, and in many cases very predictable - however be that as it may. This movie is a Walt Disney delight. The cat is the show stealer and is responsible for many laughs. Of course that is what it is all about. A laugh a minute. The acting is good and reliable, no special effects stealing the show, and as the movie ends with the "badies" having been apprehended and the girl having got the guy, I felt entertained and relaxed. Thank you for a wonderful addition to my collection. A must if you just want to be entertained.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
This is the original Disney Hayley Mills version, also starring "DC" an extremely clever Siamese cat.
A must for retro and cat lovers, not to mention children and adults alike !
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2010
A Disney family comedy! The human characters are all very engaging, it has a very 60's look about it all, and the cat is as cute as can be! Some hilarious moments (like when the cat runs off with the neighbour's turkey) and some silly scenes thrown in make this a good film for the younger watchers and cat-lovers alike.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2010
I watched this movie as a child, 30 years ago, at the cinema. I was pleasantly surprised to discover it on DVD recently.
It still made me laugh like crazy.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
That Darn Cat! is out of Disney Productions and directed by Robert Stevenson. Collectively written by Bill Walsh and The Gordons (Mildred & Gordon), it stars Hayley Mills, Dean Jones, Dorothy Provine, Roddy McDowall, Neville Brand and Frank Gorshin. Music is by Robert F. Brunner and cinematography by Edward Colman.

When DC the Siamese cat is found to have a watch around his neck, one of his owners, Pattii Randall (Mills), alerts the FBI to the possibility it's a clue to a recent kidnapping. Cue much malarkey as humans and cat try to solve the crime whilst staying one step/paw ahead of the criminals...

Utterly harmless fluff from the House of the Mouse, That Darn Cat! is basically a live action cartoon. Away from the wonderful cat(s) performance - and the skillful capturing of said cat(s) reactions to situations - there's no great technical genius here. Nothing wrong with that, this is good old fashioned entertainment for the kids to chuckle along with and for the adults to smile at. Yes some of the performances are twee or precious, and the story is silly, but it's honest family fare that's also boosted by Ed Wynn and Elsa Lanchester in secondary support slots. 6.5/10
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2009
I find this a very amusing film to watch over and over again. This used to be a regular film put on over the Christmas period, my son has borrowed the DVD as he enjoys watching it. The cat in this film is a joy to watch as they will only do what they want and Dean Jones is brilliant as an actor, as he acts as if he is oblivious to what is going on around him.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2006
Brilliant film staring Hayley Mills. The films about a crime solving cat. Brilliant for adults and children.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
This film is a lot of fun. It allows Hayley Mills to grow up just a little, and as with all the Disney films in which she featured, this one is well done. It has some suspense, a lot of humour, a remarkable cat, and is ideal for those times when one wants to drop out and relax with something light-weight but well made. An impressive supporting cast, including Dean Jones as the Federal agent, makes this a movie worth owning.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
couldnt believe i found it on amazon. came quickly and watched quickly, took me straight back to my childhood and it is still as good. it made me look for more old favourites on amazon
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.