Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Condorman - a top secret cartoonist
I was in middle school when this movie came out. It was 1981 and I had saved up my pocket money to pay for the bus ride into the city and the admission for a matinee to a movie that seemed so exciting and lively to me.
I had read the book 'The Game of X' by Robert Sheckley as well as the adaptation of the movie and imagined every scene in my head as I had gone...
Published on 23 Sep 2004 by Darren Harrison

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "You'll never have Condorman do anything in your comics unless it has been tested and proven. Well now, here's your chance!"
This early 'eighties, family, spy caper is a bit naff but also fairly fun. The film opens to a cheesy sequence featuring an animated Condorman flying through a Parisian landscape using homemade glider wings to a suitably corny song.

Woody is a comic book writer who only puts things into his book which could actually happen in real life, hence his desire to try...
Published on 22 Mar 2011 by @GeekZilla9000


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Condorman - a top secret cartoonist, 23 Sep 2004
By 
Darren Harrison "DVD collector and reviewer" (Washington D.C.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I was in middle school when this movie came out. It was 1981 and I had saved up my pocket money to pay for the bus ride into the city and the admission for a matinee to a movie that seemed so exciting and lively to me.
I had read the book 'The Game of X' by Robert Sheckley as well as the adaptation of the movie and imagined every scene in my head as I had gone through it. The movie was everything a young boy could have hoped for - a rollicking, comedic adventure with a very beautiful female Russian agent (Carrera) and a sinister KGB chief (played by Oliver Reed).
The only problem I have with this movie is the miscasting of Michael Crawford as Woody Wilkins, the cartoonist who helps out a friend of his at the CIA office in Paris. Englishman Crawford puts on the most exaggerated American accent imagineable, although admittedly he has the brilliant comedic timing necessary to pull off this role.
The CIA in France has a problem. They need a civilian to act as a courier to Istanbul. Of course Woody gets the job, but right from the start it's obvious he is taking his role just a little too seriously. By the time he arrives to meet his KGB contact in Turkey he has fully assumed the role of his cartoon creation - top CIA agent and superhero Condorman.
Barbara Carrera (who two years later would get to play a Bond girl - the very movies this one attempts to lampoon) plays KGB agent Natalia. Later, when she makes the decision to defect, the impressive Condorman comes to mind as the only CIA agent she will trust to handle her defection.
The only problem is the CIA does not have an agent with the codename Condorman.
What follows is an adventure filled race across Europe with enough gadgets to fill several Bond movies. There is some great car chases (performed by legendary French stunt driver Remy Julienne and his 16-man crew of drivers and mechanics), boat chases and along the way Crawford sports some of the most outrageous disguises in cinema history. It's all great fun and it's executed perfectly.
For high flying escapist entertainment they don't come much more downright enjoyable than this. The DVD is a disappointment with no special features to speak off except a rather slim production notes section in the inside cover booklet. It's 2 pages of notes on the making of the movie, with sections on 'The Story,' 'The Setting,' 'Gadgetry' and 'Stunts and Special Effects,' but it's all very slim pickings.
But, I've had this movie in my DVD collection for over two years and on those quiet rainy Saturday's it's a particular favorite (along with 1980s FLASH GORDON) to put in my DVD player and sit back and remember a more innocent time in my life.
Recommended for all dreamers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memories of being 11 years old, 2 Feb 2007
By 
I. M. Jones (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Condorman [DVD] (DVD)
This is such a perfect film for an 11 year old boy. The adventure, comedy, action, cars, lasers, Laser Lady, explosions, animation, gadgets. I had to trawl the world for a copy on VHS (New York finally) then do the same for the DVD (......) and finally on Amazon for a fiver! Thanks Disney for finally giving it to the UK, still impossible to get in the USA. Hopefully one day we can get a spruced up, remastered version with a little of the original promotional material. I used to dream of a Condorman 2 but sadly it was not meant to be. I think this would have been a bigger hit had the lead been a big US star but Michal does a pretty good job despite the dodgy accent and the supporting cast are great. Oliver Reed is pretty scary even now! "Dasvidanya Condorman"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "You'll never have Condorman do anything in your comics unless it has been tested and proven. Well now, here's your chance!", 22 Mar 2011
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Condorman [DVD] (DVD)
This early 'eighties, family, spy caper is a bit naff but also fairly fun. The film opens to a cheesy sequence featuring an animated Condorman flying through a Parisian landscape using homemade glider wings to a suitably corny song.

Woody is a comic book writer who only puts things into his book which could actually happen in real life, hence his desire to try out his `wings' by jumping off the Eiffel Tower. However, the stories for his heroic creation Condorman might soon become more adventurous after Woody is thrown into the middle of an espionage filled adventure when he is mistaken for a spy.

Michael Crawford plays the lead part well, his time as Frank Spencer is expoited to the max by mixing in moments of slapstick humour and physical stunts. His American accent isn't the most convincing but it's not bad either (he perfected it for his superb portrayal of Barnum). This is very much a James Bond spoof for a younger audience and Crawford is often more dashing than hapless.

As you'd expect from a film obviously influenced by Bond, there are plenty of exotic looking locations, a beautiful love interest and of course lots of gadgets (including an amphibious vehicle and lazers!). Using the stereotypical Cold War plot device of the time, the baddies are Russian and Oliver Reed is nothing short of superb as the evil Krokov. Though the film is very light-hearted, Reed's steely delivery makes the character feel genuinely cold and capable of unspeakable cruelty, Krokov would actually have been an excellent Bond villain.

This DVD transfer is very poor though. Although widescreen, it isn't anamorphic and is therefore letterboxed into a standard 4:3 display, so on a widescreen TV you are essentially watching a film in widescreen, but in a small area in the middle of the screen! The film doesn't look to have been cleaned up or prepared for the DVD transfer in any major way, there is lots of digital noise so if you decide to zoom in to make the picture fill the screen better, you simply enhance the issues in the image quality.

In a nutshell: A fun film which is probably enjoyed most by those who loved it when it first came out and feel a pang of nostalgia for it. It's certainly not a cinematic great but it does deserve better treatment - car chases and narrow streets of picturesque European towns could look great with a decent DVD or Blu-Ray release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Condorman - The Classic, 1 Feb 2004
This film is a classic, the story behind this good versus evil fantasy film is so appealing that from seeing it once when I was younger and now finding that it's available on DVD is a definate must.
For those that have seen the film will remember the way the bad-guys (can't spell it exactly but similar to the 'BrockNoviach') drove blacked out Porsche 911's, dodged laser beam's being fired out the back of Condorman's Car that turned into a jet-powered hovercraft, after launching itself from a small pier in a local fishing village in Europe.
There are many features that stand out from this film and compared to todays blockbusters, to some it would appear slow and dated but then it's a classic adventure with an almost James Bond feel, shame they didn't make a sequel....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars about time..:, 29 Aug 2006
By 
Neil Dethridge "neilly" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Condorman [DVD] (DVD)
i can remember seeing this at the cinemas when i was a whole lot younger than today..without any doubt one of the best flms ever made..michael crawford is amazeing maybe his american accent is just a little to much put on but we can live with that..if you havent seen it buy it if you have you know to buy it..woody played by mr crawford is a comic book writer,,testing out his own machines and flying gear before putting them into his comic books..a russian defector called natalia needs help to come to america...and who can help yes you guessed it condorman,,hes given all the cars boats gadgets he needs to bring her back,,oliver reed and the russian kgb do what they can to stop them,,great locations,great acting highly enjoyable family film from the begining to the end(they way it ends their was hope for a sequel but alas never happened)great value great film you enjoy this one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic family movie, 26 Aug 2006
By 
David Wickes (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Condorman [DVD] (DVD)
I remember as a child taping this film on our very first video recorder and I have been waiting YEARS for it to come out on DVD.

If you haven't seen it yet I would thoroughly reccommend buying the DVD or catch it in the UK on the Disney Channel where it popped up recently.

Michael Crawford is great as the comic-book writer turned 'James Bond' and James Bond himself would certainly be happy with the gipsy caravan turned racecar turned hovercraft.

Well worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure cheesy genius!, 1 Feb 2011
This review is from: Condorman [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely superb, nothing to disappoint, an original masterpiece. My Husband has been searching for this dvd for as long as I can remember, so he was overjoyed when I tracked it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 6 Oct 2010
By 
Paul Scollon (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Condorman [DVD] (DVD)
This is the perfect "popcorn movie". I totally pokes fun at itself and never gets serious. I loved this movie when I was about 10 years old, and built all the vehicles and gadgets out of lego many times. Michael Crawford does what he does best, and th elate Oliver Reed is superb as usual as the evil Krokov. Great fun! A shame Disney don't do more stuff like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Condorman, memeory, 15 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. J. M. Turner (Perthshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Condorman [DVD] (DVD)
It was a fun reminder of the film from when I was a child. Good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic film fun, 11 Jun 2009
By 
D. HALL "film lover" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Condorman [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great, quirky comedy, fun to watch for all the family. It reminds me of Saturday morning cinema but without the cringy bits. Better than James Bond, it has all the gadgets but none of the ego. Michsel Crawford is wonderful and Oliver Reed is the perfect bad guy. I watched this years ago and was not disappointed when I bought it. This film is just as good as I remembered it. Pure escapist fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Condorman [DVD]
Condorman [DVD] by Charles Jarrott (DVD - 2006)
3.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews